We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money with perfect location”
Review of Hotel Orquidea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orquidea
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money with perfect location”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Orquidea for a week during the end of July. This hotel is perfectly located and is very close to many places of interest, the Catherdral, the market place, the marina, shops, restaurants and cafes which can all be reached by walking.
We had a twin room which was clean and comfortably, the room was made up and cleaned on a daily basis. I was impressed that I did not have to ask for an extra pillow which I have had to do in many 4 and 5 star hotels( infact there were 2 extra pillows in the room). Staff around the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Staff at the reception desk took their time giving us ideas of places to visit. The breakfast was good., the views of Funchal from the dining room were brilliant. This hotel is good value for money and I would recommed to those who want to explore and be in the centre of Funchal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia61London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    94
    39
    18
    5
See reviews for
19
86
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Hotel Orquidea
This is a good standard business hotel but not that suitable for holidaying visitors. In Funchal there are many better hotels specifically catering for holiday makers at the same price or a bit cheaper and just as conveniently located. If you have a hire car during the week you have to juggle the parking, often getting up at 7.00 to pay or move the car. If you do stay at the Hotel the cafe opposite provides breakfast at less than half the price of the hotel. The staff are very pleasant but not friendly nor particularly helpful or informed.
Pros – Central, recently re-fitted, clean, A/C in every room, free WiFi in reception, nice restaurant and view.
Cons – No fridge or safe in the room, no pool, no hotel car park (local options are awkward during the week), expensive, not suitable for the elderly or disabled, small basic rooms and tiny bathrooms unless you pay a lot more, WiFi in rooms costs(!), restaurant expensive for breakfast and dinner.

  • Liked — an early start
  • Disliked — an early start
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Maidstone, Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We booked this three-star hotel for its position. It is very central, less than ten minutes’ walk to the old town, market, bus station, marina, harbour, and all places of interest. The sun terrace has good views around Funchal, and particularly of the new shopping centre being built on two sides of the hotel. The building work will go on for some time, but the noise is only evident on the terrace or with the balcony door open. The bedrooms have views of the next building or building site. Our bedroom was on the highest accommodation floor, and we could just see the cruise ship funnels from our balcony. The room was spacious, the twin beds were pushed together to make the double we had requested, but each bed was made up with individual bedding. The en-suite was cramped, with barely enough room to squeeze in between the door and washbasin, awkward for anyone with a girth of more than 40.” There is no fridge/minibar or tea/coffee making facilities, and no pool.

We kept valuables locked in the case, but were annoyed to find that the maid had removed items from the desk, only a spare water bottle, a plastic bottle containing a small amount of whisky, and our soft toilet roll, but it shouldn’t have happened. One day, the room hadn’t been made up when we returned after 5 pm.

The breakfast room/restaurant is below the sun terrace, with similar views. The staff were not quick enough at clearing and resetting the tables, and on one occasion, I saw a family of five waiting for some time because there wasn’t a suitable table available. The breakfast fare was disappointing. There was enough to eat and drink, and the items changed slightly each day, but there was no fresh juice, rather something that tasted like squash, and the fresh fruit was limited to bananas and pears, although there was tinned fruit/fruit salad. When there was muesli, it was milk-logged. There is a toaster, but it only takes one slice of bread at a time. There were different types of rolls, but Madeira cake was only on offer on alternate days. Considering the abundance of fresh fruit in the market and Madeira cake everywhere, it was extremely disappointing.

We didn’t use the restaurant for evening meals, as we found plenty of cheaper restaurants. Meals, snacks, drinks, etc are also served on the ground floor.

To sum up, this is probably the best situated hotel in Funchal, but if you aren’t worried about position, you would be better off in a 4* hotel.

  • Liked — Central position
  • Disliked — Cramped en-suite and uninteresting breakfasts
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVCMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Good location,nice spacious room,great views from the sun terrace,the breakfast was excellent good service and very clean,Would recommend to everyone.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Most hotels in Funchal are in the "hotel area" in the west of town. This one however is slap bang in the middle of the old town which saves a lot of walking and taxi rides/buses to the sights. The town hall is 2 streets away, the cathedral 1 more and the sea about a 5 minute walk.and of course close to all the shops, bars and restaurants. When we first entered the room we were impressed by the size of the room and the bed - until we found out that it was 2 single beds pushed together! They were quite hard mattresses. The room has electronic locks - probably unnecessary in such a crime free island but very welcome nevertheless - a TV with 30 channels (a few in English but no pay to view cable) , air conditioning and plenty of storage but not much else. No tea/coffee making facilities (but the hotel does have a coffee shop which is open til late), a fridge can be hired but does not come as standard. The bathroom was sizeable with a bidet and there were a few free toiletries. The bath was good but the shower head didn't work properly which we didn't report. There is a lot of building work going on around the hotel but noise was not a problem due to the excellent double glazing. The breakfast was a bit basic but the view from the breakfast room on the 6th floor is spectacular. The hotel staff all spoke English and the foyer is spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel was extremely clean. Although not perfect we have no complaints for the amount we paid.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Bathroom smelled of damp when we first got there (but improved)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Murgatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at this wonderfully clean, efficient and quiet hotel over the Christmas week.

Our hotel room was simple but perfectly adequate for our needs: after all, if you're coming to Madeira you don't want to be spending too much time in your hotel room! My only minor complaint was that the air con didn't enable us to warm the room in the evening (yes, it does cool off in December!).

The breakfast buffet was the real piece de resistance of our stay: lots of fresh fruit, cakes, rolls, cooked eggs/bacon/sausages, and great coffee - as much as you can drink! If you feast on this in the morning then you'll be good to go for the rest of the day.

We mainly ate out in Funchal because we wanted to try different local restaurants (mostly excellent). But we did eat at the hotel on christmas evening and found it to be excellent, though not cheap, which isn't too surprising given the date!

The hotel has a great rooftop terrace which affords brilliant views over the harbour and inland towards the mountains and villages. We could see the small building site referred to by other reviewers here, but it wasn't operating as all the local workers were, presumably, on holiday too.

Lastly, all the hotel staff were ultra-friendly and helpful and, for us, the central location was a boon as we really like to explore on foot.

If the scoring system allowed it, we'd give this hotel 4.5 out of 5. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cataloger_of_ships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2007

We have just come back from a fantastic holiday, based at this lovely hotel. the location is just perfect being right in the heart of Funchal. The hotel is obviously recently renovated, and we found it to be spotless throughout. The room was a very good size, with THE MOST comfortable bed! All the hotel staff were friendly, especially the girl at the front desk, who helped us make the best of our short holiday giving us really good advice and info about what to do and see. Hovever, the best thing about the hotel from my point of view was the food. As other reviews have mentioned the breakfast buffet is AWSOME, with wonderful fresh fruit and first class presentation every day. The star attraction has to be the hotel restauraunt, which serves a quite exquisite selection of food which i think is best described as modern tradditional. All of the meals we eat there came beautifully presented and were full of flavour. The Meat and fish is all of very high quality. As far as the wine is concerned they have a good list, but the local red is very very drinkable bargain ..... a must!!! We will definitely be going back to stay in this charming hotel in the future.

  • Liked — The fantastic food
  • Disliked — coming home!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank super-or-shocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#34 of 86 in Funchal
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#61 of 86 in Funchal
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#77 of 86 in Funchal
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Hotel
#82 of 86 in Funchal
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#59 of 86 in Funchal
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orquidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orquidea

Property: Hotel Orquidea
Address: Rua dos Netos 69 71, Funchal, Madeira 9000-084, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orquidea 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally suited for tourists and business travellers, Hotel Orquidea enjoys a great location in the heart of Madeira’s capital city, Funchal. Guests can easily walk to all major historical sights, museums, theatres, shops and many other cultural attractions. Hotel Orquidea also offers you a wide range of services ensuring you an unforgettable stay in Madeira. All double rooms have double beds, desk, coffee table and comfy chairs. All rooms are stylish and comfortable and are fully equipped with air conditioning, hairdryers, cable TV, internet access points and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orquidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Hotel Funchal
Hotel Orquidea Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing