We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Thank You Quinta Das Vistas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Ranked #48 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank You Quinta Das Vistas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've spent a great time at Quinta Das Vistas. The Hotel is wonderful. Location, garden, decor, facilities, FOOD, and the kindest staff on earth! Very warm atmosphere makes you feel welcomed and relaxed. Great view from the restaurant and panoramic view from my room! I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for panoramic- then you can see Funchal, beautiful especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    87
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
30
209
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Quintas das Vistas in the last week in Feb 13, first trip to Madeira. It takes me ages to choose a card for someone's birthday let alone a hotel. I am very pleased to say this was a fantastic find, friendly staff on arrival which set the scene for the rest of the stay. A lovely room with a great view over Funchal (must have liked it loads of pics from balcony) and a nice bottle of Madeira which makes a change from choc's or flowers.

Breakfast was only made better by smiling staff, a great spread with bubbly and ketchup if you ask for it. Tell them how you would like your eggs, pancakes fantastic.

Great tasting menu one evening and a lovely meal another night.

Food in town excellent try restaurant londres doesn't look the best but great local dishes order one portion between two (opposite photography museum).

Spa and pools excellent watch the wind as I crisped up in Feb.

Main man in bar and restaurant excellent.

Really enjoyed this hotel great staff and location is excellent particularly if you find the tunnel route under the houses into town.

Room Tip: 417 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvlawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

It will be hard to find a better and more pleasant place to stay on Madeira. The staff is fantastic, friendly and with a sense of humour to just love. The food is fine and the knowledge of local traditions and cuisine is great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mellingsater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from 10 wonderful days at Quinta dos Vistas, We wanted a hotel that was quiet, with nice food. We found it. The staff were lovely, everyone was so pleasant and helpful. We ate in the hotel most nights, it was not cheap but we felt very good value for standard of food we had. The chef was charming, the dining room manager and all his staff could not do enough for us. The spa area was lovely, on the cloudy days we even went there to read, the treatments were very good. On the sunny days we lay outside, overlooking the bay. Thank you Quinta dos Vistas for a wonderful holiday, Peg and Rob Nicholson Spain

Room Tip: Bath was very small, the only shower was over the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I did a lot of research before choosing this hotel: we wanted something more traditional, and away from the main tourist zone of the Lido. And we were delighted! The building itself is palatial, with a large lounge area filled with comfortable arm chairs and squishy sofas and free wifi access, where one could happily sit all day if the weather was as it was on our trip! All the staff were delightful, and happy to help in any way to make our stay enjoyable.
We found that our room, although classed as a standard, was luxurious: it's always lovely to have additional extras such as bath robes and slippers, and there was a balcony looking over the garden, and up the mountain to Monte. I didn't find the pillow very comfortable, but that's not a major issue! The spa area was beautiful, with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, and the pools were heated. We love swimming, and the photos of the pools was one of the reasons I selected this hotel - although they weren't as big as I had hoped, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We appreciated the various seating areas in the grounds of the hotel, on the several terraces.
Breakfast was generous: plenty of cereals, fruits, salad, cheeses, ham, pate, fresh rolls, croissants, muffins...together with a selection of hot food every day - and a delicious range of egg dishes cooked to order. The dining room staff were absolutely charming, and nothing was too much trouble.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel, mainly due to the fact that we were on a rather tight budget and the restaurant there is - for us - expensive. But lots of guests ate there every night, and it sounds as if the food was wonderful! The price of drinks and bar snacks was - again, for us - rather pricey. Two coffees/teas was 6 euros, and one evening we had two drinks of madeira wine and tonic water, which was 12 euros. But it is a luxury hotel, so I suppose that is to be expected!
The location is out of the town centre, and there didn't seem to be any local bars/restaurants/grocery shops. On the first morning, we walked down - about 25 mins - which was fine, but the road is quite busy, so the walk isn't that enjoyable. There is a shuttle bus that runs at set times, and which (even though the hotel seemed to be quite quiet) gets booked up quickly. If you don't mind being constrained by a timetable, it's a good service - otherwise, there are local buses that run from nearby. We hired a car, and there is plenty of free parking at the hotel.
As we had an evening flight home, we were given a late check out which was really appreciated.
We'd definitely stay there again: for a relaxing, chilled holiday on a beautiful island, I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel, it was quiet following the New Year which suited us well. Tremendous breakfasts with views across the hills and harbour. Very attentive staff and room made up promptly every day. The courtesy bus is very good, we often used it one way and taxi back. If walking to town turn right out of the hotel drive and then first right, there are pavements all the way ( good advice from the courtesy bus driver) dont risk the sightly shorter "no pavement route". Fabulous pool heated to 27C we used it every day as well as turkish bath or sauna. We will return

Room Tip: There are good views from most parts of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is probably truly a four star, but the service was excellent and the food matched it.
The hotel is only within walking distance of the main town if you like walking on narrow roads without pavements, so dont bother.
The taxi costs 7 Euros into town. There is a shuttle service, but we never used it, times never matched when we wanted to go. Anyway, the Island is the experience, so for your sake, rent a car.
This cost and inconveinience is worth it, when you see the view.
The bathroom suites may require a little updating, but you cant fault the accommodation.
We are fussy travellers and I recommend this hotel, for what it's worth.

Room Tip: 400 - 415, or those rooms facing east, on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartSinclair-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#63 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#47 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens

Property: Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Address: Caminho Santo Antonio 52, Funchal, Madeira 9000-187, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#43 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Category: 5 Stars HotelLocation: On the brow of a hill above the capital, Funchal With panoramic views of downtown, the Atlantic Ocean and the surrounding mountains. Surrounded by 12.000 m² of mature centenary gardens 10 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk into the centre of town 25 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Hotel courtesy bus service to Funchal - Marina Easily available taxis Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 3 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities: Free parking availableRooms at the Quinta das Vistas:63 Double Rooms (30m²) spread over three floors03 Junior Suites (45m²)04 Suites (50m²)01 Presidential Suite (80m²) on the top floor of the original house2 twin rooms specially equipped for guests with wheel chair Room Facilities: Private balcony with a superb views of the gardens, Funchal, the mountains or the Atlantic ocean Luxury wood and carpet floors Bathrooms with Portuguese marble and oak Bath with shower Separate area for toilet and bidet  Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Double glazing Direct dial telephone Free Wireless in all rooms and public areas Electronic in-room safe free of charge Mini-bar Bathrobes Room slippers Internet access Sitting area with comfortable armchairs Dressing table with mirror Hair-dryer at the dressing table Cable TV with 30 Portuguese and international channels Wake-up and message system through the telephone system Non Smoking rooms available Family rooms available (2 main beds and 2 extra beds)Public Areas and Additional Facilities  Reception and lobby, Interior winter garden and a Formal lounge Cocktail Bar, veranda and terrace Panoramic gourmet restaurant, veranda and terrace Reserved area in the restaurant for non smokers Interior and exterior heated swimming pool Second exterior heated swimming pool Jacuzzi, Sauna, Turkish Bath, Relaxation Room with magnificent views, Sensations shower and Vichy bath, Foot Spa and panoramic Fitness room available free of charge Treatment rooms Magnificent tropical centenary gardens and green areas with paths surrounding the property, relaxation and rest areas e 9-holes mini golf Garden corners with different features  Vintage Rolls Royce available for special transfers Free reception of faxes and Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with deliveries in 24 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel)  Breakfast in the room from 7:30 to 10:30  Room Service from 10:00 to 24:00The details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival  Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free electronic room safe, bath robe and slippers  Free use of sauna, Turkish bath,, sensations shower, whirlpool, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms and much more at Chandra Spa. Free use of the Health Centre & Fitness Room facilities Guests on Half Board may opt to eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge Vintage Rolls Royce available for VIP guests, anniversaries or birthdays A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs  A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars at Quinta das Vistas:Restaurant La Belle Terrasse:Situated in the centenary main house, it provides a wonderful colonial atmosphere with veranda and terrace.The gourmet menu offers creative dishes that combine local produce with exotic herbs and spices. The Executive Chef uses fresh herbs grown in the garden and only fresh produce that is carefully selected in the local farmers market.The dining room is decorated in keeping with the original architecture and colonial history of the house, reminiscent of the elegant romantic past of Madeira.The veranda and terrace are perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Madeira evenings.The service is a full a-la-carte complemented by the chef’s daily suggestions. Open for lunch and dinner.Albatroz Piano Bar:Situated in the main house the bar serves the winter garden, main lounge, veranda and terrace.Panoramic Pool Bar:Serves the pool area with drinks and original snacks. Open for light lunches. Relaxing atmosphere with cane chairs and wood sun umbrellas.The Royal Tea or Coffee, with freshly made scones and pastries is also served in the sitting room, veranda and terrace.Conference Room: Durão IDimensions: Total area 50.00 m² Length 6.80 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 40 persons Schoolroom style – 32 persons U type table – 18 persons Reception – 45 persons Banquet – 32 personsDurão IIDimensions: Total area 25.00 m² Length 6.30 m Width 3.90 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 20 persons Schoolroom style – 15 persons One table – 16 persons Reception – 25 persons Banquet – 16 personsDurão I + IIDimensions: Total area 78.00 m² Length 10.70 m Width 7.30 m Height 3.50 m Air conditioning and heating Natural lightingCapacity: Convention Type – 70 persons Schoolroom style – 50 persons U type table – 25 persons Reception – 60 persons Banquet – 55 personsPrices include: Flipchart, paper and 4 colour felt tip pens (black, blue, green and red) White board with 4 different board markers Pen  Folder of documents Waters for the Presidential TableSpecific audiovisual material: Possibility of providing a large range of audio-visual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the reservation of the material.Coffee Breaks & Business lunch menus: A complete variety of choices are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Hotel Funchal
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing