We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Repeat visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Many people make return visits to the beautiful island of Madeira. 15 to 20 years in succession is not unusual. Up to 30% return to this paradise of a hotel. Rooms are huge, spotless and well maintained. Breakfast choice is as varied as I have had anywhere. There are many places to visit in Madeira or just chill by one of the pools or on your own balcony. This holiday particularly suits older travellers. The island is quiet and tranquil with the myriad of restaurants the main evening entertainment. UK visitors should find it good value for money, not just because of the exchange rate with the euro but because bars, supermarkets and restaurants used by locals are extremely good value. Finally the weather was superb 29 degrees by day and 23 degrees by night. All rooms have very good air con.

Room Tip: Ask for afternoon sun. Higher rooms are in demand but ask anyway. If you've been before suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 696lesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback and thoughts about your visit to Madeira. Yes as you mention there is a large number of visitors that comes to Madeira since many years ago and our hotel in particular in certain periods of the year runs with a very, very high number of repeated guests which we really appreciate and are truly thankful.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,500
    384
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
367
1,272
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent a magnificent two week holiday based at the Porto Mar Hotel: it was the finest accommodation I have had on a package holiday, meriting 5 stars rather than just 4. I had a very large room with the most comfortable bed I have slept in: the food was very good, with a magnificent choice of fresh fruit at breakfast time. The grounds were very attractive with plenty of sunbathing space, including a quiet terrace away from the busy-ness of the pool areas, and where parasols are banned. i was treated to an interesting, unpressured tour of the time share part of the hotel, The Residence, and given a voucher, in exchange, for 50 euros off my bar bill. I was very tempted to take one. I hope to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantabile_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

It is rewarding to know that you had such a positive holiday experience with us. Happy to learn that you profited from the facilities and hotel grounds and sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Madeira and this hotel did not disappoint. The room and pool area was kept spotless throught our stay. The room was very spacious with everything you need and the buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices, one of us is vegetarian and was well catered for. We loved the location with great views over the pool and sea and it wasn't too far to walk into Funchal for us so, discovered a love of cocktails in the hotel that was hard to give up when we returned.

Room Tip: Book sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your kind review about Porto Mare hotel shared on tripadvisor. I am really glad to know that you had a positive first visit to Madeira and therefore hope to see you around soon for a second one.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my third visit to Porto Mare and I have another week coming up next month.
That speaks volumes in my world.
Every single thing about Porto Mare is just excellent. There is nothing I can fault.
From check in to check out - everything ticks all the boxes.
In no particular order the things I love about this hotel is as follows:-
The Beds!!! - Soooo comfy and large
The Rooms - Spacious and nicely furnished and of course, the fridge and coffee/tea making facilities
Cleanliness - Everything completed as one would expect. No complaints
Breakfast - Superb. Where else can you get a Bucks Fizz with your meal? The Pasteis de Nata are my very favourite, even though you could have 101 other items!
Restaurant Med - Top quality food of the type you get in 'Rosette' restaurants
Pool and Pool area, sunbeds and parasols - Excellent and ample
Pool Bar - service and food excellent
Happy Hour - (and a half) Lovely cocktails at a very reasonable price
WiFI - lots of places to access
As a Prestige Member I enjoy 10% off all Bar prices
Transfers from and to airport very reasonably priced.
All staff very willing and efficient regardless of which area they work in
Fantastic gardens and grounds, beautiful flowers
What more can I say?
Roll on the next 4 weeks until I can once again enjoy this fantastic hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magzelliott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review shared on tripadvisor about you recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.
I am very happy to know that you had another pleasant stay with us.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My second visit to the Porto Mare (two weeks this time). It's a lovely hotel,with beautiful gardens, great pools and entertainment and lots of space, conveniently situated for visiting Funchal and not too far to the local shops, bars. The accommodation is lovely, so are all the staff, who couldn't have been more helpful, including the waitresses and the girls who tidied our room. Absolutely nothing to complain about whatsoever except the holiday coming to an end and having to return to the UK. An added bonus was the lovely hot weather we had for the full two weeks 3-17 Sept. Will definitely recommend to friends and family and will definitely be returning very soon.

Room Tip: I'm not telling as I would like the same room I had for the last two visits .................
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA DAPHNE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another “absolutely lovely” feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel

Really happy to know that you had a good time with us and hope to see you around soon,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in the Porto Mare Hotel in Madeira three weeks ago. This was our first holiday there and we will certainly be returning. Couldn't fault a thing. The hotel was fabulous. As it was part of the Residence and the Eden Mar you could use the facilities in them all. This meant 5 pools and numerous restaurants.

The gardens were beautiful and the hotel and staff in there were second to none. Can't rate it highly enough. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “excellent” review about your stay at Porto Mare hotel and shared on tripadvisor for which we also thank you
Glad to know that it was not you r last visit and really hope to meet you in our property in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rillaar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

i'll be back in a few months, i really enjoyd my stay in this very beautiful hotel. Very friendly staff and the food, the spa, the garden everything splendid.. Really the best i have had for years :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firmin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short feedback to say thank you for giving us feedback about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel


Sincerely hope to meet you on a future visit

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing