We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Mare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$267
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$249
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$142
$133
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$145
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$233
$138
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$162
$153
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$472
$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,320)
Filter reviews
2,320 results
Traveler rating
1,792
443
64
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,792
443
64
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmed restaurantil basilicoorchid gardenatlantida restaurantsea viewhotel complexlovely hotelbuffet restaurantcourtesy bushappy hourhalf boardhalf pricesister hotelgardens are beautifulroom safeindoor pooltime share
Filter
Updating list...
1,214 - 1,219 of 2,320 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have just returned from Porto Mare Hotel, This was my 3rd visit, it is a beautiful Hotel, great rooms and large bathrooms all very well designed with all the extras that you would expect from a 5 star hotel which Porto Mare should be. The staff are always friendly, food is excellent and I cannot fault anything. Will return. Thankyou Porto Mare

Room Tip: Three rooms I have had over the last three years have all been great it depends if you would like to enjoy the garden view or sea view, but most rooms see both.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memsahib7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “amazing” review posted on tripadvisor about your third stay with us.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you for the fourth visit to Porto Mare.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Porto Mare in April. The reception staff made us feel very welcome and we sailed through the check in process. Our room was beautiful we were celebrating our SIlver wedding anniversary and my 50 th birthday. It was sprinkled with red rosé petals and a beautiful bouquet of flowers and bottle of champagne also awaited us we were both so thrilled at the beautiful thoughtful touches. Our room was immaculate, there was no way it could be faulted the cleaning staff do an amazing job. Breakfasts were very good a Huge selection of hot and cold food and all the waiting staff are very polite friendly and attentive. The pools and pool areas are extremely well maintained and kept clean and the gardens are so so beautiful. All the bar staff are very friendly and fun. All in all this is the closest you can get to perfection. THe hotel offers a free bus into Funchal and its only 20 to 25 minutes to walk into the centre of Funchal and even if you get a taxi it's only 5 euros so the hotel is perfectly located. We will return next year and thoroughly recommend this hotel. The hotel caters for all age groups very well .
We cannot thank everyone at Porto Mare enough the staff all do a great job in making your holiday perfect and very special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rimms007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

What a great pleasure to read the rewarding review you have sent to tripadvisor. Thank you for let us know that you have enjoyed the facilities and services provided by my team. It will be a pleasure to share your thoughts with all of them.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a beautiful Hotel with gardens that have to be seen to be believed. All the staff are always friendly and helpful and the breakfasts alone are worth the visit! The atmosphere in the hotel is very relaxed

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broadbent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the review about your stay at Porto Mare. Really happy to know that you have enjoyed it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to this Hotel after looking at reviews and we were not disappointed. It is very relaxing with no outstreached hands looking for tips, Great breakfast and a good bus service into the centre of Funchal. It even has BBc1, BBC2 and ITV on the television.
The grounds are like a small botanical garden with a great swimming pool in the centre. Ther is an inside swimming pool in the complex.
We will go back again when time allows.

Room Tip: A sea view room if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about your recent visit to Porto Mare. It is rewarding to learn that we were able to meet the expectations created based on other tripadvisor reviews.

See you hopefully soon…

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

for -
stunning gardens
great big rooms
very clean
friendly staff

against
45 minutes walk from Funchal
breakfasts clap cold everyday and limited choice
no atmosphere in any of the bars or resteraunts
seemed like everyone was 70 or older
poor internet in reception area and none in rooms

Room Tip: sea view - try 2101 it has an L shaped balcony for sun all day
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank biglad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your holiday experience. I regret to know that we were not able to meet your holiday expectations.

The hotel Porto Mare is located in Funchal… there is a courtesy bus to the city center five times a day and dozens of public buses that cost about 2.5/3 euros each way or taxis that charge about 7.50 euros.

On our Atlantida breakfast restaurant, we have 12 different kinds of fruits, four kinds of local patisserie, different kinds of bread, croissants, two or three types of cheese and ham, cereals and yogurt corner, fresh tomato & cucumber, all the ingredients for an English breakfast such as eggs, beans , roasted tomato, different kinds of sausages, rusty potato, bacon...
There is a “light” items corner, different omelets on show cooking and more…coffee, milk, tea, juices, mineral water, spk wine, all available to guest on BB… and also some more items on the á la carte menu.
We have a show cooking station for the eggs, omelets, pancakes and hot plates available during breakfast and dinner time.

In our resort we have 4 different restaurants, Il Basilico an Italian food where we serve nearly 130 meals a day and one of the most popular restaurants in Funchal.
Alfama mainly Portuguese and Madeira food, also with a fish night with fado music.
Restaurant Med, Mediterranean food, with two theme days and very popular among our guests and an international theme Buffett restaurant where we proudly serve on a daily basis over three hundred meals. Once a week we also organize a dinner show powered by the Med restaurant team and it has become one of the most popular evenings that combines food with entertainment at Lido Bar.
On the different bars we have daily live entertainment and also 4 times a week live music during happy hour time.

Wi-fi is being installed in all the resort, soon we will have it available. For the time being is only available at our three hotel receptions and public areas, such as hotel lobby and bars.

I will be most pleased to welcome you in future visit to Madeira and personally assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews