We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were hoping for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with helpful friendly hotel staff and nice food, and the holiday topped it! The buffet breakfasts and evening meals were excellent with a HUGE range of food. We were travelling with our 2 yr old son and he loved it all - the food, swimming, exploring the hotel gardens etc. All in all we felt extremely pleased we chose this hotel -fantastic.

Room Tip: The garden rooms on the ground floor are nice if you want to be able to walk straight out into the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSR_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Good to know that you had a positive holiday experience with your family.
Vila Porto Mare resort with the different facilities, gastronomic options and services it is suitable for family holidays as you mention in your review thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    384
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
364
1,270
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a week at this great hotel. We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the garden and pool. We had two days of overcast weather and then the weather just got better and better. The balcony caught the sun all day, which in November was very nice. The hotel was immaculate the staff were very attentive and pleasant, the food in the various restaurants in the hotel, was first class, and the entertainment in the evening was of a high standard. The Spa and pool were fab. This was our first visit to Maderia and we enjoyed having the courtesy bus on hand at various times during the day to visit Funchal. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your holiday experience on tripadvisor.

It will be for sure a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Staying at Porto Mare was an honor everything about this hotel is amazing the food, drinks, staff, accomodation and the atmosphere. We booked in and was shown to our room straight away. It was very well presented and very clean.

The entertainment was lively. Madeira is a beautiful and fascinating island with lots to do outside the hotel. Outside the hotel there was wide variety of restaurants, chinese, portugese, and italian but the standered of food in the hotel was a lot nicer.

The pools were kept very clean and activities around the hotel were very enjoyable and fun to do.

Porto Mare Hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I would like to say thank you to all Porto Mare staff who made our stay pleasant and enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Just a short note to thank you for your feedback about the Porto Mare hotel .
It is rewarding to know that you had such a positive stay and enjoyed the facilities and services we provide.

Sincerely hope to meet you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just home from a weeks stay at this fabulous hotel. The weather was not great as we only had two afternoons of sunshine the rest of the time the weather was overcast or raining:(
But the facilities and staff at the hotel made our stay really enjoyable:)
Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the main pool and had fabuous sea views. We also had a large balcony which overlooked the outside jaccussi and swim area from one of the two indoor heated pools.
Breakfast was very good with lots of different food stations for individual tastes. We had fillet steak on two evenings in the hotel's Med restuarant and it was amazing:) We also used the courtesy coach to travel to Funchal for a mornings shopping, this was such a lovely journey and completely free of charge.
when we could sunbathe we used the front sunbathing area above the private time share apartments and the view was fabulous ~ think this area should be kept child free though as it is such a relaxing area in which to read or just enjoy the view! One child was allowed to jump along the beautiful whicker sun beds with parents just ignoring their dreadful behaviour!
Staff were hardworking and always trying to make your holiday a memorable one, we especially enjoyed the 50% off happy hour in the Portafino bar ~ really relaxing in the lovely sofas and high backed chairs and a chance to meet some of the other guests too.
Even though the weather was not great we did enjoy the holiday and would definitely think about another visit ~ if we could have the same room:)

Room Tip: All rooms are large but ask for a high floor to enjoy the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmitchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your “fabulous” feedback about the Porto Mare hotel and your holiday experience with us.
It is rewarding to know that you consider our hotel as a good option for a second visit and it will be a pleasure to assist you on anything you might need therefore please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Porto Mare ( Oct 15th ).Ideally placed just out of Funchal ( 20min walk ) in the Lido area, near to the hotel is an abundance of reasonably priced great restaurants from Portugese,Indian,Chinese and traditional which is why we went on a B&B basis.The hotel is immaculate and has stunning gardens which overlook the sea,the standard of food is first class if you prefer to stay full board,breakfast is buffet style with huge choices to wet your appetite.The pools (Indoor & outdoor) and leisure spa facilities are exceptional and spotless.The staff go out of their way to assist you with any concerns or questions regarding where to visit locally, and the rooms are palacial and spotlessly cleaned daily.If you require a direct sea view room we suggest that you mention this when booking as some dont have that advantage ( Higher Floors are best ). The hotel also has given special facility to disabled guests and access is unrestricted throughout the hotel and facilities,they also provide an excellent courtesy bus service into Funchal if you have difficulty in getting about.If you enjoy walking either seriously or otherwise there are so many beautiful places to visit and walk for miles in rain forrests,waterfalls lakes and mountains andorned with beautiful flowers of all kinds .A word of warning though BEWARE of cheap excursions offered by kiosks, they are only available to you after being subjected to 2hrs of heavy sales pitch in what is in reality Time Share under another guise at a hotel which you are taken to before receiving your tickets ( We know from experience ! ). Just one big disappointment though, the famed toboggan basket ride down the street slopes into alledgedly Funchal,it was a huge let down,we expected a white nuckle ride when in fact it was very sedate and very expensive at 30 euros and were left to either walk for an hour down into Funchal or select one of the queues of taxis at the drop off point IT COSTS 20 euros for a 10 min drive. Other than that Madeira is a beautiful island that enjoys year round good weather and stunning sites and scenery we would highly recommend a visit to both the island and the Porto Mare.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j_taylor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to know that in general you had a positive holiday experience in Madeira and our hotel in particular and thank you for sharing it on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our second stay this year at the Porto Mare. We have been visiting Madeira almost every year for the past twenty years and we can honestly say that it is better than the 5-star hotels in which we have stayed.
The choice at breakfast is wonderful. For example, one morning I counted 10 different varieties of morning rolls and 6 different kinds of bread. We only ate dinner in the main restaurant once (on our final evening) but wished that we had taken advantage of the meal deal on offer, which would have enabled us to eat there more often at a discounted rate. The food was of such high quality and the choice wide-ranging.
The service in all departments is very good and friendly. The reservations personnel answer e-mails promptly and are good at meeting special requests. If you wish to practise your Portuguese you will find the staff immensely patient and helpful.
The rooms are light, spacious, clean and well-equipped. However, although they provide toothbrushes they do not provide bath/shower gel so you need to remember to take your own.
We have already booked a two-week stay for next year and are looking forward immensely to returning to this outstanding hotel with its aesthetically pleasing interior, lovely gardens and sea views.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaudeamus167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a positive review shared on tripadvisor about you second visit to Porto Mare hotel.
It is rewarding to know that overall you have enjoyed this visit and hopefully will see you around for a third one…

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for a week in October. Our first time to Madeira and it is really lovely - a chic and bustling town with lovely architecture, stunning trees and parks and genuine charm. This is a spacious, very well built hotel - it was pretty full but we did not hear a peep from our neighbours, up, down or sideways. The bedrooms are enormous and have two blissfully comfortable, very large single beds pushed together. Big TV with BBC1, BBC2, ITV amongst other channels. Nice balcony with a discreet clothes drier. The hotel decor is immaculate and everything is spotless. Loved the gardens, the sunbathing lawn with sea views and the pristine swimming pools. The staff including the chambermaids speak good English. Everyone just charming except one rather abrupt receptionist. She was quite dismissive when I pointed out that we had paid for a sea view room rather than a garden one and she said that we would have to wait 5 days to move. With a little more prodding of a much nicer receptionist we were in fact moved the next day. Having said that, the garden rooms are also really nice! We had not booked half board but did end up eating in 5 times as the dinner buffet is very impressive with a high quality salad bar, if a little lacking in garlic, herbs and spices. Breakfast equally lavish with something to please everyone including sparkling wine. The clientele is more German and Scandinavian than British and on the older side, (although kids did appear as half term approached) and the evening entertainment reflects that (left the bar at the first notes of "jambalay crawfish pie billy gumbo"...). Best excursion - a 3 hour catamaran trip to see whales and porpoises. We saw plenty of both and the sailors were easy on the eye too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IronGerdaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback about your first visit to Madeira.
Glad to know that overall you had a positive experience in spite of the receptionist incident that we will discuss internally.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a near future and I will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing