We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week break at the Regency Cliff and overall there are few negatives to report. All the rooms have Sea views, but the Premium rooms offer two balconies so you get the benefit of both sunrise and sunset. We had a Superior room on the 3rd floor, which was both generous in size and comfortable.
The breakfast offered is excellent with plenty of variety for all tastes.
We prefer to eat out at night so only had one meal in the hotel, but again this was excellent and at least equal the meals we had out.
The pool area is only small, but we never had an issue getting a sunbed. I think most visitors tend to be out for the day. One downside around the pool are the pigeons which seem to make this a regular stop off point. This did put me off the pool somewhat.
All the staff we came across were friendly and only too willing to help.
The hotel is a way out of Funchal and you will need to book the shuttle (actually Taxis) as places are limited. There are however plenty of restaurants nearby and a shopping centre across the road. Taxi fares around 7Euro for the odd trip to or from Funchal.
One thing to bear in mind, June can be quite cloudy so if you crave the Sun study the weather charts before booking.

Room Tip: Premium rooms have two balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyd your second stay.

We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Madeira Regency Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel is a 4 star and hence my average rating. Would it be a 3 star hotel my rating would be higher.
Nothing to say about the room. Large, extremely comfortable and a great view over the ocean.
If there would be a separate rating for the staff I would rate 5 stars.
However it is a 4 star hotel without room service available

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which had our best attention. We are very glad to learn that you were pleased with our Staff. Regarding the Room Service we would like to inform that it is available for breakfast from 07h30 till 10h30.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Regency Cliff is a small hotel -around 50 rooms - situated about 4 km from the centre of Funchal. This was our first stay and we will be back!
We had a Superior room, which was a generous size, with a balcony with views of the bay. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine too, We were on floor two which was fine although the next floor down would have been level with the outside swimming pool and probably less private when using the balcony.
My wife and I had half board and ate in the hotel every evening. The restaurant was on the top floor with stunning views and provided inside and outside seating. With the glorious weather we ate outside every night and that really added to our holiday experience. Some meals were waiter served while on other nights there was a buffet. The latter offered more choice but our preference was for the waiter service evenings. The food was good; not a real "foodie" experience but enjoyable all the same and in 9 days we didn't have a "meal to forget". Three nights a week live music is provided over dinner which added to the ambience.
A lot of guests opted to walk into Funchal to eat and there are lots of restaurants nearby by all accounts. We prefer to change and eat in and will do the same next year. One downside was that some guests were "tidy casual" for dinner and some came along in shorts and tee shirts. We are a bit old fashioned and think people ought to make the effort and perhaps the hotel should introduce a dress code for the restaurant.
The outside swimming pool is quite small (circular) but has plenty of loungers and sun shades. Elsewhere there were comfortable seats in a small gargen area by the side of the restaurant, but these lacked shade, I guess the problem at that height (floor 6) is that small sun shades would be vulnerable to the wind. There is an inside pool too I believe, but we didn't venture there.
The staff at this hotel were friendly and cheerful and very welcoming. I wouldn't want to mention any by name but the three ladies in the bar/restaurant were charming and always had a smile. On evening a bedside bulb in our room blew and the receptionist went out of her way to find a bulb in the maintenance workshop and fit it. That was excellent service and probably beyond the call of duty for the average reception staff.
Wi-fi is free but a bit weak on the lower floors.
The hotel provide a taxi service to and from the town several times a day although I believe this is limited to 8 people. We walked (about 45 minutes) or used the excellent bus service. It is a relatively long way into town but saying that all the guests we spoke to tackled it quite happily. An opportunity to see the local cats (all very contented looking) and to count the lizards!
Our rating for the hotel is judged against its price. It is extremely good value for money and considerably cheaper than hotels we have stayed in in Italy which provided a lesser standard.
The Madeiran people are friendly, polite, stop for you at crossings, give up seats on the bus.
All just added to an excellent holiday!

Room Tip: Go for high rooms! The hotel has its reception on the top (6th) floor, which is road level.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn that you had an excellent holiday at Madeira and that you were pleased with our hotel.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Perched on the cliff edge, this hotel has dramatic, uninterrupted views of the ocean which can't fail to impress and are its strongest feature. If you are lucky enough to secure a premium room you will have views in two directions each with a small, private balcony where you can relax and enjoy a drink in a delightful setting.

Our spacious room came with free wifi (usable on one side of the room only) and breakfast, which comprised a decent selection of fruit, cereals and bread, cold meats and cheeses, plus scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Across the road are a few shops and restaurants and the Forum shopping mall with cinema and supermarket is less than 5 minutes' walk. There is a very convenient bus stop with a frequent service into Funchal nearby.

If you are hiring a car do note that there is very limited parking at the hotel, but you can park in the blue spaces on the opposite side of the road for 50 cents per hour (charged from 0800-2000).

A couple of minor gripes - at check-in you are presented with the remote controls for both the aircon and the TV in your room - why? Now you have to carry those to the room as well as your luggage and room key etc. When you get to the room you will find that the safe has no lock. Another trip back to reception to get a cylinder lock for which you are requested to pay both a deposit and a daily charge. The safe is too small to hold a laptop computer. Even a tablet would be a challenge. These points should be addressed by management to help make a very good hotel even better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innspectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, which had our best attention. We value all comments and suggestions of our guests as we believe it is the only way we can maintain and improve our services when needed.

We are sorry to hear that you were not 100% pleased with our services but glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time on the Island and we chose the Madeira Regency Cliff because of it's excellent rating on Trip Advisor. And we didn't get disappointet! It's a pitty that Madeira with it's beautiful panorama doesn't give you the chance to enjoy the amenities of the hotel in detail. The rooms offer a great view over the ocean and the terrace, where you can enjoy the breakfast, is breathtaking. Though they could become better concercing breakfast: coffee is like tea, scrambled egg is too liquid, nearly raw and bread tastes like it's from the day before. Also parking spaces are rare. Never the less, we would recommend the hotel to our friends and stay there again next time coming up to Madeira.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Cocojelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that overall you pleased with your stay at Madeira Regency cliff and that you will return.

We all look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to Madeira. The Regency Cliff had been recommended to us and we are very happy to recommend to anyone looking for a small and quiet hotel. The service of all the staff from front of house, catering and cleaning was excellent. They are always friendly and cheerful, Although we had booked bed and breakfast we ate several meals in the hotel and were pleased with them all. A truly super holiday which we will be repeating ...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that our hotel was recommended and that we managed to fulfill your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any assistance when planning your next visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is absolutely excellent value. We arrived early and our room was not ready for an hour. This was not a problem. We sat outside, gazed at the Atlantic Ocean and enjoyed two excellent coffees - these cost €3.5 in a hotel! When our room was ready - we did upgrade - it was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean, welcoming, a large balcony, comfortable beds and a good bathroom. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in the room together with a fridge and air con. The furniture on our balcony was extremely high quality and consisted of two large, comfortable chairs (willow effect) with cushions and a matching glass topped table. We were very pleased.

We travelled early in the morning and really did not want to go out so we decided to eat at the hotel. A good choice. The food was excellent! We ate here 5 times and on not one single occasion were we disappointed. The barman remembered our drinks from the second time - impressive. The service was excellent.

The receptionist is more than helpful and she certainly does go the extra mile. She recommended an excellent fish restaurant to us and reserved our table and also reserved a table for us at Reid's Palace Hotel for afternoon tea. Both were excellent.

We also visited the Botanical Gardens - wonderful. The cable car trip up and down was breath taking a great way to see Madeira. I wasn't brave enough to take the toboggan down but I would when we visit again - and we will - and we shall stay at the Regency Cliff.

Breakfast is certainly worth getting up for. I really do not know what more they could offer you. There are several kinds of bread, several varieties of rolls and cakes, sweet pastries, boiled eggs, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, hash browns, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, cheeses, cooked meats, fresh fruits, fruit juices, tea and coffee, yogurts (some were home made and delicious). You could not ask for more. The service was excellent and the staff were so helpful, polite and welcoming.

The only thing which we felt let this hotel down was the fact that they allowed men in to dinner wearing shorts. If they were to have a dress code for dinner there would not be one criticism from us.

This was a truly enjoyable week and we cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade. You will get a larger room and far nicer furniture on a larger balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed your holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $105 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing