We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is indeed a hidden gem of a hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is indeed a hidden gem of a hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

After having read reviews of this hotel, we decided to book for a week from the 11th to 18th April.
We were not disappointed. Everything is really first class. It is a quiet hotel, hidden in the gardens. Very tastefully built and decorated.
Mr Dias and his son, lovely people. Very attentive and welcoming as are all of the staff.
The rooms are cleaned daily, fresh towels every day, linen changed in the middle of the week. spotlessly clean and white.
Breakfast each day was a wonderful selection of local fresh fruits. cold meats and cooked breakfast if desired. lots of choices of different breads and pastries.
We had a room with a pool view. But if you can afford an upgrade it would be worth getting a room with sea view or even better the penthouse rooms!
Just a short walk to the town through a private path and entrance.
The staff at hotel were extremely polite and helpful giving advise about trips and visits.
Mrs Dias expects a high standard of care from his staff and gets it. The attention to detail was apparent. A fabulous hotel, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view, or even better sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_snelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    34
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
397
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cooling Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This wonderful hotel right in the heart of the old town just a stones throw away from all the restaurants. As I was responsible for booking this hotel for my group of 4 couples, I was congratulated by all of my friends on finding such a wonderful place to stay. Mr Dias and all his staff should be congratulated on the standard of excellence of a small establishment
such as this hotel. We will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2011

If you like large-scale anodyne hotels, then this is not for you. If, however you want a small, friendly, well-run hotel in the heart of the old town then this is the perfect place. A wonderful view of the harbour from our room enabled us to watch the cruise ships enter and leave the harbour. The breakfasts were fantastic (especially the fruit salad!) with a wide range of choice each day. The location also gave easy access to some of the best restaurants in Funchal. The staff 's excellent knowledge and help enabled us to find our way around using the island's local and regional buses, which were a short distance away from the hotel. We had a great holiday and would return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

How to pronounce Albergaria Daias so taxi drivers could understand me!!

When I booked this was #1 on Trip Advisor for Funchal, and I was a little dubious as to how a small B&B could be so good. I was concerned also about comments of it being in a run down area. How wrong I was!! this place is fantastic - I'm well travelled and ahve stayed in some posh hotels in my time - various Oberoi and Taj hotels, Sheratons, Grosvenor House in London - on friendliness (not OTT like some places, just the right level) , cleanliness (things like the grout in the bathroom was if done yesterday), food quality (the breakfast hot food changed daily, as a type of cooked meat ran out it was replaced, 4 fresh juices, homemade jam (tomato and chilli to name but 2 - delicious!!) and comfort this place cannot be bettered.

As to the area, now I see it I understand - but don't agree - the area comments. It's in the Old Town and some buildings have been left to decay a little. That's no fault of the hotel - it's almost part of the character of the area - but down to general economic downturn and the inabilty of people to afford to keep premises as pristine as some people think they should be. I'd suggest those who didn't like the Old Town should have stayed in the characterless Hotel Zone instead.

The gym is small - good quality treadmill, exercise bike and all purpose weights machine plus reebock steps, the pool inviting and internet access free. Library of books in german and englkish left by previous guests.

You are slap bang in the middle of lots of excellent bistro type eating places, we tried 5 and each was OK, some better than others but that's par for the course anywhere. The one which stood out for us was a little dearer, running an offer of any starter, and main and any dessert plus bread pate and coffee plus wine with each course for 35euro. The food quality was excellent, as was the service, and to sit next to a cannon rampart looking out over the sea, (with heater and blanket supplied in case you were chill) was a lovely way to finish 2 days - the only restaurnat we repeated. It's Restaurante Do Forte, in the museum fort, about 400m from the Alber thing Dias!!

I promised Mr Dias we'd be back and I'm already researching flights for next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank broomsticklady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This was a beautiful small hotel where every member of staff comes out to great you on arrival. Nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are very clean and well decorated and the pool area is great. The views from the rooms were amazing – got some wonderful photos and the breakfast had everything, even a fussy eater would find plenty to eat. The location couldn’t be better, just walk out the back gate (card access only) and wonder along the street for literally a minute or two and you hit the restaurants of the old quarter. I would recommend the Chinese and O’riginal restaurants. Everything is within walking distance and it is all flat for a change. One recommendation is to wear flat shoes but not flip flops as the cobblestones can be awkard to walk on. Try Dias juniors cocktails – they are lovely and strong! Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LuluWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Albergaria Dias Hotel was everything we expected and more – it was so quiet and peaceful. The staff were friendly, helpful and very professional and always smartly dressed in their hotel uniforms. We were greeted with a welcome drink and then taken to our room (No.304) on the 3rd Floor which had a magnificent view of the marina and the hotel’s lovely well kept garden and swimming pool. There was a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us in our room. The room was nicely furnished, in immaculate decorative order with fully fitted carpet and was kept spotlessly clean. Our comfortable twin beds were changed regularly as were the towels in our modern ensuite tiled bathroom. Bath ropes were also supplied.

The hotel bar served drinks and snacks and the buffet breakfast (served from 08.00 – 10.00) was one of the best we have had in Europe. It included a delicious fresh fruit salad, melon and orange slices, cereals, yogurts, ham, cheese, rolls, bread, croissants and cake. They also had a varying selection of hot food which included bacon, saveloy sausages, fried egg, omelette and pancakes. The breakfast drink selection ranged from various fruit juices to different types of teas and coffee.

The Albergaria Dias is conveniently situated in the Old Town only a few minutes walk (via a private gated path) from the cable car, buses, promenade and an abundance of good restaurants. The hotel provided a computer for guests to use in a downstairs lobby (free of charge) and wifi which extended to the outside seating area around the pool.

We travelled independently booking direct with the hotel on www.albergariadias.com and flying with easyJet. We found the hotels Rack Rates to be very competitive and ideal for anyone wishing to travel on specific days of the week for any length of time.

We will definitely be returning in the future. Madeira is a beautiful island and we still have many Levada Walks and gardens left to explore. In the meantime it is THANK YOU to Mr Dias (Senior and Junior) and their dedicated staff team for a truly wonderful holiday which came complete with perfect warm sunny weather.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Having read the rave reviews on here I think we were expecting a little too much! The hotel was nice enough and I have to say was spotlessly clean but was not the wonderful gem we were led to believe. There were two things that spoilt it for us and they were: 1) The pool was freezing cold and so was unusable and 2) People were allowed to smoke on the terrace were people were eating, one couple were unable to eat their lunch it was so smoky! We did not even have a drink on the terrace, the smoking was so heavy and the pool area quite small we were inhaling it just trying to sunbathe.
The breakfast was lovely with a wide array of fruits and freshly sqeezed juices and a gorgeous fresh fruit salad and all the staff were pleasant and friendly.
I would recommend this hotel as long as you don't want to swim in pool and if you don't mind cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Krizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.7 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Property: Hotel Albergaria Dias
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing