We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our better decisions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Savoy Hotel
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham,UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of our better decisions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We bought a timeshare studio apartment here five years ago and come every 2 years. High standards have been maintained, but we almost never pay to eat or drink here as the prices are very high.the two ring cooker in the galley kitchen is good enough to cook good meals and there are plenty of decent eating places in Funchal which is a five Euro taxi ride down the hill. pools and poolside are beautifully kept and it is in one of the best locations anywhere on Madeira. Staff are friendly without being creepy. In January the clientele are mostly English and 65 plus,with almost no children. There is no beach,but a small swimming harbour for the brave.Even has its own lighthouse.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    162
    47
    8
    10
See reviews for
156
427
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We spent a week on a time share exchange. From the meet and greet to the check out the service was absolutely superb. The facilities in the room (kitchenette, 2 bathrooms, large balcony) are first rate and the maintenance and cleaning is also superb.
There are two unheated outside pools and a very nice heated indoor pool.

I really loved this place and so did my wife but there is a slight downside. It is very expensive to eat there and at £12 for a single Remy you may imagine just how expensive that is. The food at the restaurant is good but not the absolute best however the service is really friendly and welcoming.

We loved Madeira and would go to the Savoy again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Just returned from a week in a studio apartment in this "resort" . I echo many of the good things said but I think that the price of the food and drinks to a large extent puts residents off from staying in and enjoying all of the facilities. This is an excellent place to stay with a good location. I have stayed at a number of 5* hotels in Funchal and feel that this is the most expensive for food eg we paid E8.50 for a small coffee and a glass of orange! They are however trying with meal deals at E135 for 5 lunches or dinners, but when we tried lunch it was far from inspiring!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here but I think I enjoyed the ambience andfacilities ( and prices) at the Residence in Porto Mare more and no real difference in quality anywhere so I would in future opt for this hotel.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are good but would stay clear of the central semi -circle here as some of these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gollWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carradale, scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I spent two weeks at this resort in November in a studio apartment, and were delighted on just about every level.
The resort is situated ideally. It stands adjacent to the sea yet within an easy walk of Funchal town centre, and it appears that all rooms are sea facing across delightful gardens and swimming pools. We were allocated a room on the second floor, but I am convinced that a room virtually anywhere would prove to be more than acceptable.
We found the staff to be pleasant and graceful in every department, and the cost and standard of food and drinks when purchased carefully to be more than fair for a five star establishment.
Sadly, we detected that the hotel services such as restaurant and bars were not well patronised, and this puzzled us, for we thought that the management were trying very hard to deliver value to their customers by selling various discounted meal packages and the like, in addition to extended 'happy hours' in all the bar outlets.
If I was a timeshare owner at this resort, I would be very concerned that in not supporting the useage of these outstanding facilities, the management might conclude it not worthwhile to keep them operating at that level of excellence.
In other words be careful - 'use it or lose it' !
The interior public areas and furnishings are truly delightful - comfortable and relaxing decor and interesting artwork around every corner, and so given the opportunity, we would not hesitate to return to this resort.
We see only two minor negatives...
1. The Old Savoy Hotel gardens. Its sad to see them behind locked gates, clearly going to seed. Although the gardens do not in any way detract from the excellence of the Royal Savoy Resort , we hope the rebuild of that famous old hotel and reinstatement of the gardens will not be long delayed.
2. Strangely, we found all the room towels to be a little thin, and not in tune with the excellence of the other room linens and so on.
This resort is excellent, and deserves its five star rating, and we would say well done to all the management and staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hebridesferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We took our 1 year old on her first foreign holiday to Madeira, in November. We chose Madeira because it was sort of short-haul (3 1/2 hour flight) and a good temperature in November. We picked the Royal Savoy for 2 main reasons - firstly, the location and secondly, the Kitchenette.

Funchal is a hilly town. From the harbour, it basically goes up in all directions. Some of the hills are steep. The main hotel zone is 20 minutes walk to the West of the centre. The Royal Savoy is on the very edge of the hotel zone, nearest the city centre / harbour. This is a very good thing. Whilst there is a steep road from the harbour from the hotel, which is about 200m long, the rest of the route from the harbour and city centre is flat and it is all pram friendly.

The hotel is largely a "junior suite" hotel - 95% of the rooms are junior suites, with only a small number of senior suites and "standard rooms" It is a funny set up - you walk in at the top (8th floor) and the hotel is down the side of a cliff - the pool is on floor 0, rooms are inbetween.

The rooms are of average width, but quite long, allowing for a "bedroom" and then small kitchen/living room. They are not separate rooms however and with the exception of the bathroom, it would be better described as a large room with a partial divider in it.
The Kitchenette has a 2 ring hob, microwave/grill combi, fridge, dishwasher, sink/drainer, coffee maker, kettle and toaster, as well as a very good selection of crockery, pans and accessories. This is absolutely ideal if you have a baby who needs her bottle heating, or a quick meal making.

The hotel is luxurious, the pool area is of a high standard and there are loads of sunbeds. The "heated" pools were about the same temperature as the sea and the outside ones are salt-water. There is direct access to the sea for a swim, but no beach.

Previous reviewers have commented on the lack of people having meals and I have to agree with them. We had a b&b deal and on every day were one of only 3 or so tables being used in the restaurant. Other reviewers have commented that this reduces the atmosphere in the hotel and I have to agree - it would have been nice to have seen more people. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings as it is very formal and we didn't think our 1 year old would have "fit in" to this atmosphere. The menus for evening meals and room service were not the most creative either.

Whilst food / drink prices in the hotel are higher than surrounding bars / restaurants, compared to other 5* hotels we have stayed in, the prices were actually reasonable.

The staff loved our baby and always stopped to coo, chat to her and hold her hand. The hotel also gave us a good cotbed and high chair. Reception staff were the only let-down on the staff front, they gave the impression of you not being special at all and that you were "inconveniences that needed processing", which is a shame, as other staff were great.

Overall, we really enjoyed the hotel and the holiday and would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We first stayed at the now demolished Savoy eight years ago and were able to use the Royal Savoy pool. We asked to be shown around their rooms and, as we enjoy being able to self-cater when we want, found these an attractive proposition and have been coming back at least once a year since. We have only once eaten in the restaurant, however, as we found the atmosphere lacking in ambiance and the food, while excellent, not particularly good value. We prefer to eat out in the many surrounding restaurants or walk into town. One of the appeals of this hotel is that it is comparatively close to town. The furnishings have a certain opulent appeal although I can understand reviewers who don't like them; each to his own. The service is always excellent and the maids will accommodate our movements in relation to cleaning daily. A shame the bar is so expensive as it would otherwise make for an ideal rendezvous. Fortunately the rooms have excellent balconies and there is a supply of ice available to enable one to finish off the day in style.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms - ie 3003, 5004 rather than 3026 etc have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuvFunchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have recently returned from a holiday in Madeira staying at the Royal Savoy. This is our 2 nd stay here and once again had a a great holiday. Our room was on the ground floor which was great as we could have a swim before breakfast without having to go through the hotel.The hotel is in an excellent position being a 15 min. stroll along the new promenade to the centre of Funchal , were there are great restaurants. The hotel is all you could ask for clean ,friendly,good food and spacious accommodation. Cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Savoy Hotel

Property: Royal Savoy Hotel
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy Hotel  is situated in a privileged oceanfront location overlooking the harbour of Funchal. The city's fascinating historic and cultural centre are close by. Funchal's Old Town district, the bustling Marina, beautiful city gardens, Municipal Theatre, city squares adored with outdoor cafes & esplanades, Shopping Centres, Museums and many more interesting places to visit are just a stone's throw away.  This Hotel offers 12 spacious standard rooms, 101 junior suites plus 59 superior suites with one or two bedrooms, each elegantly decorated providing the utmost quality and comfort whilst creating a unique exotic atmosphere. All rooms have an ample furnished balcony and enjoy magnificent ocean views. All junior suites have their own kitchenette, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, cable and interactive flat screen TV, DVD player, Internet, electronic room safe and a full bathroom with separate shower, hairdryer and bathrobes. The superior suites have 1 or 2 bedrooms, kitchen, sofa bed, refrigerator bar, interactive cable, flat screen TV, DVD surround sound system, electronic room safe and 2 or 3 bathrooms (master-bathroom equipped with bathtub and separate shower), hair dryer and bathrobes. All rooms have free internet wireless system. This stunning complex is architecturally designed to allow you to appreciate to the full extent the beautiful breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean. Enjoy the wide variety of both on-site and off-site leisure facilities and entertainment services, including heated indoor pool; gymnasium; a luxury spa where you can enjoy the free use of the sauna, steam room and tropical shower; games room; hairdresser, free internet wireless system, fine a-la-carte and buffet restaurant, piano bar with nightly live musical entertainment and pool snack bar, 2 outdoor sea-water swimming pools (one heated), jacuzzi, and children's splash pool. We also feature a spacious sundeck and terrace coupled with shady and lush sub-tropical gardens, which are further adorned with a barbecue area, a short seaside promenade, fountains and water cascades, private sea access and outdoor games area - all providing maximum holiday ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Savoy Funchal
Savoy Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Funchal
Royal Savoy Resort Funchal
Royal Savoy Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing