We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful staff, every one helpful, friendly, cheerful and efficient.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful staff, every one helpful, friendly, cheerful and efficient.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a small hotel, I think around 57 rooms, so obviously it doesn't have acres of marble reception rooms. The terrace is lovely to sit out on with amazing views. Even in January we sat out for breakfast with the staff bustling around to make sure tables were set up for anyone wanting to eat outside. We loved having our tea and coffee served by the staff in proper teapots with hot water jug. We loathe self service tea and coffee. I am an insomniac and our room was on the corner, it wasn't really noisy but I was worried, so the reception swopped all the bookings around and we were given a room facing the sea without the slightest chance of any noise unless there was a tsunami. The breakfasts were really good, we didn't eat in at night as we wanted to try the restaurants in Funchal. In our opinion this is the best "value for money" hotel we have been in for a long time. Garry & Maggie Allden Cornwall UK

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlldenCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Allden,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Regency Cliff. We had the chance to speak several times during your stay and I was very happy to learn that you are considering returning to Madeira and to our hotel in a very near future.
I once again thank you for sharing your opinion. We all hope to see you back very soon,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    251
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
112
748
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

My mother and I recently spent a week at this hotel. We had individual rooms but with an interconnecting door which made it more like a 2 bed/2 bath apartment. All rooms have a sea view. The hotel is relatively small - only 59 rooms I believe, and so it was quiet and as it did not appear to be full, it felt like you had individual attention from the staff. The hotel is about 3 km from the centre of Funchal but the local bus stop is just outside with buses running about every 10 -15 munutes to Funchal, less frequent to other destinations. Shops and a supermarket just across the road. I even ventured to have my hair cut. We took half board - extensive buffet at breakfast and buffet/table d'hote for evening meals. Food was very good both in quality and quantity and tasted much better than the menu description might lead you to believe. Being winter time, I had the indoor pool and steam room to myself most of the week and yes- they would put the steam room on just for me when I wanted it. Nothing seems to be any trouble for the staff of this hotel and I would hope that it is the same at the height of the season. Having stayed at other hotels on the island at greater cost , this hotel offered everything that they did.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie499507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor readers your opinion about our hotel and Staff.
It is always with great delight that we acknowledge that we managed to exceed our guest’s expectations.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Had a lovely week staying at this hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. The room spacious, clean and wonderful view overlooking the sea. Beds and towels changed daily, although towels on the hard side.
Food was very good at breakfast, only ate in restaurant one evening as like to try different places and food, but good. Seats in restaurant very uncomfortable, needed to be padded more as could only feel the hard wood surround, even though looked very chic. Happy hour was good especially the cocktails, (can recommend the Unforgetable)
Good bus service outside the hotel, including the open top ones and plenty of taxi's up the road.
Good selection of restaurants with atmosphere along small road up from the cablecar along seafront of Funchal. Highly recommend.
A lovely island, nice and friendly people with plenty to see and do. Recommend a car if like to see the many wonderful views from high in the mountains. A visit to the market in central Funchal is a must, lots of beautiful flowers, vegetables, fish and some crafts.
Afternoon tea at Reids is a nice way to relax one afternoon. Scones are superb. If you like Orchids visit the Orchid Gardens, some lovely species. Try bringing one home to grow!! I have plus other plants. Bird of Paradise seeds take about 7-8years to grow and flower.
Look forward to returning another winter to escape the dull wet cold weather here in England.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank february6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Regency Cliff with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to learn that we fulfilled your expectations and that you are already considering a return trip to our Island and to our hotel.
We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have just returned from our 6th visit to this wonderful hotel (january 2011) it never fails to please, from all of the staff going out of their way to please you to the hotel being spotless nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast will not fail to please there is everything you could wish for from hot cooked breakfast to cereal, fresh fruits, cooked meats etc, etc. The dinner times have various theme nights to full ala carteThe hotel rooms are a very reasonable size with all rooms having a full ocean view and a change of bed linen and towels every day should you require. This really is a gem of a hotel in the middle of the atlantic that should not be missed. We will be booking a further holiday their in October this year and again in January next year.
Regards
Bill&Marie Carden

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billygoat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Carden,

It was with great delight that I read your review. I would like to thank you for your kind comments and for your continued preference for Regency Cliff. I will certainly share review with whole Team.
We all look forward to welcoming you next October, for your 7th visit.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Very good almost all. Quiet place, big and clean room, balcony with table and chairs, great ocean`s view, very good sheets, very good breakfast, helpfull staff, free shattle to/from downtown twice a day. Not good: Ventillation in bathroom works bad. Flat TV too far away from a bed or too small. To say the truth, for me it was nothing, i didn`t want to watch it, but for my friends it wasn`t good . Bed. There were 2 single beds staying together and i falled twice between them during... mmm... i was with my wife, so, i think, you can understand, what i mean :-).
And it would be nice, if hotel`ll have heating pool next time.
In any case, i can recommended the hotel to all people for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We value all comments and observations of our guests, as we believe it is the only way we can improve and maintain our service.
Regarding the two single beds we would like to inform that we have a few rooms with king size beds that are available for all of our guests on request. Both Swimming pools are heated, but unfortunately we had for 4 days a problem that is at the moment sorted.
We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Leicester England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

Having stayed at The Regency Cliff five times we recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a hotel that is excellent in every respect. Everyone of the staff are there to look after your every wish. They are friendly and interested in ensuring that you are really cared for in all ways for the whole of your stay. The cuisine is excellent and varied with a theme for each evening which will satisfy all tastes and the meal deals are real value. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and represent excellent value for money. This is a hotel that will suit all tastes at ant time of the year and is situated with easy access to the centre of Funchal either on foot, by courtesy or public bus and an inexpensive taxi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that the Team of Regency Cliff welcomed you for the 5th time. We are glad that once again we fulfilled your expectations. We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers.
We all look forward to welcoming in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon-Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

It surpassed my best expectations. Being a 4-star, it does offer details I havent seen in quite a few 5-star. At leat in premium rooms, such as the one we're staying, they have things like a Nespresso coffee machine, a DVD player or a trousers press, on top of the water heater for a tea. Its clean, with a great sea view and at least a varanda (again, our room had two because it was a corner room), a rather spacious room. Wi Fi worked perfectly, signal ranging between 66 and 99% and it is free. Staff and service was good, everyone was extremely nice, particularly to our one year old baby. Breakfast's fine, just had a meal in the restaurant which was great. all in all I do consider it to be a great choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBPORTUGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. We are delighted acknowledge that we exceed your expectations.
We would like to inform all Trip Advisor readers that although all rooms have coffee and tea making facilities, the Nespresso is only available in our Suites and Jr. Suites. The same applies to the DVD player and trouser press.
Once again we thank you for sharing you experience at Regency Cliff and hope to welcome you in a near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing