We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything that was expected.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's all been said really. From our point of view:-

For:- Friendly, helpful staff. Good extensive breakfast (to the usual Madeiran hotel standard). Clean, quiet at night. Good drinks prices.

Against:- The bed we had was hard (again this seems to be the usual in Madeiran hotels in our experience). Cool pool (ie not very warm!). Small breakfast area (could be cramped if you arrived at the wrong time), although the staff did an excellent job of clearing tables and making them available again. Small room, even though we had one of the bigger ones.

Generally good, we would say about right at four-star.

Not the fault of the hotel but if you are planning to stay in Funchal, be aware that there is an extensive remodelling of the water front taking place, which will result (after two or three years from now) in a "beach", a new park and marina area, and repositioned river outlets. The work is NOISY during the day (can't really be heard from this particular hotel) and I have to say that it got on our nerves when out and about. We'll give it a miss for a year or three until it's finished!

Nearby small restaurant recommendations: Portao (excellent sauces to complement meat dishes), Indian House (new, on Rua do Esmeraldo just up from the Yellow Square) serving excellent inexpensive curries. A lot of the other restaurants near to the hotel seem to substitute quantity for quality though.

Room Tip: For a room with a view choose floors three or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CnDWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 514 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

During our holidays in Madeira/Funchal we were staying in the Albergaria Dias hotel. The welcome was very warm and pleasant. The crew of the hotel is very professional, helpful and speaks many languages. The rooms are nice and clean, well equipped and all have a terrace with view to the garden, the swimming pool and most of them also to the sea. The breakfast is really extensive, super varied and the fruit salad is amazing. Mister Dias Sr is making it every day by himself and he enjoys it when his clients are happy. Mister Juan Dias Jr who is doing the bar in the evening and the night is also a very nice man always busy with the happiness of his clients. We will go back to this beautiful island and only to the best hotel of whole Madeira: Albergaria Dias. Greetings Alfonso de Keyser

Room Tip: 2nd and 3th floor have a better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly hotel in a great location close to the old town where you will find lots of little restaurants to suit all pockets. Staff are very helpful, will help you find local buses etc. we were on a package with Thompson so very good value.
Good little bakery down the run de Santa Maria where you can get plain rolls for 40cents, filled for a euro!
Weather in April not brilliant so go prepared for everything!
Would go back to this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AlisonAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in March this year.We can honestly say it far exceeded all our expectations. The owner of the hotel was charming and could not do enough for you as were his staff who without doubt are the best hotel staff we have ever had dealings with. The room and the hotel were spotlessly clean and it was one the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in. No paper thin walls. Our room over looked the harbour and it was facinating to watch the cruise ships arive and depart each day.
Breakfast what can we say other than it was amazing. Anything you could think of was on offer each morning. The home made fruit salad made by the owner each morning was 5 star +.
The hotel is situationed convienently in the old part of the town close to all the restaurants and bars as well as the harbour and cable car. The town centre also being only a ten minute stroll away.
If you are planning on going to Funchal you would be crazy not to stay here

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathNKeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This really is a little gem for all the reasons other contributors have said, and the reason we returned for a second time this March (2013). Everything is well managed from the great breakfast to the hotel facilities coupled with helpfull and charming staff who always greet you with a smile. Raul does a great job behind the bar and always has a story to tell.
If I was to dig deep for a small criticism then it would be the sliding door fitted wardrobes which transmit sound into adjacent rooms. This is only a problem if your neighbours rise early and you don't as it was during the first part of our stay. However the numerous other good points about the hotel far outweigh this minor irritation and it would not deter us from opting for this hotel for any subsequent stays in Funchal.
One important issue which Thomson did not warn us about was the significant amount of major civil engineering projects going on in town along the prom including a new man-made beach, new town square and major changes to the two river estuaries. Some of the associated noise was audible at the hotel but clearly not their fault and the work looks as if it will continue for some time.

Room Tip: Worth going for the third floor for the sea and harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

looking for a place near the old town to spend the last 2 nights of our holiday, we stumbled upon the Albergaria Dias. The welcome here could not be warmer, the setting is beautiful (overlooks the old town and cruise ship harbour, small but colourful and private semi-tropical garden, inviting swiming pool), comfortable rooms and the breakfast is excellent. It is not the cheapest place to stay in Funchal by far (>200 Euros p.n.), but it would be hard to find better value or a place that makes you feel at home. But now we must leave and face the snow and cold weather back home...

Room Tip: the higher the floor, the better the view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJPinBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived here as part of a Thomson package as B & B, and that was where that connection ceased.
The Albergeria Dias is very much a family concern with the two Mr Dias running the operation. Father is very much in charge and how effective he is. From the front desk welcome to kitchen uniform on and sometimes running the best breakfast I have possibly tasted, with the best fruit salad ever!
Rooms are very clean with satellite tv, balcony overlooking the pool and almost all day sun, if you are lucky with the weather--- as we were.
The staff are extremely effective, they are around when you want them and discretely invisible when not required. Drinks and snacks are available most of the day, at the bar or the pool.
There is also a mini fitness centre, library, safe at a minimal charge, wifi and an accessible computer.
I normally state I shall return, or not. With Albergeria Dias, I do not want to leave!!
The location in the Old Town is great for shops, restaurants and local transport. Obrigado to all.

Room Tip: All are facing pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,968 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,889 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $94 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing