We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A WONDERFUL SMALL HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
PRESTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL SMALL HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We selected this hotel using Tripadvisor and what a good decision it turned out to be.

The hotel is in the old part of Funchal sandwiched between two streets which makes it very quiet but with a pool and sunbathing and terrace area which is more than adequate for the number of guests the hotel can accommodate. At no time were we unable to get sunloungers.

The location is just great; you walk out of a secure gate at the rear of the hotel almost immediately into restaurants and some bars and only a further 10 minutes of very easy walking along the front takes you into central Funchal. You are unaware of all of this in the tranquility of the hotel however.

The hotel caters almost entirely for an older clientele-predominantly British and Germans--which again adds to its quietness.

The bedrooms are spotless and comfortable with everything working as it should. The rooms are not large but perfectly adequate.

The hotel provides a superbly comprehensive breakfast and the snacks and drinks were of excellent quality and competively priced in comparison to what it cost elsewhere.

All the staff from the owner down were incredibly, and naturally, cheerful, polite and helpful at all times. OIt is a hands on family run establishment and it is a credit to them.

We ate at number of restaurants in Funchal--with Olives in the centre being good value in a buzzy atmosphere but for the best fish by far --and again at reasonable prices-Restaurant Portao, about 3 minutes walk away from the hotel, was simply wonderful.

Madeira is a truly beautiful island and the clean up operation has been so successful that there is very little sign of the catastrophe that hit them early in 2010. Funchal itself is avery relaxing place to be with a old world charm. The new hotels and apartments on the West side of the town have been overdone however and whilst no doubt they are wonderful to stay in, the result is a bit of a concrete jungle. We were definitely in the right place in the old town.

I'm certain we will return to Madeira and when we do we will look no further that the Hotel Albergaria Dias

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARDPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
395
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter Devon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We have just returned after staying five nights at this hotel. It is extremely difficult to add anything which has not already been said. This hotel is very special, the owners Mr Dias and his son are very welcoming, a free drink on arrival, a personal goodbye when you leave. Excellent breakfast, spotlessly clean, perfect location, what more could you ask for? We booked direct with the hotel and didn't have to pay anything until we arrived, very trusting.Highly recommended.

Bootle45

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the moment you arrive and are met by the owners, to the day of departure, you are served by the most pleasant and friendly staff I have ever encountered. The whole Hotel was spotless. We were on the first floor overlooking the pool, and only ever used the stairs, which were absolutely pristine. The gardens were beautiful.
Breakfast had something for everyone. Perfection came as standard here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sulin454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Albergaria Dias very much. Our compliments to Senor Dias, father and son for such a well run hotel.

We found that all the staff were very pleasant. Cecilia and the other receptionists were very friendly and most helpful.

We would definitely recommend highly this hotel.

Geoff & Elizabeth Wood

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkieholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

this is a nice hotel with very good people running it from the owners down,the rooms are fine and the pool is a calm oasis from the streets of funchal which can be manic, the view from the sea view rooms leave a little to be desired but this is not the fault of the hotel, the breakfast is the best we have ever had anywhere the position of the hotel is spot on, 5 mins walk from the old town with is many resurants & bars

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eivetsrednow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This was our second time to Funchal and our first at the Albergaria Dias (but it won't be our last) . All the staff are so welcoming and friendly, Mr Dias senior was always around to make sure that your stay was perfect. It was my wife's birthday while we were there and while we were at breakfast a lovely flower arrangement appeared in our room together with a certificate to celebrate the occasion - a really nice touch.
The hotel is in a wonderful location just off the old town but also very easy to get to with a car (we had a hire car for 4 days). Even though it is within 2 minutes walk of the old town it is also very quiet and also not overlooked, with stunning views over the harbour. Rooms are very well presented, all with balconies and sea views and plenty of space with chairs, a small table and satellite TV, fridge, hair dryer etc.
This is only a B&B hotel (as it is so close to the restaurants in the old town) but the breakfast is out of this world - wonderful fresh fruit salad, a choice of hot and cold meats, eggs etc, every type of bread and cake, and an endless supply of tea and coffee. The pool looks very tempting and would have been good if the weather had been a bit more settled than when we were there - a few hardy souls did eat their breakfast by the pool ( albeit with fleeces on!!)
We were staying as part of a Thomson package and they did us proud as we were due to fly back on the Monday when all European airspace was closed down. On the Sunday evening we had a call from our Thomson rep to ask us whether we were OK to go back on a ship to the UK the next day - well what a way to come home - on the 'Island Escape' (a Thomson cruise ship) - all the way from Madeira to Falmouth - fully catered for and no fraught waiting at airports!
Thank you for a wonderful holiday - to the Albergaria Dias and to Thomsons.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davekimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York. UK.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We like nothing less than the best … which is why I booked the Albergaria Dias some months ago for a spring break. I won’t reiterate everything which has been written many times over about this delightful hotel but I’ll try to add one or two things which are sometimes passed over. Firstly, the two Snrs Dias are jealously - and rightly so - proud of their little jewel. Nothing is too much trouble for them and their friendly and efficient staff. My laptop has been playing up a bit of late and I wasn’t able to connect to the hotel wifi. Snr Dias (junior) took the time to see if he could fix it and when he couldn’t, he lent me a Portuguese Telecom dongle for the week (free of charge) so I was able to connect anywhere in the hotel. As it happened, we had rather a poor week of weather (can’t really complain - 40+ were killed in the storms in February) and not being able to listen to the BBC or play internet bridge would have been very sad for me (or am I just very sad??) I note that previous visitors introduced Yorkshire Tea to the already mammoth breakfasts (probably the best fruit salad I have ever eaten) and we caused great amusement (particularly among the Germans) by warming the large teapot first and going outside to put the hot water into the flowerbed. A wonderful, wonderful start to the day.

Just one tiny point: although the rooms are - hurray! - carpeted, there is still some internal noise in the hotel. The turbo-charged lift is a bit noisy (but rarely between 2200 and 0700) and one of two plumbing and extractor noises slightly bothered me but, after all, that’s what earplugs are for. I doubt whether 95% of guests would notice anything.

Somewhere on the web it says that this hotel is “up in the hills beyond the Old Town” … simply not true; you leave the hotel by a short walled path, go through an electronic gate and you are there: with restaurants and bars aplenty. A Portao rightly deserves its high rating but the Chinese further along is worth a visit for lunch. Our favourite from last time (Regional….) was closed for renovation after the floods but will probably be open now as I write. All of these establishments are of a high order and you won’t go wrong with any of them.

With the main port a mere ten minute’s stroll, I find it difficult to believe that anyone would want to stay in the concrete jungle way out west beyond the town. I see that others are booking a year in advance; well, if that’s what it takes, do it. You certainly will not be disappointed.

Waysidemen (York)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank waysidemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing