We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great for what you pay and get back i return its fantastic.The staff are polite and very attentive.We went All Inclusive and what a choice of food.Every day me and my partner were just stuffing our faces and the drinks are good too.The nights entertainment was good and the rooms comfortable and always clean.All in all a good location.We had a fab time nothing to complain about

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

A big thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    782
    246
    47
    23
See reviews for
455
1,563
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

So firstly, we travelled to Madeira as a family of 7 with the younger members ranging from their teens up to the late twenties, and after reading the good reviews for this hotel we decided to book 10 nights during July. To maybe put things into perspective, we have been travelling as a family every year for the past 12 years, staying at 4-5* hotels each time, and therefore have a reasonably good basis to compare.

I want to start off by saying my whole family unanimously agreed that this was hands down the best holiday we have ever had and a large part of this can be attributed to the hotel and it's wonderful staff. I won't go into detail about Madeira in general (which was lovely by the way) as there are many sites for that, and will concentrate on the hotel.

Reception staff:
On entry after a long day travelling we were greeted with very welcoming, polite and smiley faces, which really did make a difference. We were provided with clear info regarding the hotel, spa, restaurants and other essentials and a nice gentleman took care of our luggage (of which there were many!) and took them up to our rooms. A very good start.

Rooms:
Were spacious, lovely and very clean; everything you would expect from a 5* hotel. We had a free safe which was nice and there were a few drinks waiting in the fridge, which were restocked everyday by the cleaning lady. We had one suite with a fantastic view overlooking the swimming pools and the sea and two other side rooms which also had a very nice view of the sea. There was also free wifi in the rooms, and all around the hotel.

Restaurants:
The main restaurant was the best we've experienced, there was not one day where any member of our family was not completely satisfied and full after breakfast/lunch/dinner. And unlike other places, it was the first time a few of us didn't fill up on chips/fries only. Food was plentiful, always fresh and a very good variety which would suit anyone. There was also a choice of 3 restaurants (Japanese, Italian and Madeiran) you could book and after experiencing all three we have to say the Japanese was excellent, the other two were good, but nothing special.
The snack bar and sports bar also deserve an honourable mention. Both excellent. The snackbar has great food and ice cream throughout the day for whenever you feel a little hungry and can't wait till lunch/dinner. The sportsbar is actually open until the early hours of the morning and there's usually some food available here too no matter what time it is. The selection of drinks was great, with good quality branded alcohol (and non-diluted soft drinks) being served as part of the all-inclusive, which isn't the case in many hotels.

Spa and gym:
Both fantastic, open 7am-9pm and all facilities were open to use for free (apart from massages/facials which would have to be booked). I point this out as we've been to several places were we've been asked to pay to use for example the sauna or jacuzzi even though we were on an ALL-inclusive package. The walk in jacuzzi was great, really relaxing, especially after a long day of travelling.

Outdoor swimming pools:
One smaller for younger children and a very good sized main pool for everyone else, which was not too deep nor too shallow for the majority. A pleasant surprise was that there were always sunbeds available during our stay there, no matter what time we decided to go (be it in the morning or late afternoon after returning from a tour). They do leave a notice for people not to reserve sunbeds at the break of dawn (that aren't used for hours!) as we have been accustomed to at many hotels; and it seemed like all the guests adhered to this.

Staff:
Superb, excellent, fantastic...and every other superlative would not do them justice. From the cleaning ladies to the receptionist and bar staff every single one of them were very welcoming, always cheerful and provided a truly 5* service. Surprisingly everyone we talked to also spoke good English which was nice for us. The service was excellent, I don't think any of us had to wait more than a few minutes at the most to get a drink, and this was even during busy periods (such as the world cup final). Unfortunately we didn't get the names of most of the staff, but have to say that the two senior restaurant managers (I believe), Mr. Gilbert and Mr. Erik, were absolutely superb. One of us had a birthday the following day and after mentioning this to Mr. Gilbert, we were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely birthday cake delivered to our table the next day during dinner and the staff singing happy birthday!.

Entertainment:
I've left this last on purpose as these guys really did make our holiday extra special. A very special mention has to go to Diogo, Vitor, Heloisa and Elsa from the entertainment team who were amazing. The whole team were always cheerful, willing to talk to guests and get them involved with the daily activities. There's a kid's club for very small children who seemed to enjoy it. For older adults many seemed to enjoy the daily bingo event and as for the older ones and young adults, there were daily table tennis, water polo and table football tournaments, which went down great with everyone there. During our stay, there were many families as well as couples and I have to say it seemed like everyone was enjoying the activities. The entertainment team would go around and try and get everyone involved, even those who decided to sit out of the activities were enjoying watching, especially the water polo games which were great.
There was always great evening entertainment too, whether it be live singing, a lovely pianist playing in the moonlight bar or cabaret performances followed by mini discos. So there would basically be something for everyone and we were definitely kept entertained throughout our stay at the hotel.

My family loved this place so much we are planning to return, and we would have no hesitation in recommending Enotel Lido to anyone, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a solid, all inclusive hotel. As we stayed there in February, it was filled with retired people having their winter break there. We felt a bit strange since there were perhaps 10 couples who were under 60 years, and we are in our 30s. We were told by many visitors that this was a wrong place for us...
The room was a bit old fashioned, but clean. Premises were OK, although the gym could be renewed.
The location is fine, bus connections to the centre, nice walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NordicSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.
We would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned from The Enotel Lido in Madeira
The hotel was fabulous, clean, with lovely ,helpful and friendly staff. The food was terrific with a superb variety, whether it is hot or cold food you wish to eat ,you cannot go wrong here. It is good not having to take your own towels as these are provided by the hotel for the sunbeds, they can be changed every day so easy., as it is quite early in the season there were not many young children, which was a bonus, not that I don' t like children I hasten to add.The themed nights were good we did all three, Maderian, Japanese and the Italian,interesting.
We would certainly go again, the hotel was convenient for walking whether to the shops or the local bars, the entertainment in the evening was ok,especially the entertainment by the pool after dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra and have a pool view, otherwise it's the car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the Enotel Lido with my Mum and Sister-in-law returning 14 July. The Hotel is in a great position, backing on to the promenade and within walking distance from Funchal town centre. The lobby is spacious with a grand piano which we heard played on a couple of occasions and was a real treat. The bar serves the usual and has an excellent cocktail selection. Downstairs is a garden room, quiet lounge area stunningly furnished and has an aquarium. This is next door to the entertainment lounge. On the ground floor you will find the theme restaurants, sports bar and spa.

For those interested it is also only a 15 min walk from Reid's Palace which is a must for the afternoon tea.

Accommodation
We had side sea view rooms. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms have large bath, separate shower, toilet, bidet and basin The hairdryer (and shaver socket) is perfectly adequate if not powerful. Ironing board and iron are NOT provided on grounds of safety. The minibar contains water and 3 cans of soft drinks. You are not permitted to take drinks back to your room but this wasn't an issue as the bars are open very late. We had a safe and air-conditioning.

Restaurants
Well the food was delicious and plentiful. We tried the Japanese and Madeiran restaurants. The Japanese was excellent. Personally I was a little disappointed with the Madeiran. The food tasted lovely but was lacking heat and the plates were rather smeared around the edges giving the impression they were dirty. We didn't complain as everything else had been lovely.

My only complaint would be that the dress code for evening dinner was not enforced. It may sound petty but we like to dress up for dinner in a smart hotel and some guests took no notice of the no casual shorts etc in the evening and .

Pool ans Spa
There was 1 large and 1 paddling pool outdoors and 1 indoor pool (no swim-cap required). The water was not at all cold and you could stand up in the large pool if you were average height. I'm 5'5. There were plenty of beds although we did struggle to find 3 together and did a bit of re-arranging . As with everywhere, beds did appear to be reserved although we only spent 2 afternoons by the pool, Towels could be changed everyday and they did the job. We used the jacuzzi room twice which was lovely. This is a dark room as though set under a night sky. It was my Mum (81yrs) first experience of a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and she loved it!

Entertainment
There is a varied entertainment program albeit we never took advantage of the daytime activities. We did watch the evening entertainment and thought the standard was high. We certainly enjoyed it.

Staff
The staff is nothing short of excellent. So polite, obliging, professional, friendly .... I could go on. They really do make this hotel stand out.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: It really depends on how much time you spend on your balcony. We had a side sea view which I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank runicmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a lovely relaxing week and I would add my praise to all the others who have already commented. It is the best all inclusive I have ever had, fantastic staff ...food...facilities....room - marvellous in every way and fantastic value for money! Don't hesitate to go - you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: Pool side ....but no sun in the morning if you prefer am to pm sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBR178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words which were much appreciated.

We wish you all the best for both your private and professional life and we are looking forward to welcome you in our house in a near future.

Best regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just back from first holiday in Madeira.This is a lovely hotel and the staff are excellent,really helpful.The dinner buffet was very nice.We also did 2 of the themed restuarants.Italian was quite nice.The Japanese which I didn't really fancy was very nice.Good service in the buffet restaurant.
the waiters serve you drinks for you which was nice.We also had a packed lunch from hotel when we did a day trip that was nice too.Our room on the 10th floor was spacious and clean.Free safe and soft drinks in the mini fridge.Good air con.The TV had a few descent channels on aswell not all foreign or news also impressed with the Free WiFi in the room aswell.Entertainment quite good had it outside as the weather got warmer.As it was world cup final week the sports bar was popular good beer and branded spirits not local which is a first,usually pay extra for that.wine was ok too.Would recommend here to couples and young families not much for older kids.I may return here if I can brave the plane landing at Funchal airport again.
Oh one more thing no shorts for men at dinner so take trousers/jeans quite a few caught out by that rule so the near by shopping centre was handy for my husband.

Room Tip: The suites are roomy another guest told me, some with a really large balcony. I'd say its quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing