We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel let down only...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel let down only...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely hotel staff couldn't do enough for you especially Edgar it was our first trip to Madeira and he informed us of various places to visit nothing was too much trouble . The hotel was one of the cleanest we have stayed in and the views were spectacular from our balcony. The only complaint we had was one evening we decided to eat our evening meal at the hotel the food was very poor and not of the standard of a four star hotel I had noticed before we went on holiday that this was a complaint of other guest reviewers on the trip advisor. It is such a shame this has not been addressed as this lets down a really fabulous hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always with great regret that we acknowledge that we were not able to fulfill 100% our guest’s expectations.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the meal you had at the hotel. However we would like to inform you that your complaint had our best attention and that we have taken all measures to avoid future situations.

We apologize once again for all the inconveniences this may have caused.

With Kind regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    268
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
796
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level Contributor
209 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11am and very pleased to discover our room was ready for us to check-in. The hotel is a small boutique style hotel with just 59 rooms all of which have excellent sea views. We found our room to have ample hanging and drawer space for our holiday needs.
Each room has a wide balcony with table and chairs and proved regularly a pleasant option for relaxing in the sun.
Breakfast and dinner are both served in the Mistral Restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast commences at 7.30am and can also be taken on the terrace on sunny mornings.
Dinner commences at 7pm each evening. Themed buffet evenings are held on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday with waiter service on the remaining days of the week.
The standard of food at the hotel is very good with all the restaurant and bar staff extremely friendly and welcoming. There is a bar and lounge area where a low key entertainment programme is held on a few nights each week. A Madeira Folklore evening takes place each Wednesday evening. If you are looking for a lively entertainment programme then this hotel is not for you if, however, you are looking to stay for a relaxing holiday in an excellent hotel with good food then the Madeira Regency Cliff is the perfect choice.
The hotel has a Desktop Computer in the lounge area which is free to use for hotel guests.
The hotel also operates a complimentary shuttle taxi service into Funchal daily at 10am and 11am returning at 4.30pm and 6.30pm. Booking for the shuttle is essential and should be made with Reception although a very regular bus service ( No`s 1 and 2) operate from close by the hotel for just 1.90 Euro per journey. The bus terminates near to the cable car station which operates up to Monte. You can also take the No. 48 bus directly up to Monte from near the hotel. Bus timetables for travel all over the island can be obtained from hotel reception.
The General Manager of the hotel welcomes all guests to the hotel each Tuesday evening at 6pm when complimentary drinks are served. She makes a point of greeting each individual guest during the reception.
For shopaholics the Madeira Forum Shopping Centre is just 200 metres from the hotel and open until 10pm daily and houses a large Pingo Doce supermaket on the lower ground floor.
This was our fourth visit to the lovely island of Madeira and our second visit to the Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel and aready thinking about a return visit to this excellent hotel.
The General Manager and her team operate to very good standards ensuring each guest has an enjoyable holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which I will share with the whole Team. We are delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable holiday experience at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would consider returning to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this Hotel and was equaly as good as our First one, The staff are so friendly and do an exelent job. The position of this Hotel is great with great views from any room, and the Breakfast on the Terrace in the morning sun you could not ask for more. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was indeed with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the second time.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again you holiday and look forward to welcoming you next year.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just returned from a week at the Regency Cliff with my partner. It was our first time there but won't be our last. We booked direct with the hotel and everything was as we expected. The facilities were excellent and the staff accommodating and friendly. We stayed in one of their suites which was spacious and comfortable, the food was varied and excellent. It is a very quiet and relaxed place although in the middle of a busy part of the island and the capital, Funchal is about ten minutes away by the local bus. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The reception is on the sixth floor which is at ground level but the other floors go down from a cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you will return.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is an excellent smaller hotel where we had a very enjoyable week. The double room we had was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the vlew of Funchal Bay endlessly fascinating. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere with buffet or menu service on different nights. Whatever the format, the food was excellent. Centre of town was an easy bus ride from outside the door and the forum shopping centre across the road has a supermarket and some decent shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to acknowledge that you had a great week at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We don't often go away to stay in hotels but have stayed in enough to know that this hotel is in a class of it's own...Warm, welcoming, clean and very comfortable. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.
The room was clean, well appointed and had fantastic views from the balcony.
Food was buffet style Monday- Wednesday and for the rest of the week, evening meals were table service. They were beautifully presented and there was a nice choice.

There is a bus stop less than a minute's walk from the hotel into Funchal with a very regular service. Easy to use! There is a free shuttle service twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon to and from the hotel as well.

The health/ spa facilities are small but who wants to spend all day in there when you have a whole island to see!

Room Tip: Level three four and five bedrooms are better for less pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank susiesunshine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very glad to learn that you had a wonderful holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our week in Funchal was one of our best holiday escapes from UK weather. Regency Cliff made a big contribution. A ' boutique hotel ' , not huge, very personal, large rooms, great sea views, outside central Funchal but local area good for restuarants, Forum upmarket shopping precinct, and constant buses to Funchal ( 10 min ride ) not forgeting hotel free shuttle service.

Breakfasts have choices to satisfy all tastes and needs and a decking area to eat overlooking the sea and the rising sun . Memorable.
The Mistral Restaurant offers a set meal with dual choices for each of three courses for around 25 euros . There are themed nights with buffet service. We had three nights of the set meal and generaly they were very good as was the service. We deliberately gave ourselves the opportunity to eat out too. This is a must in Funchal .
The staff at Regency Cliff from the room maid upwards are incredibly efficient , warm and helpful. Like most Madeirans they speak good English.
I can recommend this hotel totally for over fifties but not the young and young families. We look forward to returning as so many other reviewers do.

Room Tip: Avoid floors one and two. Three four and five have best views . We were in 302 which is south fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Regency Cliff and that you will return.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing