We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Mare Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$277
$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$261
$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$133
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$135
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$234
$112
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$139
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$139
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$444
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,298)
Filter reviews
2,298 results
Traveler rating
1,778
438
62
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,778
438
62
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmed restaurantil basilicoorchid gardenatlantida restaurantsea viewhotel complexbuffet restaurantcourtesy bushappy hourlovely hotelhalf boardhalf pricesister hotelgardens are beautifultime shareindoor poolroom safe
Filter
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 2,298 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent a week there and cannot think of a single fault. We shall certainly be returning to this hotel. (Cost Information : 7 nights half board, Superior room with seaview, early February 2013, EasyJet holidays (including flights from Gatwick and 1 Hold case) was GBP 632 pp)

Plus Points
- Spotlessly clean
- Large spacious room
- Lovely communal areas/pools/gardens
- Excellent buffet food selection
- Exceptionally pleasing staff - genuinely friendly.
- Plenty of free car parking on site if in Hire Car

The hotel offers buses into Funchal - which is about a 30 minute walk away. We walked and it was very enjoyable - but does include a bit of a hill on the way back !
Guests seemed to be a mixture of many western european nationalities - and not that many young couples - possibly because out of school holiday times - I don't know.

No idea why this isn't a 5 star hotel - perhaps they don't offer a big enough selection of hand crafted snacks in the bar or whatever the criteria is for these star rating agencies - but as far as I am concerned, this is a 5 star establishment for the things that actually matter.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms carry a premium surcharge - but they really are good - loads of room - balcony and seating area - really comfortable beds.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing on tripadvisor your “excellent” review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. Comments like the one you wrote give us even more responsibilities, but also a lot of pride in what we do. THANK YOU

For sure that will be a great pleasure in welcome you back in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having previously stayed in the very good sister hotel (Eden Mar) we were expecting the high standard which we had experienced there, and we were not disappointed. The bedrooms are very spacious, with a large and very comfortable bed, excellent blackout curtains - (no early morning waking with the sun shining in) spacious balcony and a TV on which you could access three main English programmes (although we didn't watch it at all as the weather was great.)
We had half-board and the choice of food in the Atlantida Restaurant at both breakfast and dinner is excellent. We also ate one night at the Basilico Restaurant which was also of a high standard.
All the staff in the hotel are lovely and friendly especially those in the hotel bar.
The location of the hotel is good - easy access to the coastal walk towards Camara do lobos, and a 50 minute walk into Funchal (although the hotel also provides a regular bus service)
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that while we were there one of the indoor pools was being refurbished and not only could we not use it (not a real problem as there are 2) but on 2 days there was a really bad smell which permeated the hotel (and even our bedroom) from the glue being used in the pool area.
I would be very happy to return again sometime in the future and would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.

As I mentioned in a couple of tripadvisor comments, the Porto Mare indoor pool was closed due to a major water leaking that had to be repaired. During the period that this specific pool was closed we heated the outdoor Porto Mare pool but we apologize for any disturbance we might have caused to your holidays.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After an 8-day tour around the beautiful island of Madeira, we spent 3 days at Hotel Porto Mare.
We really enjoyed every aspect of this hotel, from the room to the staff. It is extremely hard to find any points to criticize. We only wish we had stayed a bit longer.

Being exhausted from hiking and traveling for the past week, we enjoyed the pools, enjoyed great massages and skin care, and were completely relaxed afterwards.
Every single member of the staff was extremely friendly and gave me the impression they thoroughly enjoyed their work. This made for an extremely nice and relaxed atmosphere, where one can totally relax and enjoy everything that Porto Mare has to offer.
The room was quite large and provided us with a great view at the beautiful flower garden.

Next time I visit Madeira, I definitely stay at this hotel again to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have a nice view of the ocean, and the beautiful garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a near future,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have only been to Madeira on two previous occasions at the neighboring Eden Mar and the Cliff Bay before this holiday. All three holidays were with the same hotel chain, Porto Bay. Our room was outstanding, spotless throughout and offered us a super sea view. The hotel is in a good position and they also run a free bus service into the centre of Funchal.

It was low season and the hotel clearly wasn’t full, but there were enough facilities on offer to keep us entertained throughout our week. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice and something for everyone. Evening meals also offered a high standard of food with plenty of variety – unfortunately, because the hotel had so many vacancies there wasn’t enough customers around towards 9pm to create any atmosphere and it felt like all the effort that the staff had made to create the buffet was wasted. Although we were on half board, we elected to have 2 of our evening meals in the “Med Restaurant” and take advantage of a 17 Euro credit per person for customers on half board. The food in the “Med Restaurant” was 1st class!

Overall, the good points are the staff, the location, the rooms, public spaces, food choice, food quality, free Wi-Fi, bus to town, TV channels including BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Sky News, BBC World & BBC Entertainment.

I do have 2 niggles to write about – they are minor, but here goes. First, the pool bar plays the same CD’s all day long with tracks in the same order – please treat the pool bar to an MP3 player loaded with thousands of tracks/melodies that can be played out on shuffle! Secondly, the evening resident duo goes through the same songs every night, very repetitive and just when they create a good atmosphere with people dancing – they take a break and return with 50% of the customers having left the bar!

Room Tip: Taky your smartphone, laptop, tablet computer or iPad and keep intouch with home via the free Wi-Fi
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterWTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.

Happy to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience. Regarding the two points raised I will discuss it with my team and find a solution.


Sincerely hope to see you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week in the Porto Mare. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they went out of their way to make it a very enjoyable stay. The room was superb (we paid extra for superior sea view and did not regret it at all.) The meals were delicious and the bars were also good (there is a happy hour from 5 pm to 6.30 pm and we paid just over 5 euros for a large beer and a gin and tonic.) Swimming pools were very good and the other sports facilities are excellent - tennis, ping pong, mini golf, gym etc. We were very fortunate because the weather was really warm for the time of year (up to 24 degrees Centigrade on two days) and we didn't see a drop of rain. Did a few nice walks along the coast and explored Funchal over a couple of days too. Will definitely come back.

The only downside to the holiday has nothing to do with Porto Mare - we booked the Ibis Hotel in Birmingham Airport as an overnight stay prior to flying out and got parking at a lowish cost... never again. The hotel was ok but the parking (Airparks) is miles away from the airport and they only lay on two shuttle buses per hour. We just missed one when we came out of the terminal after arriving back from our holiday and waited about 30 mins in a badly designed bus shelter which was virtually a very chilly wind tunnel. They do offer to bring your car to the airport on your return but they charge a very steep £25 for the privilege.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the sea view - we thought it was well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobMc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews