We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wish we had found this little gem earlier in our life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wish we had found this little gem earlier in our life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are a couple of wrinkles who have just spent two weeks in this gem of a Hotel and have enjoyed every minute, the Management and Staff were excellent, it is quiet and relaxing, yet just 5 minutes away by free shuttle from hotel you have the busy centre of Funchal with all it has to offer, If you prefer local buses, the bus stop is outside the hotel and you can start your expedition of the Island from there. The Hotel was very clean throughout and the seaview from our room was to die for. Our room was cleaned each day and towels and bedding changed regularly.

The food was good, breakfast there was something for every ones taste, cereals, cold meat, cheeses, cooked and various bread and bread rolls.

We chose half board so we ate in the restaurant every night,
Three evenings of themed Buffet, then four evenings waiter service.
We wish we had found this hotel earlier, one guest was on her 17th visit, few of the other guests we spoke to were on return visits.
That speaks volumes for the Hotel.
Wish we had found this earlier in our life, we will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miketrish_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and you were pleased with our Staff.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    248
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
112
738
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our second visit to Madeira very much but the hotel was not quite to the standard we expected. The major pluses were that it was a small and compact hotel and the view from the outdoor restaurant is virtually unbeatable. However, the room we were in had a slightly tired feel to it (the aircon unit was noisy and probably installed by Zarko) and not as clean as we expected, the breakfasts were a major disappointment - very monotonous and lacking any originality (I am comparing this to the hotel we stayed in on our last visit). Although the staff were fairly attentive and pleasant only the cleaners seemed to be happy to be there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. We regret that we did not manage to fulfill your expectations. We value our comments as we believe that it is the only way to maintain and improve, when needed, our services.

We would like to inform all our readers that we are permanently doing maintenance works to keep the hotel up to date. The Restaurant terrace is being renovated. We are pleased to inform that we have a completely new siting lounge area. During this year, we are also changing the covers of the room’s furniture (half of the rooms already completed).
We have also changed all tables in the Restaurant and we will change, shortly, all chairs. Exterior painting is in course. Last year all carpets were changed.

Once again we apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's no wonder that Regency Cliff has received such a prestigious TripAdvisor award. For me, "perfect" is hardly enough to describe it and I've stayed in more hotels than I've had hot dinners! To-die-for location - on a cliff of course. My room was enormous and what a treat for a solo traveller. Big balcony with a wonderful vista of sea, mountains and a bit of a banana plantation. I couldn't have asked for anything more. Beautiful and large terrace to take breakfast on and also relax after an action-packed sight-seeing day - so relaxing. The staff are wonderful - attentive, efficient and friendly. I only had breakfast and can vouch for the fact that every taste was catered for and in fact the choice was overwhelming. Fresh-fruit salad every morning and truly fresh and so delicious. I don't apologise for rambling on about the Regency Cliff and could ramble on with yet more praise! I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else on my next visit to Madeira as this hotel made my week. Congratulations to manageress, Iolanda , and my thanks to her and all the staff. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Some folk often complain about being on the 5th floor because of noise I was on the 5th floor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cherry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that
You truly enjoyed your stay at Regency Cliff and that you will return.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birkenhead
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just back after a lovely week at The Regency Cliff. The hotel is well worth it's 4 stars. The service from all the staff is excellent. Our classic room was spacious and had a wonderful view of Funchal and the bay. Breakfast buffet had a huge choice of food and catered for all tastes. The dinner menu was waiter service on 4 nights and buffet fro the remaining 3. We liked the waiter service meals better, some were memorable. The buffet had plenty of choice which suits some people perhaps.Everybody spoke good english wherever we went on the island. All in all the hotel was just as we expected from reading the reviews and we would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank annieBirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which I have shared with the whole Team. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that we managed to fulfill your expectations. We are also glad to learn that you would recommend our hotel to other travelers.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

were positive:
+ The room has a good view to the ocean and has many facilities (eg. water heater, lots
of storage space, flat screen tv)
+ the breakfast buffet was plentiful
+ the rooms were clean
+ the receptionist was polite
+ the hotel is in a good location

were negative
- the breakfast buffet selection was constant has a minimum change
- it can have a breakfast from 7:30 (too late) so when your trip start at 8 that has a
minimal chance to had a breakfast (there is a possibility to get packed breakfast we have
tried but got nothing). Some packed food for breakfast so I recommend manually prepackaged food. For example, the ship toward the "Porto Santo" will start at 8 am. So you can not get breakfast.
- in-room safe has not any lock
- the restaurant staff at breakfast are rarely welcome (greeting usually was "coffee or
tee" and "your room number")
- the soundproofing is poor, because we heard the TV sound from the next room

Room Tip: must pay attention to soundproofing problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endre E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. It is always with great regret that we acknowledge that our guests were not 100% pleased with our facilities and services and for this we apologize.

We would like to clarify that the key for the room safe has to be requested at reception.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week here and it is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Small and with a very friendly atmosphere, staff are most helpful and efficient. Food very good. We had half board and there was an excellent selection for breakfast. Dinner was sometimes a buffet and the other nights waiter service. Although the set menu was fairly limited it was different each night and well cooked and presented. Entertainment some nights included Madeiran Folk dancing, a violinist and a pianist Our room on the 3rd floor was comfortable and spacious with a good balcony and sea view and was left spotless each day. Bed very comfortable and hospitality tray always replenished. Location excellent, plenty of shops & cafes close by and easy to get around on local buses. Stop just a short walk from hotel. Would like to return and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel is upside down so reception & street level is floor 6. All rooms are below on floors 5-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you would like to return to our hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayd here end of May. Superior room, excellent large room, large bed, good bathroom and lovely covered balcony. Quiet and restful. Helpful staff.

Evening meal could be better. We had 4 evenings meals as an offer. The choice is limited and on the first night 2 out of the 3 main courses had tuna in them. Not very well planned, more variety needed and not that good value.The grill nearly opposite the hotel has a tourist menu which is just s good as the hotel but less than half the price. In central Funchal Londres restuarant is far superior thought he same price as at the hotel.

If we visit this lovely island we would hope to stay at this hotel again but eat the maion meal of the day elsewhere.

Room Tip: superior room worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 883sallyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday.

We regret to learn that you were disappointed with our evening meals and for this we apologize.

We would like to explain that you bought a package of 4 meals and that you could have chosen any day of the week. The Menu is exposed every day before breakfast. We have 3 evenings with Buffets (Monday to Wednesday) and on the other days we have set menus, that change every day as well as, the a la carte menu. The set Menu has always a choice between fish, meat and another option that could either a salad or pasta. If guests are not pleased with this Menu that can always choose from our a la carte Menu.

We hope to see you back in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing