We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gurdeep S
London, United Kingdom

Savoy timeless

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 25, 2014
ice machines in corridors, excellent staff and service like no other , christmas in 2012 was great and sunny and warm enough to have a dip in the pool , mind you the inside pool is amazing with large windows looking out, sauna is pretty ok always quiet so a haven to relax and unwind. Drinks food were great , rooms of 5 star standard, bathrooms marbled all over. Quality bathroom amenities. mixed visitors and great live music and dancing around xmas evening.
Date of stay: December 2013
Room Tip: Top floor for ocean views
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Dec 4, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for reviewing your stay. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to make full use of the numerous top-class facilities we feature at The Royal Savoy Hotel. We were also happy to know that you enjoyed the Christmas events in 2012 at the hotel and hope you will be back with us for this upcoming Festive Season.
Looking forward to welcoming you back and receive our best wishes. Muito Obrigado !
The Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$289
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $312
0.8 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View From the Reception
$212
Fully refundable
  • Pestana Hotel Group
    $200
  • Lol.travel
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $222
1.0 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
$313
  • Pestana Hotel Group
    $311
  • Lol.travel
    $249
  • Priceline
    $286
1.7 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$789
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $789
  • Booking.com
    $790
  • Trip.com
    $788
0.2 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $390
  • Lol.travel
    $305
  • Official Hotel
    $414
0.4 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $454
  • Priceline
    $411
  • Booking.com
    $439
0.1 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $235
  • Lol.travel
    $176
  • Booking.com
    $211
0.5 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $196
  • Lol.travel
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $196
0.5 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $220
  • Melia.com
    $187
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Agoda.com
  • StayForLong
1.2 miles from Royal Savoy Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Funchal
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveler rating
872
249
73
15
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
872
249
73
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews time share timeshare owners pool area junior suite vacation club piano bar home from home excellent hotel self catering sea water old town hotel guests small kitchen local restaurants flower festival wonderful week sea front
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2014

It is an average quality hotel/timeshare as found all over the world these days. By no means bad but nothing special. I am 65 but found the abundance of similarily and older aged people quite depressing. It felt as if I was in a very pleasant, up-market, old folks home. For me it was not a great holiday but if you have decided that you can't stand being in the company of younger people this is the place for you. The food is fine, the staff are cheerful and helpful, the decor is comfortable and pleasant. It was by no means bad but for me there is a bit more to life. The family members, who were kind enough to invite me, love the place but then they are rather set in their ways.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HelenArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We must say we were disappointed to read that unlike the vast majority of previous guests, including your friends, you did not fully appreciate your stay with us. Though, it was indeed good to know that you were pleased with our food offerings, found our staff cheerful and helpful and also enjoyed the pleasant and comfortable decor. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back at The Royal Savoy Hotel again.
We send our best wishes for a wonderful upcoming festive season.
Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2014

I have been coming to the Royal Savoy twice a year for the last twelve years, and always enjoy my stay. No what others may say the staff are first class and always ready to help. I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and can say from experience the Royal Savoy up there in terms of accommodation and service. I'm looking forward to my next trip next year!

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear guest,
It is always so rewarding for us all to receive such wonderful reviews and we thank you for taking the time to post this on TripAdvisor. We were so very pleased to know that you had another great stay and received once again, first class service. We will be sharing your kind feedback with the entire team as for sure this will have a great impact upon their job satisfaction. Exceptional and attentive service is something that we pride ourselves on and we will continue to strive for excellence.
Your continued loyalty and support for The Royal Savoy Hotel is very much appreciated by everyone here.
We all look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you once again soon
Warm greetings from sunny Funchal and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

My ninth stay at this great hotel. No complaints so far ;) The staff is friendly, location is great just a short walk from the city centre. Pool area is very nice with the opportunity to swim and snorkle in the Atlantic ocean.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Timo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you for your continued preference and loyalty for The Royal Savoy Hotel as well as classifying our hotel as excellent. We were so pleased know that you had a great stay and received friendly and attentive service from our staff. We will be sharing your comments with the whole team and will continue to strive for service excellence.
We appreciate the confidence you have placed in us over the years and we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
With best regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014

Lots of good points about the hotel but not a high quality experience we were expecting.

Fabulous setting not too far away from the centre of Funchal (walking distance).

Excellent service from the reception staff who helped with golf arrangements, restaurant bookings and taxis.

Extensive terraced area around the swimming pools - beautifully laid out and felt peaceful and relaxing always lots of sun beds available but such a shame that the areas weren't' maintained, with our crockery and rubbish left for more than 24 hours until we mentioned it to staff! The mankey cat needs rehoming urgently - yuk! No lifeguard! Not sure why there is a sign limiting guests to one towel? Never seen that before in any hotel!

Good choice of lunchtime meals from the terrace area outside the restaurant but incredibly slow and often indifferent service. 45 minutes one day for a sandwich and salad and only 6 other diners. The pool side snack bar was a reduced menu but good quality food and cooked and served efficiently and with a smile. We were very surprised that there were so few poolside waiters taking drinks orders. We were able to go up to the bar but on only one occasion were we asked if we would like a drink. Missed opportunity here we would have ordered far more had we been asked! Certainly not 5 star service!

Breakfasts were served inside due to poor weather on a few mornings - this was just a horrible experience due to the airless, dark and gloomy atmosphere. Possibly an intimate setting at night time although we did not eat in the hotel I the evenings but seriously needs a review of lIghting and ventilation for breakfast service. With exception of one younger waiters most others seemed either flustered or indifferent. The coffee was not pleasant but slightly easier to drink than the tea!

The breakfast buffet was ok a bit sandy - all the hot buffet options were Luke warm!,

The bar staff in the evenings were friendly, efficient and keen to please - 10/10 for this experience. Sometimes live music before we headed out to a restaurant for dinner. We were surprised how few hotel guests used the bar area which did mean that it sometimes lacked a bit of atmosphere.

Our junior suite was a bit crampt and the furnishings were typically Portugese but sadly rather tired and a mismatch. Large comfortable bed. Bathroom tiles needing regrouting and appeared tatty. The bedroom area was behind a wall and was dark and pokey we always needed the light on even during daylight hours. We spent as little time as possible in the room due the above. The Housekeeping was a bit erratic often we returned after lunch to find our room had still not been serviced. Turn back sometimes happened and often didn't and when it did we were usually getting ready to go out and were inconvenienced! The kettle and cups were great with a haphazard supply of tea, coffee and creamers.

We were expecting a 5 star experience and sadly we didn't feel that any aspect of this hotel would be awarded that accolade. We didn't ever see anyone who looked like they were in charge or ensuring that standards were being maintained. Sorry but we wouldn't recommend to our friends!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 64holidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comments of your recent stay at The Royal Savoy Hotel on TripAdvisor. Although we were very pleased to note that you enjoyed our fabulous ocean front location and beautiful settings, found the service from our reception and bar staff to be exceptional and also enjoyed the food offerings available for lunch, we were truly sorry to learn of your disappointing observations. Please rest assured that your findings on this particular occasion are not indicative of our usual high standards. Nevertheless, your feedback is warmly welcomed and we will fully review each area of concern and work on improving thus, ensuring we meet our discerning guests expectations. We further inform that the stray cat in question has already been re-homed in the local animal centre.
Thank you again for your comments and we sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back to provide a more positive experience.
With kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2014

Our 5th stay in our apartment in this traditional and reputable establishment with our friends made over the years, close to the town for easy walking access and the restaurant is so good it is pleasant to stay in and enjoy.

Room tip: Our apartment is on the pools level, but all have different advantages
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank captonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
acorreia, Manager at Royal Savoy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post such a complimentary review on this website. Indeed, we were all delighted to read that you had another great stay with us as well as enjoyed our special dinner events and various new food offerings in our restaurant.
We will always strive for service excellence and await your return in the near future for another memorable holiday.
Thank you for your continued preference for the Royal Savoy Hotel... Muito Obrigado !
With warm wishes
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews