We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madeira Regency Cliff
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Duas Torres(Funchal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baia Azul(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alto Lido(Funchal)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,225)
Filter reviews
1,225 results
Traveler rating
872
300
43
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
872
300
43
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomsmall hotelmonumental grillsea viewwaiter servicelovely hotelfree shuttle serviceforum shopping centrechristmas and new yearlocal busessmall poolclose to the hotelbed and breakfast basisrelaxing holidayhalf boardfourth visittea and coffee making facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,225 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On entering our room we were surprised to find a bottle of champagne on ice, which we enjoyed on our sunny balcony, with glorious uninterrupted sea views. This was a gift from the hotel for my husband's birthday.

This is a very classy hotel, with fine dining table service on 3 nights, and self-service buffets on 4 nights. The menu is on display as soon as breakfast is being served, and if you have special dietary requirements, the hotel is more than happy to provide a meal to suit. I cannot understand why anybody could moan-you just have to ask, and your request is cheerfully dealt with. The food quality is excellent.

The entire staff are very proffesional, efficient and friendly and many speak several languages fluently.

The rooms are spacious and modern, recently renovated and spotless, as is the entire hotel. The lobby provides excellent seating arrangements, and I cannot understand why a previous guest commented that they wanted to move the furniture?!!

There are 2 swimming pools, both free of charge, and free towels and sunbeds are also provided. A previous reviewer commented on a charge, but they must have left the hotel by the side gate, and paid to use the public Lido pools below the hotel!

There really is nothing to moan about at this excellent hotel. As previous guests have stated, the service really is 5 star. This hotel really does cater for the individual as well. The manager is very happy to tailor-make a package that suits you if you contact the hotel directly. Your e-mail will be swiftly answered and it will be less expensive too.

We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a south-facing balcony and very good sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Holidaybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would consider returning.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time to Madeira and we wanted a smallish, friendly hotel and bedroom with sea view. We read the hotel reviews just before travelling and were not disappointed.
The hotel is convenient for Funchal town, you can walk into town but there is a courtesy shuttle bus and the local buses are frequent and easy to use.
There is a steep path from the hotel down to the promenade, which then stretches in both directions for a pleasant walk. All bedrooms have balconies overlooking the sea and are kept very clean. The staff without exception were very friendly and helpful and certainly entered into the spirit of the carnival with enthusiasm.
We had opted for half board and were very pleased. There was an excellent hot and cold selection for breakfast and the evening meal buffets were delightful with plenty of choice. There were special themed meals on a couple of occasions during the week including Valentine's Day.
If you have any particular dietary requirements this just needs to be mentioned in advance and they will discuss the menu options with you. Entertainment was provided most nights, including a folk dancing display, carnival dancers and an excellent violinist.
There was an outdoor pool, for the hardy, and a small indoor one which was perfect for a pre-breakfast swim. There are loads of beautiful gardens to visit and plenty of flowers in bloom even in February. Overall, a lovely base for a holiday. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation and would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: If your room is on floor 1 the balconies are next to the pathway to the pool so you will get people walking past. There is probably a bit more privacy, if you require it, on the higher floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would not hesitate to recommend or visit us again.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have recently returned from another fabulous holiday at this lovely quiet and peaceful hotel. This was our 5th visit and we sincerely hope there will many more!
The hotel has a great atmosphere and is in a nice location with stunning views overlooking the sea. As always all of the staff made us feel very welcome and were exceptionally friendly and extremely helpful at all times. Our spacious room was comfortable and always kept spotlessly clean. As usual the buffet style breakfasts were excellent and catered for all tastes with a selection of hot and cold dishes.
A very big thank you to everyone for making our 3 week stay very enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BryanandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review and kind comments. It is always very rewarding for the whole Team to welcome a repeated guest. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday in our hotel.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have just enjoyed a week at the Regency Cliff Hotel , which was our 6th visit to this special 59 room hotel but our first in Feburary as we had wished to enjoy the Carnival Week. As usual all the hotel staff were wonderful, so friendly and helpful and it was great to enjoy a pleasant and quiet week away from England's weather. Our room had a balcony where we enjoyed the morning sun overlooking Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean and we lucky to see a few cruise ships arrive, which we were able to see more closely when down in Funchal. We enjoyed the 2 Carnival Parades and the Hotel kindly purchased tickets for us on our request so we could sit and enjoy the Saturday evening parade which lasts about 3 hours. What a wonderful atmosphere and also on Throve Tuesday where everyone can dress up including the children and it was just fun to wander.
Breakfast is served either outside on the terrace or in the dining room and covers a good selection of continental and cooked food. A series of themed menues are available for the evening meals and during the week we were there they had 2 carnival special evenings and also a Valentine's evening on the 14th February. Some members of the staff dressed up for the Carnival days and all had red hearts for Valentine's Day .
We usually book for 10 days in September and this was also booked at the same time we booked the February week. It was very lovely to have the opportunity to spend a week during our winter but we now look forward to September (for our 7th visit), to enjoy the sun and getting out and about once again as we always feel there is so much to see and enjoy.using the buses locally or venuring further afield and of course just enjoying staying with our 'friends' at the Regency Cliff Hotel.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Just relax on arrival, if here are any room problems discuss with reception and then enjoy your holiday........
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 186340jean186340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always with great pleasure that the Team of Madeira Regency Cliff welcomes you. We are very pleased to learn that after 6 visits we still manage to fulfill your expectations.
We take this opportunity to thank you for your continued loyalty and support

We all look forward to welcoming you in September,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We re visited the above hotel after 10 years for our Anniversary and have got to say that we were not disappointed. The standard of room, service and hospitality was 100% perfect in every way. The room was always clean and spotless. Clean bedding and towels every day and plenty of towels! Large, comfortable bed and fantastic sea views from the balcony. An air conditioning unit that worked! Breakfast outside in the sun. The staff are extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful......all of them. A truly wonderful stay....Thank you everybody.

Room Tip: Not the 1st Floor. Too close to the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fredallen11London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews