We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view and lovely gardens”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea view and lovely gardens”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Porto Bay complex, having stayed previously at the excellent Eden Mar. Porto Mar, which shares all its facilities with Eden Mar, was just as good. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, with a different theme every night at the buffet dinner restaurant. There was always a good mixture of fish, meat and vegetarian on offer and the waiting staff and chefs were a delight and multilingual. The situation of the hotel is ideal, being a little out of the bustle of Funchal, yet within walking distance of the centre. There are several swimming pools, masses of sunbeds available, and the gardens are wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your support by staying with us so many times and for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Really happy to know that you had another enjoyable stay within the Vila Porto Mare and in particular at Porto Mare Hotel.

Sincerely hope to met you on the 6th visit.

Best regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    394
    57
    13
    6
See reviews for
381
1,333
57
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am very impressed by this hotel. The gardens are beautiful and they pride themselves with the variety and quality of their flowers and trees, and it certainly makes for a very lovely setting. Wonderfully kept.

We went as a family to Porto Mare in August 2012, our first visit to Madeira, though not our last I suspect. The hotel room was generously sized, finished to a good standard with a fantastic view overlooking the pool, gardens and sea beyond. Bit of a maze with its split levels, but soon mastered.

Breakfast was amazing, with a huge variety of choices, enough for something completely different everyday. And eating on the veranda overlooking the pool was a perfect start to the day.

The evening entertainment was a little slow at the start of the week, but got better and better as the week went by, with a variety of musicians/singers, barbeque night, dancers, all very good.

The staff were fantastic, I'd single out the restaurant manager, who is a real character, but reception, house and waiting staff were all so friendly.

And the pools are superb, and so many. Love this hotel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SIXOCLOCKTICKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for the “lovely” review, with “beautiful” comments about Porto Mare hotel.
It is very rewarding to know that with our work we have contributed to such an enjoyable holiday experience.
I will certainly share your thoughts with the “real character” rest. manager and the different service areas praised by you. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a stay here for our honeymoon and on arrival discovered our room had been upgraded (from the hotel to the residence) which was nice. The hotel staff were great and after discovering it was our honeymoon (we had booked through opodo and asked them to let the hotel know so we would get the double room and not the twin but they did not contact them so the hotel were surprised when we arrived it was our honeymoon) we barely blinked and a bottle or sparkling wine, red wine, flowers, fruit basket and rose petals all appeared in our room. The room we were given was above a garage which was having some work done and was extremely noisy and we mentioned to reception who immediately went to speak to the workman who promised they would be finished that day within the hour but when they returned the next day the hotel staff immediately moved us to a very large family/1 bedroom and were most apologetic. The restaurant had great variety of food and there are numerous restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The main town was a good 30 minutes walk and can be hilly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your honeymoon trip at Porto Mare hotel.

Deeply sorry once again for any inconvenience caused by the works we had at the garage of our hotel but in spite of this its rewarding to know that you had such a good holiday experience with us.

Sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Porto Mare during September for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. We had booked a suite for the special occasion. The suite was excellent, on arrival there were rose petals ion the shape of hearts on the bed and champagne on ice on the dining table. It was well worth the extra to have a suite. The hotel is as has been described by others, the most remarkable feature being the excellent gardens.

We never had problems finding sunbeds. A previous review makes comment on the lack of umbrellas - well the managment have obviously taken note and there is now an ample supply of umbrellas. The only point that I would make is that there are two areas with sunbeds that are umbrella free. I think that perhaps this is a policy that should be reviewed in this modern age of sun awareness, it was very hot during our stay and I do not think it wise that sunbeds are provided without access to protection.

We enjoyed the food, which was the usual buffet fare in the main restaurant, most evenings we did manage to find a table in the outside area. There is a good wine sellection and a very drinlable house caraffe is avaiable at 11E for a litre. The entertainment was a little mixed, but would recommend the guitar band and the black dog blues band.

Funchal is lovely, although whilst we were ther the hills were under cloud and so we did not venture on the cable cars. We did make the vist to the Reids which is well worth a visit although very pricy. We found it somewhat of a cross between a residential care home for the well oof of europe and a stately home. There are photos on the walls of famous guests and we were interested to see Amy Johnson amongst them as we are from Hull. While we were there the Newcastle united team were staying - don't know what they must have made of it. All in all we would much rather stay at the Porto Mare.

The hotel is well situated with plenty of places to walk to, we made the walk to and from Funchal which taking it steady was no problem.

We were very well looked after by the staff at the hotel and would have no problem in recommending it.

Just a breif message to Madeira as a whole - turn the aircon up a few notches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandCEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the review about Porto Mare hotel stay shared on tripadvisor.
It is rewarding to know that you took a positive impression of our hotel services and facilities.

Regarding the areas without sun umbrellas, please take good note that we are talking about limited garden grass areas where the use of sun umbrellas could damage the grass itself and the subterranean watering system.
Looking forward to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just a few little failings that this hotel as compared to the majority of 4/5 star hotels we have stayed in.Hotel itself is spotlessly clean,the rooms are very good with a large bed, plasma TV,tea/coffee making facilities,bathrobes etc.The staff are excellent and very courteous.
The failings of the hotel are the cats that prowl around the restaurant veranda area whilst you are eating that are constantly being fed by people,cats also seen urinating up against plant pots in the indoor pool area.If you have a bottle of wine with your meal,unless you finish it you have to take it back to your room till the next day.Too many beds around the pool area(the tendency is for the Eden Mar residents to use the Porto Mare pool area)so the pool staff bring beds up from the Eden Mar and fit them in where they can.Our second week the pool staff did actually clear the excess beds so room to breathe,and the gardeners strimming grass only feet away from sunbeds people are occupying,no chairs around the pool area only sunbeds(with no mattresses)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick_g_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about you holiday at Porto Mare hotel.
I regret to know that we were not able to meet all your expectations.

Regarding the cats issue I can only inform you that the animals do not belong to the hotel and it has been quite difficult to solve the situation but we are trying to do so.

Regarding the issue sun beds, last summer it was one of the hottest one of the last years and we did feel a bit more pressure around the swimming pool area. We promise good attention to this point.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Everything at the Porto Mare is excellent, we stayed 10 nights at the end of September and could not fault a thing, as others have said this could be 5 star not 4.
Even though there are 3 hotels in the complex you where made to feel very special by all the staff.
The gardens are very spacious and attractive with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas.
We could find only one thing to complain about and that was the weather (but nobody can do anything about a bit of rain) apparently this was the first rain since December,but it was still nice and hot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayrichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about you holiday at Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that you had such a good time with us.
As you mentioned the weather is something out of our control and in fact we need a bit more rain as we did not have many during the last months ( for future visits we will make a deal with the “weather man” so we can have some rain only during the night!)

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Many people make return visits to the beautiful island of Madeira. 15 to 20 years in succession is not unusual. Up to 30% return to this paradise of a hotel. Rooms are huge, spotless and well maintained. Breakfast choice is as varied as I have had anywhere. There are many places to visit in Madeira or just chill by one of the pools or on your own balcony. This holiday particularly suits older travellers. The island is quiet and tranquil with the myriad of restaurants the main evening entertainment. UK visitors should find it good value for money, not just because of the exchange rate with the euro but because bars, supermarkets and restaurants used by locals are extremely good value. Finally the weather was superb 29 degrees by day and 23 degrees by night. All rooms have very good air con.

Room Tip: Ask for afternoon sun. Higher rooms are in demand but ask anyway. If you've been before suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 696lesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback and thoughts about your visit to Madeira. Yes as you mention there is a large number of visitors that comes to Madeira since many years ago and our hotel in particular in certain periods of the year runs with a very, very high number of repeated guests which we really appreciate and are truly thankful.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,814 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing