We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AN ABSOLUTE GEM OF A HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albergaria Dias

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Save
You added Hotel Albergaria Dias to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“AN ABSOLUTE GEM OF A HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just arrived home from a fantastic 7 night holiday at this hotel (wish we had booked 14). I think it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we are frequent travellers worldwide).
It is a small boutique hotel - spotlessly clean. The owner and staff are excellent - very friendly, welcoming, and professional. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. We paid extra for a sea view on the third floor, which also overlooked the old town buildings and across the bay with a view of Reids Palace Hotel. There are also two rooms on the fourth floor which I am sure would have nice views over the old town. There is extensive work being carried out at the Harbour front but there is no noise at this hotel and once you are aware of the work you do not notice it. Should all be lovely when its finished.
The breakfasts at Albergaria are excellent - everything you could want for breakfast and Mr Dias makes a fantastic fresh mixed fruit salad, which many other visitors have commented on. You can order light lunches - sandwiches, toasted sandwiches, chips, and we tried Mr Dias traditional fresh tomato soup which is delicious. They also serve a variety of drinks - again we particularly enjoyed Mr Dias fresh lemonade. We also enjoyed the cocktails.
The dining room is very nice and there is a lovely terrace overlooking the pool. Excellent swimming pool and very pretty and well kept gardens.
The hotel also knows English speaking taxi drivers and we used them to take us all over the island - they were also excellent. They take you to place that coaches cannot get to and it is a much nicer way to see the Island as you can take your time. We shared the taxi with another couple which made it cheaper.
The old town is lovely to walk around. There are many very good restaurants (which I will review separately). It is true that the waiters do try to get you into their restaurant, but its is not a problem - we had a chat and a laugh with them all as we were walking round and they are all very good humoured even if you don't eat at their restaurant.
We treated ourselves to afternoon tea at Reids Palace Hotel. A lovely experience.
So .... yes, Hotel Albergaria Dias is a fantastic hotel on a fantastic island with fantastic people ......... we don't usually go back ..... but we will be back to your hotel Mr Dias.
Thank you for making our holiday so special.
Ann + Derek XX

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cats41Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    29
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
364
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel staff are OK.
The breakfast was very poor missing allot of small details- the fitness centre is also very very poor - not many pieces of equipment, Near the hotel the Old part of the town have many restaurants and bares and are full of people trying to get us in their restaurants and bares it was not nice.
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely beautifull from side to side (Porto Moniz, Santana, Curral das Freiras, Monte all really beautiful ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend also.
Will be back to Madeira but not to the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Well another fantastic week ... Thanks to Mr Dias his family and the brilliant staff.... The hotel is as spotless as ever with the warmest welcome you could dream of ... The food is fresh, home made and the cake is delicious, the whole team can not do enough to make you have the best holiday . My friend and I have just had the most relaxing week ever and will be back next year without a doubt..... Thanks x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Well! I have been in many lovely hotels but have never been made so welcome as last week by all the staff led by Cecelia at Albergaria Dias
Mr Dias Snr and Jnr are both charming and are round and about all day seeing to their guests So impressive ! And they're enjoying themselves too!
I do have a mobility problem and the cobbles in the old town are a problem especially if you're the one pushing the wheelchair ! But Cecelia organised our personal taxi driver Joe which solved the problem He took us to and from the hotel informing us of all the interesting parts of Funchal Lovely man !
So. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough . Come and try for yourselves !!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor. Lovely. No complaints. Immaculate !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Well, I have been home an hour and just booked to go back in October. Exceptionally friendly hotel with extremely attentive staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Close to local restaurants. Guests receive a personal welcome from the owner, Mr Dias, who is there early every morning to prepare breakfast and check on his guests. Only 35 rooms so has a personal touch. Close to local attractions. We met a number of guests who return there year after year...at first I wondered why...but now I know! Not sure why it only has 3 stars as it is much better than some of the higher rated hotels I have stayed at. The only fault was that I should have booked 2 weeks instead of one! Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309. Perfect view of pool, garden and harbour / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie64W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from out third stay in this hotel. Frankly we would not want to stay anywhere else. We like to never stay in the same place twice but the Albergaria Dias is the one exception to this rule which should say all that is necessary to readers of this review.
We are very particular and this hotel ticks all the boxes. Firstly it is small - 35 rooms - which is the perfect size. Secondly it is in the perfect location in the old town but at the same time really secluded. The vehicle entrance from Rua Bela de Sao Tiago is gated and can only be opened by reception or by remote control issued to guests if you need one. The pedestrian entrance/exit is by a passageway down to the next street in the old town (gated) and only a few yards from the castle, restaurants and cable car etc. Thirdly, as other reviewers have said, the Dias family and the staff are as friendly welcoming and helpful as any we have experienced. The rooms are comfortable and well fitted. The entire hotel is exceptionally clean and well decorated. The patio area and outdoor swimming pool surrounded by plants and flowers is delightful. There is a small fitness area, sauna and library. But the `piece de resistance' is the breakfast particularly the fresh fruit salad which we salivate thinking about as soon as we book to stay again. As you will gather we love this place. As a consequence of its quality it is a hotel that gets fully booked early and you have to book well ahead. Please do not all of you out there book to stay otherwise we will not be able to get in next time we want to stay!

Room Tip: There are four floors with just two suites on the top floor. All rooms face south towards the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I had previously stayed in Funchal but this time decided to stay in the old town and chose this hotel. We were not disappointed. From the moment we entered the hotel to be greeted by Mr Dias and the staff to the moment we left, politeness was the watchword , nothing was to much trouble. For those that know Funchal the hotel is situated near the old yellow fort and so in easy reach of the front as well as the centre. The room we had was what we expected and comfortable. The view from the balcony was very good and paid dividends on the Saturday night where we were able to watched an uninterrupted show of fireworks. Breakfast was the normal continental, cereals and some cooked food. However the highlight, and this has been mentioned before, Mr Dias's chopped fruit salad. Always fresh and always very tasty. Snacks were available during the day and we found everything was reasonably priced. Despite the weather being cloudy we spent a bit of time by the pool. The hotel itself is well placed and the outside noise is a bare minimum. You really have to listen to hear any traffic noise. All said a very good experience and if we ever return to Funchal this hotel will be on our list. Thank you to all the staff for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,340 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing