We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel deserves all the praise it gets. Myself, my husband and our 18 month old had the luxury of a fortnight here in January and it was incredible. The hotel is beautiful to look at and the finishes and attention to detail were all first rate. We were in a suite so that we could have a separate sleeping space from the little one and our accomodation was just perfect. The suite comes highly recommended as you have a kitchen area, lounge, TV in both bedroom and lounge and access to balcony from both rooms. The finishes, cleanliness etc throughout every aspect of the suite were perfect. We were overjoyed on arrival. For other parents of very young children, one huge surprise and asset was that, unlike anywhere else we've stayed, there was a proper full sized wooden cot provided for our daughter instead of one of those awful travel cots that guarantee you bad nights sleep!
It was chocolate week when we arrived which added to the generally fantastic ambience throughout the whole place (which the excellent staff create). The restaurant and food were lovely... excellent variety, both on each night and over each week... we ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner as we were half board. I was in 7th heaven with quality of the salads, cold meats etc etc. The champagne at breakfast was a decadent touch we loved. We also used the pizza restaurant on a few occassions for lunch (you can use all the resort facilities for the 3 hotels), and it was also gorgeous. Didn't eat in the a la carte as felt it might be less suitable for a toddler.
This hotel (as I understand Madeira in general) is more popular with an older crowd. Our daughter was one of only 2 little ones the first week, although there were a few more families the second week and I suspect in season probably a lot more. However, in spite of this, the oustanding staff doted on her and could not do enough to accomodate us... we felt so welcome with her. To be honest most of the other guests seemed happy to see a toddler as well (yes there was the occassional sideways glance from the stuffier sorts of guests if she got noisy but no more than parents get used to handling anywhere else!).
The outside space of the hotel was absolutely incredible... beautiful, spotless and idylic. Unluckily one of the pools was shut when we were there but that would not bring down my rating because maintenance has to be done and this was the most off peak time to do it so it;s just one of those things. There was still the beautiful main outdoor pool and a smaller indoor pool so it's not as if there are not plenty of alternatives. The pool that was closed is a wonderful oasis indoor/outdoor pool so I look forward to using that on our next visit.
The staff.... without a doubt the friendliest team we have ever met anywhere. With the exception of one grumpy woman who worked at the pool bar (you can't win them all!), literally everyone else was amazing. We had hugs from some when we left! Some of the long term guests we chatted to said that this hotel has retained many of these staff for years and the team does not have a high staff turnover which in itself speaks volumes. They worked tirelessly but never looked like they couldn't be bothered or that they weren't enjoying it.
We went into Funchal a few times and it was a nice place to wander about. We also took a trip to Reid's Palace for afternoon tea which for a little piece of history I'm glad we did, but for the money we have certainly eaten plenty better afternoon teas and the staff we nothing compared to those at the Porto Mare.
As you can probably guess we would recommend this very highly and will be returning at the earliest point we can manage it.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jm1983rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “outstanding” review about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.
Apologize for the staff member who did not reach the level of all the others…I will advise our colleague in order to improve her attitude!

I am sure all my team would be very happy to welcome you back in a future visit to our island,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

There really was nothing to fault about this hotel, from the helpfulness of its staff, to the quality of the restaurants, cleanliness of rooms and immaculate upkeep of its grounds.
My only issue, which to the credit of the hotel was quickly remedied, was the fact that 'Garden View' doesn't necessarily mean that you have a view of the hotel's lovely garden. It apparently means that you don't have a sea view. Our first room, although internally admittedly beautiful, overlooked a side street and utility entrances (with associated noise) of this and other neighbouring hotels. I felt that the description of the room was misleading and we were moved without fuss the following day.

Room Tip: High floors (front) for sea views, low floors (front) for beautiful garden only views. Accept rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamHove_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor about Porto Mare hotel. Happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience. Regarding the garden room in fact we do have some rooms facing the opposite side of our garden and as we did not want to have an extra room type for only some rooms we decided to classify it as “garden view”. I promise good attention to it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you In a future visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel proved just as wonderful as previous reviews suggest.
Set in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea, with plenty of places-chairs / beds available - proved to be an extremely relaxing place.
Buffet breakfast had a very good chioce of foods-service was efficient and staff friendly and cheerful.
Did not try eating dinner at any of the restaurants but did have a salad lunch at the poolside bar which was tasty. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to suit all budgets. Would recommend The Atlantic restaurant just a few minutes walkaway on the road to Funchal.
Enjoyed the live music entertainement - especially the blues band which was excellent- would recommend .
Room changing service was also efficient and the lady that changed our room was cheerful and welcoming.The very large bed was extremely comfortable-appeared to have a memory foam like mattress topper - slept like a log -something i rarely do away from home!
Having a fridge in the room was great! However the charge for a safe and wifi appeared a little excessive - managed without-there is a pc in reception with free internet use.
Paid extra for suprior room and seaview- well worth the extra- room large with fabulous views over the pool,grounds and sea.room was on the 4th floor.
To further add to our delight with service recieved-my hubby left his i phone in the
Docking station in the room- rang the hotel from the airport- recieved it back via post at the end of the same week of departure!
Well done Porto Mare hotel ! Would definately return.

Room Tip: 2nd-4th floor rooms appeared best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastYorkshireCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. Glad to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience with us and also pleased with the staff efficiency returning the item you have forgotten. I will certainly share with all of them your nice comments.

Sincerely hope to welcome you In a future visit to our island.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

i v been going 4 past 8 yrs, av ownership there. great location, excellent food in resturants. accomodation clean spacious, would reccomend. to all of all ages. decleor spa reasonable prices. plenty of pools. cant praise enough. free wifi set in beautiful gardens

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short not to thank you for the “best resort” opinion regarding your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
Thank you also for such a great support by staying in our hotel so many times.
OBRIGADO

Warm regards,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our fifth stay at this excellent hotel.Everything about it is excellent. Although the hotel is quite large and very popular there is never any sense that it is busy - there are always seats available in the lounges and in the beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joka_gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay, thank you for your support by staying in our property so many times. Also thank you for the positive feedback about your recent stay with us and it will be a great pleasure to see you around once again.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Recently (March 2013) stayed at Porto Mare Hotel for 8 days. This was our third stay. Very helpful staff. Rooms clean well equipped, with air conditioning. Free Wi Fi only near the vicinity of reception area, also good reception in part of the dining room. I believe they are in the process of installing WI FI in the bedrooms as well. Buffett breakfast with excellent choice of food. They also cater for special diets, gluten free bread no problem, on request. Good value buffet evening meals, there are also two other restaurants in the hotel. Two indoor heated swimming pools and a very large outdoor one, unheated. Would certainly be staying in this hotel again. It is two miles from city centre, Free transport is provides numerous times to Funchal centre and back to the hotel. If you are in a harry Taxi from the town works out 5 to 6 Euros.

Room Tip: Choose garden view rooms on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “excellent hotel” review posted on tripadvisor and for the 3rd stay in our property. Glad that you had another positive holiday experience and really hope to welcome you in a future 4th visit to our Island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a 10 day break over easter 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is excellent, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, the gardens are beautiful , everywhere is clean and well maintained and the food is varied and very good. Didn't get the best of weather but it didn't spoil our time at the Porto Mare. Courtesy bus into Funchal is very useful. Also tennis courts and pools excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool/garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangoCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such the “excellent hotel” review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Really happy to learn that you took such a positive impression of us in spite of the not so good weather.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit and with sunny weather,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $158 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing