We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect March break.”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect March break.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our first visit to Funchal was spent at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We upgraded to the "Romatic Package" which included a superior sea view room on the third floor (room 2304). It was huge! The balcony was a good size and had sun until 7.00pm. However what we really enjoyed was the 170 sq meter private roof terrace that went with the room. The views over the garden/swimming pool/ sea were beautiful. Breakfast was a feast on its own and the two meals we had in the Restaurant Med were first class (if a little expensive). The facilities were excellent and we enjoyed our complementary massage in the spa which did not seem over busy. The only complaint I might have is the lack of help with luggage to and from our room. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: West facing rooms overlooking the pool and gardens are best for afternoon/evening sun. Room 2304 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnnie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments about your recent first visit to Porto Mare hotel and we are really happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you for the second visit to Funchal.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,568
    393
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
1,330
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel and its grounds are lovely. The room was a basic room, it was nicely furnished, spacious with a seating area and balcony outside. The view from1st floor although not the best was still nice, over the gardens and bar.

The gardens and pools were beautifully. We particularly liked the indoor/ outdoor pool the temperature was perfect, the outdoor was a little cool for me and the indoor a little too warm but great to have the choice.

Breakfast was very good, an excellent selection of cereal, fruit, breads, hot items and even free champagne! Service at breakfast was very good. After 9:30 the restaurant was quieter but the food standard was maintained. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurants. The bar service was friendly and efficient.

Other nice touches were the free activities in particular the garden tour and wine tasting. The free newsletter during the week was also very good to keep up with the news headlines at home.

The hotel is situated in the lido area there are many good restaurants around. It's a 30minute stroll into Funchal and the hotel offers a free courtesy bus.

The only improvement I can think of is to extend wifi into the bedrooms, although it was rather nice not to have it in the restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a view floor 2 and above are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDRABLUECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for the feedback about your visit to Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, soon we will have it available all over the Vila Porto Mare resort

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in any of our properties.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a lovely time, the hotel was exactly as promised, really good facilities and excellent service, the only problem, don't get caught out by the expensive drinks in the pool bar, 2.50 euro for a very small bottle of water is a rip off, especially when you can buy at 0.35 euro in the shop next to Eden Mar. I mentioned to the reception staff and they said they understood my issue but could do nothing!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the twin superior and was very pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your visit to Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience.

Please understand that the prices of drinks and other services in a hotel are not comparable to the same items bought in a supermarket or drinks shop.

Apart of the specific services we offer when we sell a mineral water, we have other facilities available to all our guest such as gardens, pools and for example entertainment that are not offered when you go to any supermarket/drinks shop.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in any of our properties.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was truly curious to see / stay in a hotel that has a 9.1 rating on booking. Well,it was worth it.
Transfer from Malaga Int A/P goes fast on the new motorway. The rooms are lovely, big, with a breathtaking view to the ocean. White satin/cotton sheets on the bed are lovely. The pillows are very soft, just perfect to relax and sleep. The breakfast and dinner buffet are very good (but not perfect). Fantastic price/value ratio. Amazing botanic garden.

DEFINITELY WORTH IT! TRY THIS HOTEL ONCE IN A LIFE TIME!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments about your recent visit to Madeira and Porto Mare hotel in particular shared on tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience and sincerely hope to meet you in a near future,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent service,very clean,superb gardens and swimming pools, not a lot to do at night in the hotel but it was February!
Choice of restaurants within the complex offering a la carte or themed evenings, we upgraded to half board on site, it gets cheaper the more nights you have, you choose the restaurant and evenings to eat, excellent value compared to prices in restaurants outside of the hotel.
For lunch and afternoon drinks try the BELLA ILHA 50 Metres to the left outside the hotel, Italian run bar and restaurant used by locals and the Reps, much cheaper than the hotel superb freshly cooked food, local specialities,pasta and pizza see seperate review

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b_knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor with so many other holiday makers. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to learn that you had a positive holiday experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A lovely hotel. Very clean and well maintained. The gardens and pools are excellent. Breakfast also excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Porte Mare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared on tripadvisor about your stay at our property. We are delighted to know that overall you had such a fantastic experience

We hope you can visit Madeira and our hotel in particular in a near future. We will be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A lovely hotel with excellent service and facilities. We had half board but ate in the hotel one night and the meal was lovely.
Good restaurants nearby and a courtesy bus into funchal although you could walk in - took about 20 - 30 minutes.
Trips varied in price but we went with a Blandys one that was more expensive but very good - in a minibus rather than a coach and the guide was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for you positive feedback and for let us know that you have enjoyed your stay at Porto Mare hotel.


Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,812 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing