We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Stunning views and perfectly situated - courtesy bus to centre although i didn't use it - was more fun to catch the old style bus (only 2 euros & comfy seats). Staff are friendly & helpful and although the pool is small, it's quiet and easy to relax by. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Can-malm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and recommended our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    272
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
807
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After our 2nd visit we can highly recommend this lovely, small, quiet and restful hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome. Rooms are spacious and clean and views from rooms and restaurant terrace are wonderful. Although a limited choice of food the standard is good. Ideally situated for walks and a short complimentary taxi ride in to Funchal. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the restaurant terrace are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank your kind comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Although away from the center of Funchal this quiet and comfortable hotel suited us.Very quiet at night and comfortable beds. A big thank you to Graca on reception for organising flowers for my wifes birthday,the staff even made a birthday cake,all very nice.Our only slight disappointment was the evening dinners were not as good as I had hoped,we ate for three nights in the restaurant and then chose to eat out. This was our first visit to madeira,loved the island and the people.We will certainly return to Madeira and will certainly stay at the Regency Cliff again.Many thanks to all the staff for a great visit to this lovely island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aljanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your holiday and that you will certainly return to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the best holiday my wife & I have ever had,not that we've been to hundreds of places abroad but this hotel & Funchal we absolutley loved,might become our first destination for return trip,will be staying at hotel madeira regency cliff for sure if we do.The veiws from the hotel & our room [404] are fantastic,the sevice was top class,the staff were terific,breakfast was fabulous,did'nt do evening meal,resturants in the area are very good,hotel spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: floor 4 or 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, which we much appreciated. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you would consider returning.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our seventh visit in Madeira and fifth staying in Madeira Regency Cliff.Our choice will be permanently this hotel. Hotel is cosy, very warm athosphere, excellent located in Funchal hotel area.Staff made us feel like coming to home! Improvents of terrace were very succesful.

Looking forward to come back to Madeira and of course Madeira Regency Cliff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herra_nro_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment which we will share with the whole Team. We thank you for your continued loyalty.

We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the improvements that we did at the Restaurant Terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are always many repeat guests at this hotel, and we are two of them. A recurring theme of these excellent reviews is the quality of the staff. Having been so many times obviously we know the staff very well, and when talking to them it is really good to hear how they regard the manager and owner of this hotel. So to that same manager and owner I would say continue to treat them well, they are a huge part of your success. Having talked to may other repeat guests the main reason we all continue to return is because the same staff remain, and nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that the guests have a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank betty30300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and most of all for your continued support and loyalty. We are delighted to learn that you are very pleased with Regency Cliff Team.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and size as we dislike large, impersonal hotels. From the start it exceeded our expectations. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our standard room was on 5th floor and we were very happy with it. It was clean, comfortable with air-con and a good size. The view across the ocean was quite stunning with a little verandah too. Towels were changed daily. Cleaners were very efficient, the room always looked very spic and span. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable. We had booked B&B only because we like to be a bit independent and there are lots of local restaurants in the area within easy reach. We have no complaints about breakfast either, all tastes seem to be catered for. We had a lovely weeks holiday and will definitely be returning. The local buses are cheap, and plentiful, just outside hotel too, plus a free shuttle daily provided by hotel. What's not to like? Thank you Iolanthe and all your brilliant staff for making our holiday a great success.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilly186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you will definitely return.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing