We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Savoy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$155
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$148
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$171
$134
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
$199
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$577
$372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveler rating
583
183
50
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
183
50
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharepool areajunior suitetimeshare ownersvacation clubpiano barexcellent hotelsalt waterhome from homewell equipped kitchenself cateringsea waterold townfive star hotellocal restaurantsevery eveningocean view
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 838 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is like heaven on earth .
The staff really do put the icing on the cake in this gem of a hotel .
The food is outstanding and service first class one of the few hotels I’ve been to and could not find fault with 5 ***** all the way .
Special mention to the wonderful Catia

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank marydoll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria do carmo g, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Foremost, thank you for your continued preference for the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort - it’s always such a pleasure to have you staying with us. Your kind feedback with the lovely photos on this website is very much appreciated, and we will be sure to share your compliments and praise with our team, in particular to Catia Teixeira in the restaurant, who all take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable stay.

We wish you a continued happy and relaxing stay with us and Muito Obrigada!
Warm regards
Luisa Correia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had our T1 timeshare at the "Royal" for some 16 yrs now and have noticed the standards remain high. The hotel arranged our Taxi from the airport (30euros) and on arrival were warmly welcomed. Check in is quick, friendly and efficient, our bags arriving in our room as we walked in. We dined in as usual on our first night, the restaurant being busy. Staff efficient, friendly and welcoming more than make up for the "Hotel Style" restaurant and the food excellent as was the "house wine", no cheap end plonk here.
My wife enjoys the sunbathing at the hotel. The Ocean side sunbathing area has been planned and laid out in such a way that small rock formed areas support only a small number of beds which means no over crowding and no regimented rows of sun worshippers lying in long rows next to each other. The large "teardrop" pool while cool is welcoming and the indoor pool warm and comfortable when the weather is cooler.
We dined poolside a couple of times but prices are on the high side, however it makes for a nice setting.
The Royal is I think unique in that in many ways it does not have that "Hotel" feel to it. This may be because as Timeshare guests we have the same room each year and get to know the staff and the hotel. The rooms, for me have the feel of walking into some ones home. True the decoration and furniture, dark wood is now in need of an update but the rooms are a good size with a welcoming feel. Unlike the large new sister hotel being built which is a superb large contemporary design with superbly decorated and furnished rooms. We had to ask to visit the new hotel, no pressure selling by staff, they know a winner when they have one. I was surprised at a previous guest commenting on a hard sell and inapropriate conduct of some staff and staff trying to sell timeshare. I do not recognise that sort of experience at all.
Our final evening saw us dining in again at the "Italian Night" dinner. True it may only be a nod towards Italian food but the place as usual was full, the food very good, the Portuguese wine also of good quality and the waiters and chefs on top form.
The down side for The Royal Savoy is that it is now looking and feeling a bit dated, understandable as it is pushing some 18 yrs since it opened. The new owners, also building the new Royal have plans for an update in the next few years and that cannot come soon enough I think. The bar is only a welcoming venue due to the staff but drink prices are high.
Overall we still enjoy the Royal. Staff have been there since it opened, a good sign in itself, it has an enviable Ocean side location, is not too large (its new sister hotel will have over 560 rooms and is a couple of hundred yards from the ocean) and standards remain high. I would recommend it to any one wanting a 5 star standard hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DurhamCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria do carmo g, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Funchal!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent return stay at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. Indeed, at the Royal Savoy we are honoured to welcome back so many wonderful returning guests, like yourself, which does in fact contribute to the overall wonderful and welcoming home from home ambience at the hotel. We equally appreciate you highlighting the many qualities that define our hotel and services and we will certainly be sharing your kind comments and praise with our entire team who will be very happy to know that they play a part in making your stays always so enjoyable.

On this opportunity, we will like to inform you that your constructive support and comments will be raised in discussion at our next meeting for future renovations and development plans. Also please allow us to remind you that we continue to operate our popular discount scheme, and perhaps on your next visit you would like take up on our discount voucher initiative and benefit from further reductions on all your food and drinks consumed at the hotel.

On behalf of the team, thank you for your continued preference for the Royal Savoy and we all look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Luisa Correia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A most enjoyable week at this hotel which is just outside the centre of Funchal but a pleasant walk away. Great views over the harbour and shore line.

This is quite a classy hotel, showing some signs of age, however it has all of the amenities one would expect at this end of the spectrum. Prices are not cheap for food (we only had a couple of lunches and never felt that impressed) and drinks. We had breakfast as part of our stay and I would say this was a good, nothing more. The breakfast area is pretty dark and whilst it had a wide selection of food it never felt top quality, which I was expecting here.

The staff were excellent and helpful, especially in reception. Rooms, there a number of different options, ours was a studio and plenty big enough, no complaints on this front.

Overall we enjoyed the stay very much and enjoyed eating out every night in the many restaurants on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria do carmo g, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Warm greeting from sunny Funchal!

Thank you for choosing the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort on your recent visit to Madeira Island destination. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience and had a happy stay with us. We equally welcome your comments regarding the breakfast and will be sure to review this service with our restaurant and culinary team in order to ensure our usual top quality breakfasts are presented at all times.

Thank you again for your important feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Savoy, the next time your travels bring you again to our beautiful Madeira Island.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Luisa Correia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The Royal Savoy is a lovely hotel, very clean and the staff are very friendly. The food is great but certain meals are overpriced for the amount of food you get, a salad for example.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious and include a safe, mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The shower is great and the beds are really comfortable.

The indoor pool is great as is the steam and sauna. The outdoor pools are too cold to use. Apart from the pool there isn’t really much to do here.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria do carmo g, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from sunny Funchal!

Many thanks for your kind feedback following your recent stay at the Royal Savoy Hotel & Resort. We were pleased to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, from the friendly service you received from our attentive team and the delicious food selection that we offer to the overall hotel cleanliness and the comfortable and well appointed, spacious guest-rooms.

We do hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back and perhaps next time you would like to try out the weekly activities that we offer at the hotel as well as the various amazing and adventurous tours around our beautiful island and sea, which can be booked at our reception desk.
With warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Luisa Correia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

Walking along & ended up getting cornered by a dull man trying to sell us time shares. Didn’t make this clear to us however, we were enquiring about sight seeing. When we made it clear we weren’t interested he became angry & very rude and told us to leave.The maintenance staff were also rude when trying to leave the building, looking us up and down when walking down the corridor & just laughed at us and looked at each other when we asked where the lifts were?! Very mature. Also got told he would pay for our taxi back to our hotel as he had took us in a taxi to this place but just got pushed out onto the streets in the blazing heat having to walk back. Avoid at all costs!!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank kimlou_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. This is very unlike the Savoy hospitality we are renowned for and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Unfortunately we are unable to trace your visit due to the lack of information in order to investigate further but we would be happy to welcome you on another visit should you wish to view the resort once it is completed.

Warmest regards and Muito Obrigado.
Luisa Correia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews