We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another Great Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our second visit in under a year - never disappointed.

This is mainly timeshare now - so not that many Hotel Guests staying there - so be aware the two are different.

The restaurants - particularly at breakfast - are quiet as most Timeshare Guests eat in their rooms. You do not get the atmosphere of a Hotel even in the evenings

Having said that the Royal Savoy is in a great location with first class facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful (though they seem to be fewer in number each time we visit - due to the current economic situation?.)

Still worth visiting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    129
    41
    5
    10
See reviews for
121
333
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on an Interval International exchange and we could not have been more pleased. Truly an amazing and wonderful experience!!! We traded a 2 bedroom unit, so we received a two bedroom unit at the Royal Savoy. I don't know if it was because our flight didn't get us there until 1 AM for check-in but they gave us one of their two, two bedroom Presidential Suites (room 1418). Really a wonderful Suite with all the amenities and daily maid service too. The view is amazing, 270 degrees, overlooking the pool and directly out over the ocean. It could not be more beautiful!!! The staff is exceptional and very knowledgeable about Funchal and will go out of their way to make your stay just perfect. They welcome the opportunity to help you select a restaurant then call to make your reservation. We told them we were celebrating an Anniversary and they sent us a bottle of wine, two glasses and flowers. The location is also within walking distance to downtown so that saves a lot of time and taxi fares! If you go to Funchal then we HIGHLY recommend you stay at the Royal Savoy! Say Hi to Jose at the pool bar when you see him!

Room Tip: Send them an email in advance of your trip to let them know your anticipated check-in time and let t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SXMCabanaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Savoy many times. It as that traditional luxury Madeiran feel and style. The hotel as an extensive pool area with two large outdoor pools and one indoor. There is also a sea swimming dock. There plenty of seating and sun shades, so none of the silly bickering over pool furniture. The whole hotel is immaculately maintained. The rooms or suites, we have stayed in both, are excellent. The piano bar is a great place to start or end a evening in Funchal. It has been a few years now since they knocked down the old Savoy. Nothing much seems to be happening behind the fenced off construction site. It is a same, because the gardens are no longer available for guests. We found the staff and the service level excellent as always.

Room Tip: Try for a sea-view, high up, room 1905/6 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breeze999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I returned to the Royal for the 10th time. The high standards remain and as Time Share members we have the same 1 bedroom room each year which means it really does feel like walking into our own home each year. This means there are no surprises, the 5 star treatment and services are constant. What has changed is that some of the evening entertainment has improved. We enjoyed a superb pianist and sax player on two nights while the Italian night hot buffet on the Sunday evening was excellent. From arrival being greeted by the consierge to the bar staff and waiters . Instead of filling up at the bar with local beer a half bottle (or more) of one of the house wines is a far better option.
The hotel now has a money free payment system where guests simply hand over a door key when having dinner, food or drinks and settle payment at their leisure.
We did get conned slightly by a taxi driver who took us into town one night. Having spoken to staff, if you request a taxi to pick you up at the hotel check the meter reading. It should only be switched on as you get in. I believe the amount shown should start at 3 Euros but check at the hotel. Some drivers will set the meter from receiving the call to attend the hotel, sneaky. Over all still a 5 star hotel and while I am not a sales person you can pick up a room for a week for the remaining 14 yr term for as little as £2000,00 for a resale. Good value when you compare the cost to a weeks stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the hotel get most sun. Go for a room ending in numbers 20 to 22 on the circu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnruskin92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Savoy Hotel during the Madeira’s Flower Festival of this year (2013). The hotel is indeed superb. From what we saw in our stay we may say that the hotel deserves all and each one of its 5 stars. It excels in all the aspects that we can remember of, but let us highlight two of them: a splendid bedroom, with a pleasant view to the sea, and the professional, diligent and courteous staff and personnel, always willing to make your stay even better. In our sojourn we have seen as hotel guests predominantly mature couples. However, in the pools site we noticed the existence of a children’s playground and therefore we are convinced that, most probably in Summer, the hotel is prepared to have (and will have) young couples as its guests. Adding to all we have mentioned, Funchal, as well as all the Madeira island, is a beautiful and lovely place, offering a lot of tourist attractions and having an excellent roads network. Needless to say, we really have enjoyed our stay at the hotel. So, if you can do it… just go for it! It’s definitely worthwhile.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frajos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

You cannot fault the location of this wonderful hotel. Close to Funchal town centre (walking distance along the coast line) with botanical gardens nearby. Ideal place to rest and energise before embarking on various activities,e.g. walking, shopping, water sports, sightseeing and driving around the island. Plenty of restaurants nearby to suit all. Staff are very friendly and helpful; evening entertainment is great. Ideal for family and couples alike or even if you're single.Amenities are more than adequate.Parking facilities are excellent if you're thinking of hiring a car and l recommend this as the island is very hilly.
All in all a brilliant hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on top floor as the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindya_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a beautiful timeshare apartment. Bedroom, sitting room, kitchenette and two bathrooms (one each). nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. Maid service left us chocolates every day. Grounds are lovely. Roll on next year when we shall go again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therabbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 2,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#30 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing