We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem - and not just for oldies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

With around 60 rooms this small hotel has a lovely feel, perched on the cliff above the sea. It is 'upside down', in that you enter at street level but what you see above that is private apartments. The street level is the reception, lounge and dining area and all the rooms are below that as the cliffside drops to the sea. There is a lift! Stylish modern decor, shiny marble floors and lovely outside spaces give it a luxurious feel. We moved from a lowest floor room as it was overlooked by people walking across the terrace. Our superior room was very spacious with a comfortably furnished terrace overlooking the sea front below.
We had booked B&B and breakfast was a hot and cold buffet served until 10:30 - very civilised. All the staff seemed to be Portuguese and were very attentive. We took up the dinner offer of 4 dinners for Euros 84 per person. For your 21 euros you have a glass of Madeira, a starter, main and dessert plus coffee. Very nice food and good value. Wine is not expensive and they keep it in their fridge for the next meal.
We had a hire car so did not use the shuttle service. Driving here is a challenge as it is so mountainous, so beware if you hate big drops! It allowed us to see a lot in a week but others booked trips from the hotel. Contrary to stories Madeira is not just for older people. You need to be quite fit to cope with the hills and the walk into Funchal was too much for me. However there is a good bus service and lots ofpeople were using it.Several restaurants are a shorter walk away and there was a shopping centre nearby.
Funchal centre was lovely with Christmas lights in hundreds of trees. A lifesize crib being built along the main street and the promise of a Christmas market the following week made us wish we could stay longer. Sitting in the sunshine eating an ice cream with Christmas all around was wonderful. Next year we hope to go for New Year!

Room Tip: Rooms on the dining room side have a view of land and sea. Central rooms look over the public lido a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UkOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and wish to return for New Year. As it is a high season we advise that you book at least 3 months in advance in order to guarantee availability.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any assistance when planning your next trip.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Smaller hotel, makes it very friendly and personal. All rooms have a sea view balcony, rooms are spacious and very nice. Lovely terrace and a good place to see the New Year fireworks. Wire-Fi throughout hotel. Food is presented well. Bus stops outside hotel so very convenient to get to the main town, if walking this is about an hour. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3Aussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Kind Comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and would not hesitate to recommend Madeira Regency Cliff

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Last year we discovered this hotel through Easyjet holidays, see my previous review. Just returned home after our second visit. A very warm welcome was received at the hotel, after being met at the airport courtesy of the Regency Cliff and returned there at the end of the holiday! All the staff remembered us and even remembered conversations we had with them. I am glad to confirm that the hotel is run as well as it was on our last visit. We have enjoyed another superb stay including the famous New Year Gala Dinner. Thanks once again to the management and staff who run this hotel as a team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous New Year break at The Madeira Regency Cliff, Set on a cliff edge, as the name suggests, the hotel commands spectacular views out to sea and the city of Funchal.We stayed in a superior room which was large with 2 balconies both with stunning views giving us the perfect place to watch the spectacular firework display on NYE. The management left treats in our room most days, fruit, flowers, water, special festive bread, Madeira cake and wine. The Gala dinner on NYE was amazing with a 5 course taster menu free Fizz and wine during the evening a very generous party which came as a complete surprise to us as we were on B&B not half board.The hotel has a polite dedicated staff, many have been with the hotel many years . The public rooms are spotlessly clean, the dining room isn't large and on cooler mornings when the patio is not in use can get busy at breakfast time and we had to wait for a table on one occasion,Breakfast is served over 3 hrs from 7 30 to 10 30 buffet style, with a good choice of hot and continental,The hotel is quite a hike from the centre of town, all down hill a little more challenging on return, but this is not a problem as the hotel provides a free shuttle service twice daily down into town in the morning and twice from the town in the afternoon, this needs to be booked in advance. Also transfers to and from the airport are provided. Car parking is available and free of charge but be warned you don't get much room to maneuver and you need to be good a reversing :) Free Wfi is also provided, this saves a small fortune if you want to stay in touch. In short the hotel is small, friendly with wonderful views great for couples and singles. We cannot wait to return to this beautiful island and great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is like a small boutique hotel with 59 rooms. SUited more to couples or singles.
Had a nice welcome. Most rooms have a sea view and mine was spacious with lovely views to the west, so good sun sets.Lighting was good, plus a fridge, dressing gown, safe (you pay extra). Nice balconies.Everything very clean. The beds were very comfortable.BF had a good choice of hot and cold food. Dinner was extra, l had reduced rates through Saga, if not it was about a 1/3 more. Evening meals were good, but l feel a bit over priced. Christmas eve and Christmas day were included and they were very ,very good. All staff were in and worked very hard to make it special, the dining room ran very efficiently. If you wanted anything extra the staff soon got used to your needs and after a few day you didn't need to remind them. Plenty of eating places outside if only on B&B. They provide transport into town twice a day and twice back, by taxi. Not a lot of books, so if you do a lot of reading, bring some books. Two pools but nothing for children, but if you go down to the prom below, there is an area for children to swim and play.Free internet. The outside pool has a snack bar and from here there is a gate leading to the prom. They also have lovely gardens to relax in with super views.
An airport bus passes the door and the buses into Funchal are frequent. Also the red and yellow tour buses pass the hotel and they are a good way of seeing the area. The island is very hilly.Across the road is a shopping centre with a super market open till very late.The desk staff all speak very good English and are very helpful on buses etc., I met a number of people who have been coming here for a long time over Christmas, some were even rebooking for next year. My only one little blip was no bath slip mats. I think considering they have most over 50's they could do with a few to hand out if needed. But apart from that would definately recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms facing west have afteroon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed half board and experienced great service, delicious food and good accommodation. Our Ruby Anniversary was celebrated with a bottle of fizz courtesy of the hotel. No need to eat anywhere else. We would go again,

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind Review. We are delighted to learn that Madeira Regency Cliff fulfilled your expectations.

We really hope to see you back in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the Regency Cliff for two weeks over Christmas 2013. The hotel is small but very clean and well set out. Positioned on the cliff-face (hence the name!) it commands great views back into Funchal from all its' bedrooms and from the restaurant and terrace. We stayed in a Superior room which was quite big with lovely soft beds together with the great sea view. The staff are excellent and work hard to make your stay a good experience.

The hotel is conveniently situated close to a number of good restaurants as well as the Forum Shopping Centre which has an excellent range of shops together with a great supermarket all within a 5 minute walk. Local buses are very frequent and stop close by; the 6/7 minute journey into the centre of Funchal is only 1.90 euros - great value.

Newcomers to the area should be aware that Madeira is originally a volcanic island so is quite hilly in places. Certainly, the walk down to the promenade from the hotel is great going down but a bit of a climb coming back!

Where the hotel is a bit inconsistent is with the food. The hotel aspires to "fine dining" but the overall quality of their offerings sometimes fails to meet that standard. 3 nights a week they put on a good buffet choice; the other 4 are waiter service from quite a restricted menu (good if you like a lot of fish!). This means you may have to compromise with what you would prefer to be eating.

Breakfast is standard stuff with a decent choice although you can end up waiting a while if they are busy and the weather prevents folks from using the outside dining terrace and everyone wants the dining room to eat in.

Drinks in the hotel are quite expensive when compared to the local bars but you expect that. Happy hour is good value, however with a 50% reduction in prices.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much. If the hotel could review its' dining arrangements - perhaps a buffet every night would be best - then it would be a top class place. As it is, it just fails to make it but very good anyway!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We apologize for the food not fulfilling your expectations, although we know it is very difficult to please all guests in this matter.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul
Baia Azul
#18 of 88 in Funchal
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $107 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing