We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good - very quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Wisbech
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good - very quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for most of a week on a timeshare swap to get some sun and away from the snow. The room was a 2 bedroom and very generously sized. The kitchen was a little basic for our taste. The TV was well stocked with a range of channels for all countries and preference. No Wi-fi in the room was a disappointment but the Lobby had a strong signal. We had a wonderful sea view and a massive balcony almost as big as the apartment. A little road noise and some building going on but not excessive. I personally found Madeiran cuisine quite limited. The staff were very polite friendly and helpful. The local supermarkets, except for the big one, were woefully stocked with most fridges closed down. The Club has a very nice pool area and some limited activities for guests.

Room Tip: Just the usual high up and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    165
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
76
212
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was better than we expected and did the job. Very room studio overlooking the sea, pool area, sea and a view of the harbour. Accommodation was fine - very spacious and much bigger than we had hoped for. Very quiet and restful. However the whole place is a little higgledy piggledy in that you go into reception, up the stairs to the 1st floor, then across the garden, across a bridge over a road and then another lift down to your studio room. We had an end room which had a semi-circular balcony which was delightful. We were next to the lift which we thought might cause a problem but didn't. Everything worked well within the studio room which included a kitchenette and all the mod cons. Large TV with 70 channels most this time in English. Food in the Yacht Restaurant and Bar was delightful - we only ever ate there at lunch times and the staff were lovely. Overall a lovely stay - thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Madeira which has been about our 8th year. Only down point is if you are in the main hotel you have a long walk to the swimming pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our fourth visit to Madeira, and the third time at the Regency Club. Things change, a little, but this is still a delightful place that meets most of all our needs. Since our previous review, the breakfast area has been converted, very nicely, into a lounge, and breakfast is now served in the poolside bar/restaurant. This is nice, on nice days, but unfortunately it rained a couple if times this trip and going out and across the bridge was a nuisance. They've also dropped the courtesy bus that used to go into the town centre, which is a big loss, although the walk into town alongside the harbour side has been greatly improved by the authorities and is now very pleasant. Despite these niggles, I don't think we'd want to stay anywhere else. It suits us perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - some are round the back. And if you're interested, you could ask for sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times because it suits us. It is quite close to the town centre and overlooks the bay. There are a variety of rooms and suites - we had a 1 bedroomed suite, which also had a lounge (leading on to the balcony overlooking the sea and the harbour), a well equipped kitchen and bathroom. The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable. There have been some changes since our last stay - the hotel seems to have separated from the Regency chain, although the branding was still evident. The main difference seemed to be the lack of a minibus to take guests to and from the town centre, which may well have caused problems for some guests. We found the walk to town and back pleasant, albeit hilly - but Madeira is hilly!

The Pool and restaurant are over the main road, reached by a walkway; this is a pleasant area to sit and have a drink (and sunbathe and swim too).

All in all, this hotel again lived up to our expectations

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you're looking for luxury you're not in the right place. If you're looking for staff who are paid for their uber professional smile and efficiency forget it. But if you want a down to earth hotel where the smiles flow naturally and the the spirit is generous and sharing, Madeira Regency Club is right for you. This is a very clean hotel. A bit of wear and tear but in terms of location and value it is top. There is an integrated kitchenette which makes things easier on the budget and very reassuring when you have young children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zumzumchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have recently returned from a holiday staying at the Madeira Regency Club. Having read some of the negative tripadvisor reports it was with some concern that we arrived at this hotel/timeshare complex. Check in went smoothly with the pleasant reception staff. Our apartment was spacious, clean and well furnished. There were two bathrooms which is always a plus, his and hers! The kitchen was tiny but as we only needed a refrigerator to keep the drinks cool this was not a problem. From our balcony there was a good view of Funchal harbour and out to sea. The “air conditioning” is 100% useless for cooling purposes. The fans do work and create some air movement which would not be sufficient to achieve comfortable conditions in hot weather. Fortunately, during our stay the weather was just pleasantly warm and the lack of air conditioning was not too much of a problem.

The complex extends over both sides of the road leading uphill from the harbour and is linked by a pedestrian bridge. It does take a day or so to get used to navigating between the two halves. The pool area is across the bridge from the main building. There is a single adequate pool, bar and pleasant restaurant area. Beyond the pool is a construction that facilitates sheltered sea bathing.

I can appreciate some of the comments in previous reviews. Some areas are definitely looking tired and renovation work is required. There is a weekly €50 utilities charge and a €10 for a safe key. Should you require a taxi, they seem to take forever when ordered through reception. We found it easier to flag one down on the road outside. I almost forgot the mosquitoes, they are numerous and of a minute variety. I was fortunate, they do not seem to like my flavour but other members of our party were very badly bitten.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay, we found the location perfect and all members of staff that we came in contact with were always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked this hotel via RCI as an exchange. I have to say that this is the tattiest apartment we have ever stayed at in over 16 years as timeshare owners. The furniture was tired and dirty - our sofa had ink stains amongs others and the beautiful fabric on the armchairs was dirty - particularly the backs which looked as though the many many years of use have seen some people sitting against them with suncream on (thats all I can imagine). The sofa was so bad, I covered it up with a blanket rather than have to look at it. The kitchen units were peeling so a definite upgrade is required. The air conditioning was useless and wasnt functioning during the night because reception said it was too noisey! The pillows on the beds were awful so never had a decent nights sleep. As an RCI exchangee we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens - made to vacate our room earlier than owners and refused a discount card for use in local restaurants etc.... as we were RCI! Plus we were charged 50 euros per week service charge which I feel is a disgusting addition to the holiday costs and 10 euros per week for a safety deposit box. With some investment this could be an amazing resort as the facilities and the location are excellent. I certainly wont be staying there again - there are far far better places to stay where your custom is appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwhyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,920 reviews
1.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#68 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing