We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As They Say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I chose the Regency Cliff by the simple process of working my way down the list of top places to stay in Funchal, as rated by TripAdvisor users, until I found one that we could afford! At the time I think it was number 11 and having done some additional research and contacted the hotel directly we booked a two week stay in November 2013. We are so pleased we did as the hotel was a great base for what turned out to be one of best holidays ever. This is a truly excellent hotel. It is stylish without ever losing that sense of personal comfort. The rooms are generously proportioned with individual and very private balconies. The location is almost perfect. House-keeping was spot-on (very clean and the staff dealt with every query and request quickly, courteously and efficiently), and the whole experience was just delightful.

Our package included two evening meals which we knew from reviews was not the hotel's strength. They were perfectly decent but if I am honest the restaurant is not up to the standard of the surrounding restaurants, (of which there are many and several truly excellent ones), but since we wanted to eat out and prefer to dine in different places this wasn't a problem at all. It's a bit of a shame as the Regency Cliff has one of the most desirable dining situations in the whole of Funchal. The outdoor terrace is simply fantastic (a wonderful place for breakfast each morning), and if they invited one of the successful local restaurants to open as a joint venture inside the Regency Cliff they could have the most sought-after dining in the whole of Funchal, (I'd invite Olives Restaurant to come into partnership with them). I would say that Happy Hour was the most astonishing value and made a great start to our evenings!

All in all this is a gem of a hotel and I can't recommend it highly enough. We would happily return again (and again).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on Level 1, the lowest level, as rooms have terraces not balconies, and there is little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brynmelyndavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you will definitely return.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Regency Cliff over Christmas & had a great time.
The hotel is much smaller than those near by and this makes it a bit special. The staff are fantastic and the hotel is spotless.
Having read other reviews about things like no fried eggs or poor haidryers my tip would be " ask the staff" as they seem to be able to come up with the goods & deliver with a smile.
Our room was on the 1st floor (on the bottom) & we were delighted with the view - our only very minor hiccup was lack of WiFi signal in our room although you could get it our bathroom.
WiFi is free and the signal in the public area is great. The is also a computer for guests use.
Not surprisingly many of the guests were returners and some were on their 4th or 5th visit and we could see why so we are already talking about going again next year

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JaneStourbridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to return.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas 2012 and again in 2013.
Having stayed in a few other hotels in Funchal previously we feel that this is the best and it is certainly very good value for money. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Location is perfect. All the rooms have balconies with sea views and are spotlessly clean. Breakfast can be eaten inside or out on the terrace which has spectacular views.There is a good buffet choice including home made cakes and yogurts.The only 'minus point' is that the free transport to and from the town has to be booked in advance and the time options are very limited (10.00,11.00 down and, I think, 16.30 and 18.30 back) There is certainly a need for a 17.00 down and a 22.00 back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

After spending a very enjoyable first visit to Madeira and the Regency cliff in July my wife and I went again in December to celebrate my birthday,again really enjoyed our stay. All the staff are efficient and friendly,special mention to the restaurant staff who are really friendly and remembered us from our first visit. We had a glass of champagne on my birthday at breakfast and a little muffin cake with a single candle. We had to laugh at there sense of fun.It is easy to see why this small hotel is so popular,its almost like staying with friends.We will visit Madeira again and would make this hotel our prefered choice.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea view,superior rooms quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aljanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your stay.

We also thank you for making Regency Cliff your preferred choice in Madeira.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is placed with perfect view to the ocean. It is a 30-40 min walk to funchal but there's a bus going close by. There are also a number of fine restaurants close by. The hotel has a breathtaking terrasse on top of the building with a panoramic view over the ocean and into funchal with mountains in the background. The breakfast is very large with a nice vararity. The fresh fruit is a nice touch. We had a balcony with unlimited oceanview. The only minus was that there is a public pool area below the hotel (the hotel is on a cliff) and it can be a bit noisy at times. If you come to madeira to walk the trails (levada) I would not recomment to invest in a guided tour. It is easy to find the trails, and the routes are very well marked. I can however recomment to rent a car, as that gives you the freedom to see what you want, when you want. We had a very slow car that had to climp many steep roads in the 1st gear with full gas, so driver be aware. However, Madeira is one beautiful scenarie after the other. Would love to come back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jens33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution. It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that our guests enjoyed their holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really enjoyed our week in the Regency Cliff on a bed and breakfast basis. A clean comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. No wonder many guests go back every year. Breakfast was good and varied however we did not have dinner preferring to eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FatBobby_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would cnsider returning.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in the junior suite, so had a lot of space in the room. The restaurant of the hotel is a little overpriced, but the food is excellent. The swimming pool area and all the facilities around are very good. Close to the Formosa Beach, which means a little far from downtown, but buses circulates all day, and the hotel has a complementary transportation to downtown twice a day. Over all a nice hotel to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lutessaroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,960 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $104 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing