We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at porta mare hotel in november 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“stay at porta mare hotel in november 2011”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Went with my parents . We had beautiful
superior sea view rooms. Food choice was good. i really liked the art work around the hotel.
The sculptured veg and fruit was superb and looked lovely in the restaurant.
We requested an ironing board which was brought straight away. nothing was too much trouble. can not wait to go back. staff where lovely

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 186356Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review posted on tripadvisor about your stay in Porto Mare hotel.
I am really happy to know that you had a nice holiday break with us and took profit of some of the activities we do organize in Vila Porto Mare

Hope to welcome soon,
Best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    384
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
364
1,270
57
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlethen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed in the Porto Mare hotel and this was our 3rd stay at this hotel. Staff are so friendlty and helpful, special mention to Cecila on the Eden Mar Reception and to Sindy who looked after us and our 6 year old daughter so well. As it was my Birthday whilst on holiday we were give a bottle of fizz and a Chocolate Birthday cake by the hotel - yum! We did the Christmas ligth tour of funchal at night (cost 7 euro's each) which was nice to see funchal lit up, bus stopped at 2 viewing points to take photos and on return you were offered hot chocolate or mulled wine and ginger biscuits, very nice.

Best food in the hotel for evening meal is the Med Restaurante and the itallian Il Basilico, (approx £16 euros for Chicken main meal). Also enjoyed drinks at the pool bar during the day.

Also outside the hotel if you head uptowards Joe's Bottle stall just next door on same side of road is a restaurant that does Steak on a Stone which is the best steak ever, think it's called Solar D'Ajuda but door is next to Joe's Bottle stall and you go in door and down a few steps to get in.

I think this hotel is great and would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all “FELIZ ANO NOVO” and thank you so much for your loyalty to Porto Mare hotel.
Thank you also for your review, giving us and to so many other holiday makers a view of what they can find during such a special festivity period.
We are glad that you profited from the different activities we do organize at Vila Porto Mare, X-mas light tour is one of the “specials” of this period. In our website you can find other activities we do organize during the year.

Hope to welcome soon,

Best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We have returned several times to holiday at the Porto Mare Resort since 2005, always booking to stay in a junior suite in the Suite Hotel Eden Mar (part of the 3 hotel complex), preferring a higher floor in the east wing which gives spectacular afternoon and sunset views over the ocean.
This year we booked early (with First Choice / Thomson) and arrived for a 2 week stay on 5th December but were told on arrival that the hotel was fully booked and we were offered a suite in the Porto Mare Hotel next door. Naturally we were unhappy that we were not informed beforehand especially as we had booked at least six months ahead and had e.mailed the hotel a couple of days before arrival to check that the travel operator had passed on our preference. From the Monday of the second week we were there it was apparent that a lot of the junior suites in the east wing of the Eden Mar Hotel were undergoing major maintenance work and there was noise from the drilling work so we were glad we had been moved to the Porto Mare Hotel. We have voiced our disappointment with the Thomson rep and are thinking of booking direct with the hotel next time.
WE WOULD LIKE TO MAKE A SPECIAL MENTION AND BIG THANK YOU TO DENISE AND SOPHIE, HOTEL RECEPTIONISTS, ESPECIALLY DENISE WHO WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO SORT OUT A COUPLE OF ISSUES FOR US AND ANSWERED ALL OUR QUESTIONS.
As it turned out we were lucky enough to be moved to a very spacious updated top floor one bedroom suite (room 2528) in the Porto Mare Hotel. The bedroom and living/dining/kitchen room were large, well equipped with flat screen TVs, DVD player, fridge, halogen hob, microwave oven and there were 2 good sized bathrooms and a seperate shower cubicle. This hotel complex is well run and kept very clean. It has a very relaxing atmosphere. All the staff are curteous and polite at all times. It deserves 5 star status and the fact that people return again and again for holidays shows it is one of the best on Madeira.
The hotel complex is well served with restaurants and local shops. The promenade walk starts from the front of the hotel to Praia Formosa and the walk down to Funchal is easy and interesting especially in an evening when the Christmas lights are on (from the second week of December). There is a free curtesy bus into town and back and plenty of local buses.
Excursions: This time we took a trip to the Sao Vincente caves in a minicab with 2 other people. The driver was local and very informative - it was far better than going with a lot of people in a coach - well recommended. We also took a trip to the Nuns Valley where the refreshing mountain air (and great views) was welcomed as the temperature throughout our holiday was around 24 degrees. Maderia is an all year round destination and the weather is usually good. It is worth touring round Madeira and Porto Santo on various trips. The cable car rides are also a must. Bear in mind that in some places there are cobbled paths and roads, plus there are steps to negotiate, difficult to navigate with prams and wheelchairs. Acessibilty is improving all the time in Madeira so please don't be put off visiting. The local people rely on tourism and they are such lovely genuine people they deserve our support.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view rooms are the best - be sure to ask if there is a kitchenette in the room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

Let me start by wishing you “FELIZ ANO NOVO” and thank you for your review.

I apologize for the inconvenience of being moved to Porto Mare. In fact it is our total responsibility and not Thomson, for the miss information. For safety reasons requirements we had to do those maintenance works. In spite of it I am really happy to know that in the end you had another positive stay .
Also thank you for the public praise of two of my team colleagues. They will be proud for the recognition.

Hope to welcome soon,

Best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Porto Mare for a week in September 2011.
We found the facilities, staff, cleanliness and food all excellent.
The accomodation was comfortable, quiet and extremely well kept.
The only very minor thing that we found was that there was no milk provided in the rooms for tea and coffee making, but this wasn't a problem to us.
Overall we would highly recommend staying at the hotel.
We plan visiting some of the sister hotels in the future as a result of our stay at the Porto Mare.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austeraop5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay in Porto Mare hotel and to let us know that overall you had a positive experience.
Please do not hesitate to contact if I can be any help for future holidays in any of Porto Bay hotels.

Hope to welcome soon,

Best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We have been coming to Madeira for 15 years now. Started off at the sister hotel Eden Mar. Moving on to Porto Mare when it was built. It is a lovely hotel, fantastic rooms, good furnishings, a beautiful garden and wonderful staff. many of the staff have become good friends. The hotel is situated well and is about 25 minute walk into the old town. The restaurants within the hotel are good and breakfast is very good.We will going again twice in 2012. Now the but......some of the entertainment is dire, especially in the Porto Fino bar.
I know the singing duo's set inside out. They have been there since we first started using the hotel and I don't think they have learnt a new song in all those years!
If only the managment would give them a few nights off a week, us and a few more people might us the bar. Apart from that Porto Mare is great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stewardess1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying in our hotel so many times. Thank you for your opinion shared with so many other holiday makers.
In fact the specific duo is not playing all the evenings in the Portofino bar and we will do our best to find other quality musicians to replace them in another evening.
Take the opportunity to inform you that in the bar Oceano we do have other musicians and different type of music.

Really hope to meet you in a soonest visit

Best regards,
Muito obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the Porto Mare and quite frankly cannot think of a better hotel we have ever visited! This year we booked a basic garden room and even then weren't disappointed! Although you have no view of the pool or sea the room was beautifully furnished, spacious, clean etc as all the rooms are and we had a private terrace which was not overlooked . Being on the gound floor there is a gate which gives direct access to the gardens and pool etc and if you were visiting with a young family or had mobility issues would be ideal. (2057). The reception staff were as helpful and kind as ever and upgraded us to a beautiful sea view room for part of the week so we had the best of both worlds!.What we realised was that it doesn't matter where you stay in the hotel as every room is a good room.
Everyone in the hotel is there to make your stay a happy and relaxed one. We were pleased to see so many of the same staff as previous years and without exception they seem to enjoy their jobs and this means that the atmosphere in the hotel is warm and welcoming so unlike some of the 5 star huge hotel in Madeira that feel like you are walking into a clinical research facility!
This year we visited out usual haunts such as Tony's wonderful restaurant O Chef and Steak on the Stone. We were recommended the restaurant that looks like a ship on the main road into Funchal and it was a real disappointment as the soup was packet and service was poor! Just shows if you find somewhere you like stick to it!!!
We were also very pleasantly surprised by the Al a Carte Restaurant in the hotel. The food was absolutely superb and service second to none. We have always avoided hotel food as it is perceived to be overpriced and often bland. This was not the case here and it was probably the best meal we had all holiday! the prices were reasonable and the setting lovely. it is quite strange in Madeira to have space between the tables and it was a nice change to feel we were on our own rather than having to whisper if you don't want your neighbours joining in on your converstaion!!!! We will certainly be visiting the restaurant next time if more than once and would urge you to give it a try! We also had a 25% voucher off the wine which helped!!!
We met the manager of the hotel, Antonio, at a drinks reception for those who have visited the hotel before. It is clear that he loves the hotel and his attention to detail and care for the guest and his staff was obvious and it was refreshing to see the "back room" staff epxosed to questions from guests. Everyone seems happy to be there and I am not surprised.
The weather was surprisingly good for late November and looked as if it was going to continue though the evenings can be chilly.
Thank you for making our visit as memorable as ever and we can't wait for our next visit.
If you are thinking of a holiday in Madeiraand want a hotel that surpasses any 5 star you might think will offer better accomodation and service think again and stay at the Porto Mare and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WalesLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

First off all thank you for your loyalty to Port Mare hotel.
Also thank you for the nice review about you r holiday experience and it is lovely to see that you had a very positive stay.
Really hope to welcome you soon,

FELIZ NATAL.
With warm regards,

Muito obrigado
AP
. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to Madeira, staying this time at the wonderful Porto Mare Hotel. We had stayed at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel last year and while we were wandering, came across the Porto Mare. Our first impressions were very positive and vowed that if we were lucky enough to return, the Porto Mare would be our preferred choice, so that we could uncover what the "hotel zone" had to offer.
Again, we booked with Thomsons, and the service we recieved prior to and during our stay was excellent. A special mention to Paula, the Thomson rep for our Hotel - very knowledgable and nothing at all was too much trouble.
The hotel is a fairly new with bright, airy and spotlessly clean public areas in a building that surrounds a pretty tropical garden with a couple of pools, small aviary with cockatiels and budgies and there are amazing views out over the Atlantic ocean.
When we booked we had specified a sea view room and would have been happy to take a room on a higher floor. We got exactly that - the 3rd floor looking slightly south west with views over the gardens and the ocean. The room was very large and clean (housekeeping was of a high standard), and even with 2 queen beds, there was still more than enough room to move around. For a small deposit we used the in room safe and there was a small fridge that we made use of for storing drinks.
We ate buffet breakfast every morning in the Atlantida restaurant, and found the choice and quality of the food very good. One morning we required early breakfast as we were going to Porto Santos Island. We advised reception and continental breakfast was provided in the small area just outside the restaurant. We only ate dinner once in the hotel. It was also a buffet and the choice was very good, although some of the vegetable side dishes could have been a bit warmer, however that in no way detracted from our opinion of the hotel at all. There are numerous restaurants and take aways around the hotel to try, hence only eating dinner once in the hotel.
We walked into Funchal centre on a couple of occasions, and found that it took around 30 to 40 mins gentle stroll. We also wandered along the promenade in front of the Porto Mare in the opposite direction towards Camera De Lobos, stopping at the Magic Tearoom close to the Pestana, for a cuppa and slice of cake
Any of the staff that we had dealings with were polite and curteous and were very happy to chat, often giving useful tips on the surrounding area. The staff are a credit to the management, promoting a very positive image of the Porto Mare Hotel.
As we enjoyed our (short) time in Madeira so much (even the weather was kind to us), our intention is to return same time next year to the Porto Mare, We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough,

Room Tip: Ask for a sea/superior sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is very rewarding to know that we were able to fulfill your holiday expectations and probably due to that you are already thinking about a second visit…THANK YOU
Also thank you for sharing your opinion with so many other visitors of Madeira.
I really hope to meet you on a future visit to Porto Mare hotel.

FELIZ NATAL.
With warm regards,

Muito obrigado
AP
. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Property: Porto Mare Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Porto Mare Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing