We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Relaxing Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have just spent a very good week away at the Madeira Regency Club. Staff are all very friendly and helpful and the food in the Yacht Bar is excellent - well worth the "Meal Deal". It's in a good prime location with seafront views near the old town and the updated promenade just a short distance away makes a pleasant walk into Funchal. I would certainly recommend this resort to friends and family, in fact we are going back late next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    149
    56
    21
    12
See reviews for
73
197
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Regency Club is in the heart of Funchal near the old town, so everything is close at hand.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. It is small under 100 appartments so did not have the coldness of a large place. The food was good. Many beautiful resturants are on your doorstep.
The appartments are lovely and homely, with your full kitchen if you wish to cook. Very clean. Maid service daily, clean towels daily. Just loved the atmosphere in this resort. The views from the Balcony are stunning, watching the cruise ships coming in and everything else going on at sea. Have been a few times, and will definitely be returning in the near future. My favourite place

Room Tip: sea view is fabulous, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have enjoyed weeks RCI weeks 7 and 8 for the last ten years or more at the Madeira Regency Club and hope to go on doing so for a while yet. The friendliness and helpfulness of staff is superb. It would be difficult to improve the location which is very convenient being so close to the centre of Funchal.

We have two wishes following our last visit.
The first is that we would like there to be a bit more variety within the week and from week to week in the table d'hote and buffet menus.
The second concerns the gymnasium facilities by the Squash court. It is good to have the well functioning exercise bicycle but the provision in addition of an exercise mat and say two pairs of individual hand weights would add variety to the exercise possibilities and I am sure would be much appreciated by the probably small number of guests who wish to exercise. The provision of these items should be trouble free as they need next to no maintenance and are not expensive.

Room Tip: My wife and I and friends have always enjoyed the quietness of our two bedroom apartment 315 on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first visit to the island and i have to say we were very happy with our choice. The hotel seems to be situated in the middle of Funchal right between the marina and the lido. You should come to Funchal with the expectation that you will be doing some walking as the town/city covers a wide area.

The accomodation we booked was a self catering suite and we were impressed with what we got for our a large sitting room, well equipped kitchen ( the best we have ever had - no extra charges for kettles etc) decent size bath room with a bath and a shower (over the bath but not an issue for us - might have been if we were an older couple and had trouble with mobility - then i would have to say that Maderia could be an issue as there are steep hills everywhere. The bedroom was comforatably fitted out with loads of cupboard space - however the beds were not as comfortable as i had hoped for - if fact all we could think that it must have been simlular as sleeping on top of a jelly as every time you moved the whole bed moved with you. But this of course could only apply to the bed in the room we had and i suspect not an issue in other rooms as no one has mentioned this previously. We were also fortunate to have a balcony looking out to sea where we could watch the many cruise ships that visit Maderia coming into port. We enjoyed ourselves and am sure that you would too - ideal place for that much needed winter sun

Room Tip: Take a good pair of walking shoes and prepare yourself to walk up and down lots of steep hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterhugo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our favourite place to be. The rooms are suites with separate bedroom, sitting room and a fully equipt kitchen if you like to eat in sometimes.The staff from the lovely Joel on reception to the many staff members are wonderful and so helpful. The Regency is in the best bay of Funchal with some rooms on sea level with direct access to the sea which is very rare in Madeira. The pool area is maintained to a high standard with lovely obliging assistants. The Yacht bar by the pool is a lovely place to sit and relax breakfast here is very good. The old town is about ten minutes walk away and the harbour where the cruise ships come in is just down the road. We return every year and because the hotel is not over big it is such a friendly place to stay. There is just one man who works in the restaurant that needs a personality transplant but because the other waitresses are so nice we have come to laugh about it.

Room Tip: if you are a couple the studio's on sea level are brilliant. The bigger rooms some with ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

An excellent location with spacious and comfortable accommodation.
It would be nice if T.V. channels included BBC 1and 2 and ITV.
Not keen on the gravel finish for the sun-beds and would have liked the pool warmer.

Room Tip: the apartments with en-suite shower rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Wells, Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have visited the Club many times over the last 22 years, and have been delighted with almost every aspect. It is by far the friendliest resort in Madeira, backed up by friendly and accommodating staff, good facilities, and excellent apartments. Superb situation for visits to Funchal, and breakfast at the Yacht Bar overlooking the lovely pool has to be experienced to be believed. Easy access to the sea is yet another bonus.

Room Tip: All, but a few studios, are sea facing, and higher floors have improved views, and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#14 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000 022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing