We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes Cheshire England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just had to return to the Porto Mare hotel. This time I paid for a standard sea view room and once again I was most impressed with the size and quality of the room. On the third floor, my room had a lovely view of the gardens, with the sea to my right. It was nice to sit with a drink and watch and listen to the live music from the bar below. As it was a second visit, I got a drinks voucher and a free room safe. The breakfast was plentiful and it was very pleasant to sit outside in the early morning sun. The outdoor pool was much warmer than I thought it would be in April and there was a good choice of sun beds available to relax and enjoy the lovely April weather. Entertainment was low key but it was good to walk out and eat in one of the many eateries nearby. The Hole In One pub was the liveliest place to be, a good atmosphere and excellent service. Walked into Funchal old town a few times but was fairly quiet mid week. A great holiday in lovely Madeira in what must be one of the best hotels on the island.

Room Tip: Request a sea view and you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank famousfiveWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review shared on tripadvisor about your recent holiday at Porto Mare.

Happy to learn that overall you took a positive impression of our resort.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    398
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
391
1,352
57
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked with Thomson for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and were not disappointed! Start to finish - GREAT! We had b&b and bought a 5 evening dinner option (buffet) in the Atlantica restaurant for 23 euro per night, payable to hotel direct. A safe was used in the room, 10 euro (+ 20 deposit, refundadable). We had a seaview room which was quite big, a good view and absolutely spotless. The 2 lifts were quick and usually arrived in 10 or 15 seconds. The hotel and gardens are maintained and cleaned to a very high standard.
One annoyance is the pigeons that are often scrounging near the outside tables both at the restaurant and bar areas. Sometimes people shoo them away, others feed them! You can't blame the pigeons, but it is not hygienic in my opinion.
We also made use of the courtesy coach (40+ seater luxury) to and from the main resort. This operates several convenient times a day.
Our's being a seaview room, at the rear, it was very peaceful at night (and day). The buffet breakfast was of good quality with a good variety, from cereal, breads/rolls/cakes, cold meat/cheese, fresh and juiced fruit and the English breakfast selection, which I had every day.
Evening meal (23 euro option each as described) was again buffet and also had a great selection. This was also in the Atlantica restaurant. Although a meat lover, I usually had the wonderful fish. Grilled Tuna, Salmon and Perch. Starters usually had a cold fish, prawns, pasta mix etc. We paid for Rose wine @ 13 to 16 euro a full bottle, although a red or white house caraffe was also seen served. Eating outside was a popular option, breakfast and evening, but during our stay was slightly on the cool side.
If you turn right along the front after exiting reception of the hotel complex (it is 3 joined together) you come to a side road downwards towards sea. Follow this about 100 yards, there is a car park entrance on the right which services a well stocked and good priced supermarket, "Pingo Doce". Most locals and tourists used it and it was often quite busy. Wine is a good price and advantage can be taken of the 'fridge in the room to store it.

Please excuse the non-hotel comments below, but it is in Funchal and was part of our stay.
I may see if I can put another detailed review on TA about the Electricity Museum located in Funchal near the cable car station/general market. At 2.70 euro admission, I think it is excellent value - but only provided you are into electrical engineering/power stations and the Madeira history (since 1897) of such matters. There seems little on the internet about this though, which I feel is a shame for such a professional approach to this subject by the museum. Hence my trying to publicise it here. If only 1% of people visit it, then I think my mentioning it will be worthwhile. It would be a shame to see it possibly close through lack of support.

To sum up. Having originally been persuaded to stay at the PORTO MARE by other TA reviews, we would definitely wish to stay at this hotel next time in Madeira as we feel it cannot be bettered for the price. Not cheap, but we reckon excellent all round for what we paid.
Madeira is a fantastic island. Very clean and tidy. Considerate drivers and plenty of zebra crossings. The bus service was not used by us, it does seem a bit confusing with different operators, requiring a good head to work out travel arrangements.
However, we did book a couple of mini bus trips with "Happy Tours" just along from our hotel, main road towards Funchal. A half day Valley of Nuns, 12 (11 maybe ??)euro each and a full day North and West tour at 20 euros each. I will soon be leaving TA feedback about this company as well. It came well recommended by other TA reviewers and we definitely agree with their opinions.
All this typing, I will need another holiday!
Robin (G3XDA) and Janet

Room Tip: Sea view are rear and/or inward towards garden/sea facing. So, centre rooms south facing, side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank g3xda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive and positive review about your recent holiday experience in Madeira and Porto Mare hotel in particular.

We are very pleased to know that you had a positive stay and really hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the fifth time I have stayed at the Porto Mare and Eden Mar complex. The gardens and the hotel itself remain beautiful as always. with helpful friendly staff it is a large complex with sufficient space to find a corner of your own. Two slight cirticisms this time, the orange juice at breakfast was more like orange squash which I couldn't drink and there is a taxi rank under the hotel with some persitent horn blowing from the taxi drivers which rather spoilt the peace and quite.

Overall I would highly rate this hotel and will no doubt return next year.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view but all rooms are spotless and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchester21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you the feedback about your stay. We have taken good note of your thoughts.
Thank you also for another stay with us and I am sure it will be a pleasure for all of us to see you around soon.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have just spent 10 days in this hotel and I loved it. All the staff were helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble, they were great. Our sea view room was immaculate with a huge balcony, furnished with table chairs and sun beds. Indoor and outdoor pools and enough sun beds for all. The gardens were lovely, with a tropical garden full of orchids. Breakfast was a feast with something to suit everyone. We were bed and breakfast and ate out each night. There are literally dozens of places to eat in walking distance, and all that we chose were good. It took us 30 minutes to walk to the harbour and we had a taxi (5-6 euros) back because as it is uphill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “well done” review posted on tripadvisor with description of your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel. Happily you have enjoyed it which leaves us very pleased .

Sincerely hope to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

sometimes you simply do not think about putting in comments about a place that you have visited year after year. ( eleven years by now !!)
But now we love to put in our comments on the Port Mare hotel and the Residence which is the time share of the Porto Bay group.
After staying in the Cliff Bay hotel for 2 years we decided to buy a time share..And have not regretted it for one moment. The Porto Mare hotel as well as the Residence provide great rooms and with the 4 in house restaurants and 3 pools, gym and spa offer all a spoiled visitor can ask for.
Everything is managed in a very friendly and client friendly way, any possible problem will be solved right away.
In short, we are happy to have 20 more years to go on our contract!

Pauline and Cor van Empel

Room Tip: most rooms have a seaview and all have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corvanempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so rewarding to know that we were able to fulfill your needs on your 11th ! stay in our Hotel.
Also take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your thoughts with such a vast audience of tripadvisor and for being such a great supporter of Porto Bay hotels.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 weeks and had a great time. The hotel is very clean and the rooms were of a very high standard and located in a fantastic setting.

One thing I would love to see on a future return to the hotel would be at least one lifeguard at the main pool and also for the pool temperatures to be reviewed as these were very cold (we only ever used the indoor ones) and was talking point for guests.

Most of the staff were really friendly and were great trying to learn our son to have basic words in Portuguese (obrigado Claudia).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your feedback about your holiday at Porto Mare and glad to know that overall you had a positive experience.

Please understand that the costs involved on heating both outdoor pool would be extremely high due to the water capacity of both facilities, and we have already two options for heated pools.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have recently returned from a week at this hotel.The rooms were quite large. We had asked for a twin bedded room and the 2 beds were 4ft wide each. They supplied towells for the pool and bath robes to walk around in. We ate in the hotel all week. There was plenty of variety in the buffet meals. We even had champagne for breakfast every morning..There was an Al a Carte restaurant but we didn't use it
There was a curtesy bus into Funchal several times a day but make sure you know where to get on it to come back.

The hotel gardens were immaculate and there was a Jasmine bush near the kiddies pool which smelt divine in the evenings.It was very quiet at night and you didn't hear any noise from neighboring rooms.

There was some form of entertainment every evening.

Room Tip: High floor away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank felinefriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for let us know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing