We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the Hotel. Our first trip was 3 years ago and we had a lovely stay. This second time we went with great expectations and were not disappointed. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Restaurants serve good food with plenty of variety and plenty of it! Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with a pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Thank you as well for revisiting our property and happy to learn that we were able to meet your exceptions,

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future for your 3rd visit,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,540
    387
    55
    13
    6
See reviews for
376
1,301
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Everything is clean and in excellent shape. The outside parts with pools, gardens are well treated and in excellent shape with a lot of flowers and trees.
The service is excellent beginning with the the room service ending with the pool boy. The restaurants are good independent if buffet or á la card. The bars are nice, with happy hour in two bars every evening. The drinks are good and not to expensive. There is music, shows or films every evening in several bars.
The waitresses and waiter especially in the restaurant atlantida are very nice and spoke up to 5 different languages including fluent english, german, french, spanish, italien and for sure portuguese.
We had a one week stay which was perfect concerning the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClausS550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the “excelente” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. We are really happy to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I suspect that the only thing holding this hotel back from 5* is that they charge for many extras that other 5* hotels include such as in-room safe 10 euros per week, crazy golf, tennis, pool, pétanque etc. wifi is free in lobby. The pools are great with 2 indoor pools heated which is needed in March, one extends outside; never an issue finding sun loungers. We were b&b and dined in local restaurants which are adequate without being outstanding. Breakfasts are excellent, service is friendly and helpful throughout. Stayed with our 9 year old in a Garden View room on 2nd floor and she loved it. Would definitely recommend and will return (not something I normally do). In fact this is the first time I have felt sufficiently motivated to write a review as it was favourable reviews which led me to choose the Porto Mare and the management and staff deserve praise. Love Madeira and Funchal though building work in the centre of Funchal at the moment is a slight issue though a long way from the hotel of course.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidPhilp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “quality” review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
We are pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience and really hope to welcome you back in a short period of time.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is an understated hotel in my opinion. It performs brilliantly in all departments. The food is excellent - and so are the staff. The accommodation is nothing short of excellent. The grounds are beautiful and very well tended.
I could go on as it would be easy to do so. The hotel could easily be a five star rated hotel and it would still be a pleasure to stay in terms of cost.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone who needs a rest from the manic world we live in or indeed others who might need a more vibrant time as this can be found relatively nearby. It really does deliver on all counts. Needles to say this was our fourth stay.

Room Tip: If you can, have a room with a larger terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor. Thank you for the fourth visit to our hotel and we are delighted to know that you had such a positive experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in near future,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Madeira and we were delighted to have chosen this hotel. A great location on the seafront approx 20 minutes walk into Funchal. The hotel runs a free courtesy bus periodically throughout the day but it only costs around 7 Euros in a taxi to the centre. The hotel has its own extensive gardens which are well looked after and an excellent pool area although the pool bar is expensive. We chose a superior room (2213) - the room itself was spacious with a huge bed, TV & DVD player and docking station - the only downside was the balcony being rather small for a superior room and view was rather restricted. Pool towels and robes were supplied but no slippers. A chilled bottle of sparkling wine was left in the room on the day of my partners birthday - a nice touch. We were bed & breakfast & did not take dinner in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. A number of excellent and great value restaurants are within a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and seemed to have excellent customer service skills. I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Madeira and would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor as views will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 735RichardB735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had a positive first holiday experience in Madeira and in our hotel in particular.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon for your second visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a good location. We stayed from 25th March 2013 to 1st April 2013. The hotel is located just outside Funchal approximately 15 minutes walk to the town centre.

The reception is just what you would expect from a quality 4 star hotel so 9 out of 10.

Room, we stayed in room 2331 which is on level 3. This is a nice room with see view, generally it has what you would expect from a quality hotel, very comfy large bed, good quality bedding, falt screen TV, DVD player, and docking station. Large balcony which get the sun late afternoon. Bathroom was generally okay but the bath had chips (not so good). 9 out 10.

WIFI generally only available in the communal areas but there were notes on the lifts informing of upgrades (not sure if this will just to communal areas or in each room). 7 out of 10.

Cleanliness, generally spotless (all areas) 10 out 10.

Breakfast, simply excellent 10 out of 10.

Lunch, we ate at the poll bar and did not rate it not really good value for money 5 out of 10. Beer E4.50 sandwich E9.00.

Restaurants, we only ate in the Med restaurant but it was excellent quality and value 9 out of 10. There are a couple of other restaurants but we did not try them.

Cocktail bar very good large selection and a fair price. 8 out of 10.

Pools are fine both internal and external. 8 out of 10.

Sunbeds lots of them but not the best quality (plastic) 7 out 10

Beach towels supplied free 10 out of 10.

Towel robes supplied free 10 out of 10

Gym, I did not use it but my wife did and she says it is fine. 8 out of 10.

Gardens are really nice 10 out of 10.

Generally this is a good hotel in a good location.

The real acid test is would I recommended this hotel to a friend (YES) and would I stay there again (YES).

Generally I would award this hotel a 9 out 10.

Room Tip: I would recommend trying the Med restaurant but book to ensure you get a table at the time you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmattimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel
Happy to know tha overall you had a positive stay and enjoyed the majority of your services and facilities. WI-Fi will be available I all the rooms as well. The issues evaluated by you below 8 or 7 out of ten will be taken in consideration so we can do better in the future

Sincerely hope to welcome you again in our property so you can check if we have improved or not.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Overall the hotel is great. But of course there are always points to improve. 25€ for wifi access is quite unacceptable, should be included, especially that the coverage is limited to public hotspots. The waiting staff are lovely and friendly but ironically the two reception staff we met were sullen, grumpy and rude. We had a large junior suite, but there was hardly any drawer space.

A side comment that is not the fault of the hotel: this hotel attracts mostly retired couples and hardly any under 40's, bare that in mind before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Langridj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare. We regret to know that the reception service was not of other services standard. We promise good attention on it and do everything possible to improve it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you I a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing