We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
northampton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Lovely hotel clean modern and the staff friendly, helpfull made you feel really welcome...my only downside was evening meals for me I thought they could have been better, however thats me the afternoon snacks by the pool were briliiant thou..
Rooms were big lovely view and balconey cleaned every day and the cleaning staff were nice and friendly too..
Would defo stay here again..

Room Tip: Ask for baloncy with sea view as the views are brilliant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7madhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and that you would consider returning.

We look forward to welcoming in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    270
    41
    6
    4
See reviews for
118
805
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was a toss up between the Regency Cliff and one of the bigger hotels closer to the town, fortunately we went with the RC as having looked at our alternative choice we very much appreciated intimacy of our hotel. Check in was very smooth, friendly and we were delighted with our room which was one of the premium rooms, it was very spacious with the very private balcony looking over the ocean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were good, it would have been nice to sit out on the terrace more often but weather did not permit this, however, with a bit of forethought, ie taking in the chair seats at night so they didn't get wet, a few more mornings might have been possible which would have been a bonus for us sun starved northern Europeans! We ate in one night and found the food and service very good. The pool is relatively small but we found, again probably due to the weather, that there was never a problem getting a bed in a good position, the pool bar had good food too. The staff without exception were all very friendly and helpful and we would certainly return to this hotel on our next trip to Madeira. It is slightly out of the town but the local bus service is so good we used it all the time and didn't bother with the hotel shuttle bus. There is a very good hairdresser opposite the hotel and we also found the local car hire (Atlantic) very helpful and reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrishRomantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you were pleased with the service provided by our Staff.

We hope to see you back in very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A second visit to this hotel was just as impressive as the first. Exceptionally helpful staff who made our stay even more enjoyable with advice on trips around the island, which we took independantly on local busses. The room was spacious and the balcony gave a wonderful view of the ocean and the twinkling lights of Funchal at night. We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Depends if you want ocean and town views or ocean and afternoon sun.....let the hotel staff know wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shemar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. It was indeed with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the second time.

We look forward to welcoming you next year,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our second visit to Madeira and the first stay at this excellent hotel. Will definitely consider this hotel on our next trip to Madeira. Could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel and the efficiency of the staff. The breakfasts were super and a large choice. We did have evening meals at the hotel on a number of occasions and were very happy with the quality, freshness, choice and price of the food on offer. We stayed here for 14 nights and agree that one week in Madeira is simply not enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raycornuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This review is not quite easy. On one hand, the hotel delivered what it promised: a large, comfortable room with a balcony and a view of the ocean, a super-sized bathroom with all the amenities you might want, a fast free wifi, and free parking. On the other, service was below par. Here is the story:

On the check in we were handed two cards that were supposed to be exchanged each for one pool towel (see picture attached). Penalty for loosing a card: 25 euros. Huh? 25 euros for a piece of laminated cardboard? The cards were so precious that we wanted to keep them in a safe. Alas, the safe had a large gaping hole where the lock would normally be. You want a lock? 15 euros a week, please (even if you're staying 3 nights only) and a deposit of 20 (or was it 30?) euros. I didn't dare to ask what the penalty would be for losing the safe key, and declined. We were also handed upon checkin two remotes banded together (see another photo), one for the TV, the other for AC (no penalty specified for losing either). I must say, I haven't been to such a hotel ever since the fall of the iron curtain and the regime made an impression of a penal colony. Perhaps these are normal standards in Madeira, but not elsewhere in Portugal, not speaking of the rest of the world.

That's not the end. We stayed in Regency Cliff three nights. Ever since the second day of our stay we kept being queried (or bugged) about the time and manner we would be leaving. The queries were either hand-delivered as notes (a knock on the door at an inconvenient time), or through phone calls (at an even more inconvenient time). It didn't matter that I answered we would be checking out at the regular time (12 noon) and wouldn't need a transfer. Next day, another note or call. We paid what I thought a decent rate through booking.com, no great deal, but this made an impression the hotel wanted to get rid of us as early as possible.

Add to the above a maid who entered the room on the first day without knocking on the door, and literally found me with my pants down. She had all the best intentions in the world (delivering drinking water) but still, don't they teach their staff the basic routines? I almost felt like Strauss-Kahn in New York.

Room Tip: Avoid room 510 and the neighboring ones since they are located directly under the restaurant, and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review which had our best attention.
It is with great regret that we acknowledge that we did not manage to fulfill your expectations and for this we apologize.
I would like to clarify that:
- The card that our guests receive at the check in for the swimming pool is to exchange for a
towel, this is the reason why it has a cost of 25€ if not delivered at check out.
- The cost of the safe is 15€ per week , 2.30€ per day.
- It is a standard procedure to enquire our guests of departure time as we always try to avoid that guests arriving in the morning have to wait until 14h00 to check-in. You should have been contacted only once.
We apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay and assure that all measures were taken to avoid similar situations in the future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've stayed 4 times in total including a return here from a big five star hotel up the promenade.
We definitely recommend this as the nicest hotel, the best position, the most private rooms with full sea views and a perfect size; not too large like some of the other hotels, but large enough to feel pleasant and alive. Staff are helpful but not intrusive.
Great for a relaxing break away from it all and a great base for hiking and exploring if that's your passion.

You can get around by shuttles and bus but car hire is very reasonable on the island and we always drive- the hotel has a shuttle and a car park.
You can't go wrong if you stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the classic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.
We take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty and support.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Madeira Cliff Hotel continues to be a great experience with friendly staff who go out of their way to ensure guests have a good welcome and good service. I have just made my 7th visit and I feel part of a family when I go there. The views are great, the situation is excellent, and I cannot find anything adverse to say. It is 3 k. out of Funchal but with excellent local buses, this is actually an advantage. And there are local shops and restaurants nearby. I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting more of an individual experience rather than the anonymous huge hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, some are smaller than others but very adequate, and all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, which I will share with the whole Team. We are deligted to learn that you enjoyed once again your stay at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We thank you for your continued preference and loyalty and look forward to welcoming you, hopefully still this year.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,037 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Property: Madeira Regency Cliff
Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing