We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira is a lovely Island, and this Hotel a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Madeira is a lovely Island, and this Hotel a Great Location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great location, superb views, very close to the centre of Funchal.
The rooms are a bit tired, and in needs of updating, but the staff are very friendly and helpful and all the rooms have great views.
A very nice pool with plenty of room, and good access to the sea, the only issue was lack of umbrellas, not enough for the people using the pool.
A short walk to the marina and all the shops and great restaurants, the cable car and Old Town.
We loved our stay here and will go back.

Room Tip: If you can get a pool side room they are very quiet and easy access to the pool, and most of the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaser-bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    190
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
87
248
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The situation is ideal for shopping and exploring the Island and the staff are so friendly.
Handy for a dip in the sea with a clean pool.
The food is good.
Must be good because we keep going back (25 years!)

David & Sylvia Jones

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHOLT ENGLAND
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Once again just returned from a lovely fortnights holiday in our favourite place.
We arrived late on in the afternoon, after a reasonable twin flight with TAP from Heathrow via Lisbon,to be met by beautiful warm sunshine and a smiling taxi driver.
There are many reviews extolling the numerous virtues benefits advantages and faults of the "club" so I will leave you to read those,my view is biased by my love of the people and their wonderful country.
Joel and his reception staff,the cleaning ladies(who keep the place immaculate)the bar staff, the guys who keep us safe and comfortable around the pool (well maybe a few more sunbeds and parasols would be handy!!!!!!!!!)dont shout at VASCO,REAUBEN and ANTONIO its not their fault and all the rest of the staff a BIG THANK-YOU for looking after us so well,and not forgetting the maintenance and the nice guy who looks after our storage bag.
So see you all soon,bank manager permitting

Room Tip: We are owners with an apartment in the pool complex,and love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Though the rooms are a bit outdated and run down, the service and location more than make up for it. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, wonderful pool, and all rooms have ocean view. Only 10 minute walk to shops and restaurants. Great price too. Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February & had an apartment overlooking the side of the hotel. The room was fine, clean but a bit faded and it would have been nice if basic kitchen essentials such as washing up were provided (the maids did not do this) but it was fine for what we wanted. We didn't eat at the hotel (we didn't fancy the fish & chips & bingo nights- clearly the clientele at that time of year are mainly retired) but as a base to explore Funchal it was good. Staff were fairly friendly & helpful and our transport to & from the airport was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Comfortable, convenient, friendly helpful staff. Good well maintained pool area. Welcoming reception area. Close to several good and varied restaurants. Perhaps its' main asset is the position, with an easy walk into central Funchal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great Hotel...Great Staff...Great General Manager.
My wife and I have been going to this very nice hotel for the past 5 years,visiting either at the end of May or early June of each year.
The hotel is well run by very charming and friendly management and the staff is the same each year.
The rooms are very nice and clean and the food is always well presented.There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby and the town is a 10 to 15 minutes away.
We're just back to the U.K. after another visdit and we'll be going again next year.

DHHPP

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhhpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#68 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#57 of 85 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing