We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Upon Hull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I trawled TripAdvisor looking for the right place for our first holiday without kids. We read some wonderful reviews and decided to have our holiday here. Totally the right choice, the location and staff are what made for a wonderful holiday. Mr Dias was a great host and he is at the hotel from 6.30 am to do the breakfast with his very capable staff. There is a very good choice of cereals, bacon, eggs, grilled tomatoes, chorizo and onions and pancakes there is also a good selection of continental fare and to top that there is also the fresh every day fruit salad and if you don't like that there's yogurt. The hotel is spotlessly clean the rooms are comfortable. The pool may not be heated but it is a welcome relief when the day is hot.there are plenty of sun loungers around the pool and shaded seating to have a drink or snack. Because your in the old part of the town you are in a prime location for all the best restaurants the tour buses the cable car and the marina.We really enjoyed our two week stay and would like to thank everyone for helping to make it a great holiday. Mr Dias snr and jnr, Cecilia, Monica, Liliana, Carla,Tanya, Luisa, Ullises please forgive us if we spelled any of your names wrong. This is a true gem of Madeira and one not to be missed thanks to you all.

Room Tip: If you like a cup of tea or coffee in your room like we do please pack a travel kettle and tea and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    35
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
404
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a few days here over the New Year. I read the TripAdvisor review before booking and I have to say Albergaria Dias turned out to be everything that was promised. Mr Dias treats his guests like family and he will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. His staff are always on hand when you need them and they always have a ready smile. There's always some extra little touch from Mr Dias such as surprise packages to accompany your meal; it may be as simple as a little taste of some local speciality fruit which he has packaged for you to take away with you. The fireworks display is spectacular all around the harbour at New Year and while we were there Mr Dias invited all his guests to watch from the top floor of the building; he turned it into a little party and laid on food for everyone. If you are going to Madeira, you won't find a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira and we couldn't have chosen anywhere better to stay. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.the rooms weren't quite ready so we were shown around the ground floor and given a welcome drink on the terrace. Then we were shown to our room and what a lovely surprise we were given the suite which had a large living area and bedroom, and two bathrooms one housing the bath and the other the shower, wc etc. There was a small fridge in the bedroom. Then the best bit was the large balcony with two Sun loungers and umbrella umbrellas a table and chairs with beautiful views over funchal and the harbour.
Out the gate at the back led to rua de de santa maria which is the oldest street in funchal and is full of restaurants, yes they do ask you if you want to eat in their restaurants as you pass, we just said no thanks and carried on walking, some are more persistent than others. The hotel is central for all the sights of Funchal if you don't mind climbing the hills to some of them. It is very handy for the cable car to Monte.
How any one can complain about the breakfast amazes me. There is a choice of hot and cold foods, consisting of eggs alternating between fried, scrambled or omelettes, bacon, pancakes, then there are at least 8 different types of bread and rolls, a variety of ham and cheese, jams and fruit, not forgetting the famous fruit salad, there was always madeira cake as well and yogurts. To drink there were 4 different juices and a variety of teas and coffee.
They don't do meals but you can get sandwiches, toasties etc during the day which were very good and reasonably priced.
The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean, very peaceful even though there is major building work going on at the seafront you could hear very little in the Hotel and grounds.
We didn't use the Hotel bar as we had a drink with our meal and then just relaxed on our balcony or in our room.
All in all an excellent hotel and a wonderful holiday.
Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel Albergaria Dias.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic 7 night holiday at this hotel (wish we had booked 14). I think it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we are frequent travellers worldwide).
It is a small boutique hotel - spotlessly clean. The owner and staff are excellent - very friendly, welcoming, and professional. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. We paid extra for a sea view on the third floor, which also overlooked the old town buildings and across the bay with a view of Reids Palace Hotel. There are also two rooms on the fourth floor which I am sure would have nice views over the old town. There is extensive work being carried out at the Harbour front but there is no noise at this hotel and once you are aware of the work you do not notice it. Should all be lovely when its finished.
The breakfasts at Albergaria are excellent - everything you could want for breakfast and Mr Dias makes a fantastic fresh mixed fruit salad, which many other visitors have commented on. You can order light lunches - sandwiches, toasted sandwiches, chips, and we tried Mr Dias traditional fresh tomato soup which is delicious. They also serve a variety of drinks - again we particularly enjoyed Mr Dias fresh lemonade. We also enjoyed the cocktails.
The dining room is very nice and there is a lovely terrace overlooking the pool. Excellent swimming pool and very pretty and well kept gardens.
The hotel also knows English speaking taxi drivers and we used them to take us all over the island - they were also excellent. They take you to place that coaches cannot get to and it is a much nicer way to see the Island as you can take your time. We shared the taxi with another couple which made it cheaper.
The old town is lovely to walk around. There are many very good restaurants (which I will review separately). It is true that the waiters do try to get you into their restaurant, but its is not a problem - we had a chat and a laugh with them all as we were walking round and they are all very good humoured even if you don't eat at their restaurant.
We treated ourselves to afternoon tea at Reids Palace Hotel. A lovely experience.
So .... yes, Hotel Albergaria Dias is a fantastic hotel on a fantastic island with fantastic people ......... we don't usually go back ..... but we will be back to your hotel Mr Dias.
Thank you for making our holiday so special.
Ann + Derek XX

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel staff are OK.
The breakfast was very poor missing allot of small details- the fitness centre is also very very poor - not many pieces of equipment, Near the hotel the Old part of the town have many restaurants and bares and are full of people trying to get us in their restaurants and bares it was not nice.
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely beautifull from side to side (Porto Moniz, Santana, Curral das Freiras, Monte all really beautiful ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend also.
Will be back to Madeira but not to the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Well another fantastic week ... Thanks to Mr Dias his family and the brilliant staff.... The hotel is as spotless as ever with the warmest welcome you could dream of ... The food is fresh, home made and the cake is delicious, the whole team can not do enough to make you have the best holiday . My friend and I have just had the most relaxing week ever and will be back next year without a doubt..... Thanks x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well! I have been in many lovely hotels but have never been made so welcome as last week by all the staff led by Cecelia at Albergaria Dias
Mr Dias Snr and Jnr are both charming and are round and about all day seeing to their guests So impressive ! And they're enjoying themselves too!
I do have a mobility problem and the cobbles in the old town are a problem especially if you're the one pushing the wheelchair ! But Cecelia organised our personal taxi driver Joe which solved the problem He took us to and from the hotel informing us of all the interesting parts of Funchal Lovely man !
So. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough . Come and try for yourselves !!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor. Lovely. No complaints. Immaculate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,858 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#7 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 86 in Funchal
1,816 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing