We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For relaxing days” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For relaxing days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed in Royal Savoy Funchal for two weeks now, and it is a real pleasure to be a guest. The good service in every level does the stay so good. The friendly and helpful staff in every level make us feel very welcome.
We choosed some days to make our meals in the room, and some days we used our meal voychers in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The meals have very good options for every taste. So this hotel is certainly a hotel to come back to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lemongstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    150
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
152
407
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

After checking in confirming my name and room number Istill had to wait 3hrs for my bags, only when I demanded to see the manager did the bags turn up, stil waiting for the manager!Provisions ordered weeks ago not delivered. Staff on the reception desk not realy interested about anything.Notices to tell you do not reserve sun beds or wear the hotel robes in public areas totally ignored. Standards are slipping but still a beautifull resort and Island

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parky1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for one week at the five-star Royal Savoy in a Presidential Suite on the top floor. Sumptuous barely begins to describe the surroundings.

The suite was immaculate; a large living-dining room, with a good-size kitchen attached and a cloakroom; the bedroom was generous and connected to the main bathroom via a walk-through wardrobe. Both bedroom and living room opened on to the large balcony which overlooked the hotel terrace, nine floors below, and, beyond that, the vastness of the Atlantic. The kitchen was well-equipped, although we didn’t use it much, eating out most of the time.

Free wi-fi was available in the lounge and on the terrace, and guest services were very useful for booking excursions and restaurants. Standards of housekeeping were excellent, and little details like the Easter egg provided for us on Easter Sunday showed thought and care.

The location was excellent, provided you were happy with a short walk (5-10 minutes) into the centre of town. We certainly didn’t feel any need to be closer than we were. As you would expect in this kind of hotel, room service and drinks at the bar were quite expensive compared to eating and drinking out on the island, but no more so than in similar five-star hotels.

Room Tip: We stayed in a presidential suite on the top floor of the hotel... when you come in to the hotel, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdanBdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in a timeshare apartment which was one of the largest apartments we have ever stayed in. Probably too large for only 2 people in truth but very comfortable and well appointed. Excellent service at bars. Did not use the restaurant as because we are timeshare the cost was excessive when there are a myriad of excellent restaurants nearby. We would definitely recommend staying here. The interior is a little old school with the nearby Pestana chain being more modern in styling although I think more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I find it very difficult to sum up just how bad the Royal Savoy, Funchal is, how ridiculously overpriced the rooms are, or how unfriendly and unprofessional the staff are.

We visit Madeira several times a year as my fiance's family are from the island, so we decided we wanted to get married in Funchal. Knowing a little about the top rated hotels on the island, we contacted the Royal Savoy hoping to get some information about whether they could host a reception.

Three emails and more than two weeks later, we stil had no reply from the Royal Savoy, yet managed to get replies from every single other hotel in Madeira we had contacted (including the top hotels on the island such as Reids Palace, Cliff Bay, Vidamar, Casa Velha etc.). As we were keen to explore all our options, we went to the expense of phoning the Royal Savoy from the UK, only to encounter an unbelievably rude and obnoxious young man who insisted absolutely no information could be provided in advance and we would have to visit the hotel directly if we wanted to discuss this. Apparently "that is not how it works in Madeira"!

Persevering, we did indeed visit the hotel directly on our recent visit to Madeira, only again to encounter an unbelievably unfriendly and unhelpful receptionist who, despite the hotel lobby being completely devoid of guests, insisted that all staff were far too busy to show us the facilities but, if we were so inclined, we could have a wander around the facilities.

So we did, and my God were they disappointing. The whole place feels like a mediocre package holiday resort without even the vaguest hint of the luxury you would expect from the Savoy brand.

The biggest joke of the whole thing is the price of the rooms... an absolute abomination especially when you compare them to the vastly superior rooms and far better value rooms available at the likes of the Cliff Bay, Reids Palace and Jardins Do Lago.

In summary, you would be absolutely MAD to stay here. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mark_d1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from my annual trip to the Royal Savoy. As always the room has everything you require. The weather was glorious. Breakfast was always welcome. To top it all it was my birthday whilst we were there and the hotel left a complimentary bottle of Madeira wine in my room to help me celebrate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our second visit in under a year - never disappointed.

This is mainly timeshare now - so not that many Hotel Guests staying there - so be aware the two are different.

The restaurants - particularly at breakfast - are quiet as most Timeshare Guests eat in their rooms. You do not get the atmosphere of a Hotel even in the evenings

Having said that the Royal Savoy is in a great location with first class facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful (though they seem to be fewer in number each time we visit - due to the current economic situation?.)

Still worth visiting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing