We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here we are again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel, our second visit, we enjoyed it so much last year we decided to return.
When I booked up for this year I upgraded to a Junior Suite as we are were celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary, my wife was unaware of the upgrade until we went to the room only to find Bottle of Champagne on ice with the best wishes of Management and Staff.
The room was first class , two balcony’s one facing east towards Funchal and the other facing south with view of Atlantic. If you are celebrating a big occasion we would recommend you try this.
The staff recognised us and made us very welcome and in truth played a big part during our stay to make it memorable one, which we appreciated from our now old friends Neilio,Magda,Cio and Edgar. We know we should not mention individuals but they made our holiday always cheerful and always busy.
Also thanks to Iolanda Fernades (General Manager) for her wonderful hospitality and it was a pleasure to return to her Hotel.

We ate in at Hotel every night and never went hungry the selection was in our opinion excellent, the breakfast was a large varied spread if anyone went hungry its was there own fault.
As other visitors have reported its position makes it an ideal base to explore the island. My wife has limited mobility so we didn’t do Lavader walks, but the City Tour Bus 12 Euros each enabled us to see all the main sights and Gardens as you can get off and on were you like and it takes 1 hour 30 Minutes to do complete circuit, tickets valid 24hrs.and courtesy transport to Funchal is good we always found our own way back to Hotel taxi from Funchal 6/7 euros.
We will without a doubt return.

Room Tip: If you have a special celebration upgrade to Junior Suite 2/3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miketrish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment which I have shared with the whole Team. We are delighted to acknowledge that you enjoyed your 2nd vist in our hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was my second time in Madeira and I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. We had a great clean room with a wonderful view of the sea. I suggest you have dinner at least once at the hotel and make sure to have a drink afterwards on the deck and appreciate the wonderful view. The Hotel is 2 min away from a shopping mall and only 10 min away from the city center.
Overall it was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday, once again.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so perhaps I / we are harder to please than most, but firstly this is not a boutique hotel; it is almost there but our bathroom certainly cannot be described in that class; dated fittings, tiny bath towels and poor complimentary shampoo / shower gell. The one dinner we had was well below all the others we had in the week. The positives are large rooms, very clean throughout, good breakfast and helpful staff. Two other small downsides; the courtesy service in to town is only for 8 in total, so you could be unlucky, and although it is only 5 mins in to town by taxi, that ride is €10 or a 45 min walk, which we were beginning to tire of once or twice a day

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are sorry to learn that you were not completely pleased with all our services and for this we apologize.

We hope to have the opportunity to do better in the future. We sincerely hope to see you back.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 4 friends from our walking group. We all had rooms with excellent sea views from the balconies. Breakfast was very good although there only seemed to be skimmed milk available for cereals. Dinner was very good quality but sometimes the choice was a bit limited, for example on one evening there were just various fish dishes and duck on offer. All the staff were very helpful and they spoke very good English. I liked it so much that I am taking my wife back later this year. We spoke to a couple that keep returning year after year so that tells you something.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms have a sea view and unusually most of them are below reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicksotaman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about Regency Cliff. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you are planning to return this year.

We all look forward to welcome you,

With Kind Regard
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this hotel can't do enough for you. It is spotlessly clean the rooms all have an amazing view over the ocean. The location is nice and peaceful just outside the hustle and bustle of Funchal. Only booked bed and breakfast and this was very pleasant with lots of choice and always eaten outside. A few niggly negatives. The two swimming pools were small. The lighting in the room was very poor and no shelves in bathroom. Overall a lovely hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrjayjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased to learn that overall you had a nice holiday.

We hope to see you back in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just had another 10days at this Hotel the hotel is always trying to make the comfort of the guests more pleasant each time I visit I feel sure that each visit has reached perfection and each time I am amazed at what they are achieving. needless to say we had a fantastic time and will be back again hopefully again this year. All Staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: Front of Hotel will give total sea view, Side will give you a sea and coastal view towards Funchal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and are already pleanning your next trip.

We thank you for your preference and loyalty.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just returned from another 2week stay in this lovely hotel,and as usual we were checked in promptly an d our baggage taken to our room.
Our room was exactly the same as last year roomy and with a view looking across to Funchal .We only had breakfast in the hotel,but this was very good with plenty of choice and nice hot coffee.
we did have a few set backs firstly our room was cleaned very late2-3pmwhich is a bit difficult when you want to have a siesta so we went to reception to request that the room be done by 1pm
this did happen for a couple of mornings but then went back to late again so we put up with it.
Secondly the lighting in the bathroom is poor but a previous review said their bathroom had new brighter lights so perhaps our room has not been upgraded yet.
A major problem at the moment which is out of the hotels control is massive development going on at the lido below the hotel which meant drilling and banging all day from 8am-6pm some afternoons we had to close the doors to the balcony it was so bad.But one good thing they do not seem to work Saturdays and sundays so we got a little respite.Hopefully when we return next year it will be all finished.
This is my 3rd review of this hotel and all the staff are just as good as they have ever been,in fact we think this is why we keep coming back they are always smiling and make you feel most welcome.
We are already planning our next years visit.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms on pool level so may have people walking past your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday in our hotel.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $110 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing