We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just got back from a weeks break in Madeira staying at the Enotel Lido and what a great week it was.
Firstly the hotel met all expectations both inside and out. The room was kept beautifully clean all week and was a nice comfortable size for two people. The all inclusive package was excellent value you could eat and drink from dawn to dusk, the only problem is you do just that!!
The staff were all friendly and went about their duties efficiently. The atmosphere was always calm and relaxed and the weather was amazing.
Madeira as an island was a safe place to walk around and we felt at ease. We got around Funchal on the yellow hop on and off bus buying a two day pass for 24 euros, and make sure you take the cable car ride up to Monte (decided not to come back down in a basket though), so went back in the cable car so we could admire the views.
All in all well worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank 134liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 2,617 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Amazing hotel, very clean, spacious bedrooms and fabulous food. They have 4 restaurants, buffet restaurant, Maderian, Italian and Japanese. We thought the buffet restaurant was great. They offer you red, rose and white wine with your meal and they continue to fill it up the more you drink. The all inclusive drinks they offer premium brand drinks too. In the pool cafe you can help yourself to a bottle of wine and take it back to you bedroom and on an afternoon fabulous pizza and ice cream. There are Three bars and an entertainment room. Entertainment is not brilliant but we never expect too much from holiday entertainment. The staff are so friendly and whilst sunbathing around the poolside they come around and were offering us more drink. We have had the most fabulous holiday there. We also visited other 4 and 5 star hotels around the same locality and none had as much clientele or lived up to this one. I'm very fussy with regards to finding great hotels and I give this 100% and one day will return.

Room Tip: Choose a room opposite the pool which gets the sun on an afternoon for the best views. Ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20arms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your opinion with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just returned from a week all inclusive at the Enotel Lido Hotel in Madeira, it's a very nice hotel the buffet food was excellent loads of choice, there was food and drink on hand 24/7 if you needed it
Rooms were we well equipped and comfy. the staff were very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was ok some nights better than others
Disappointing factor of this hotel is having to pay for the spa and wi fi.
We did a trip to Funchal rode on the cable cars up to Monte then came sliding half way down on the wicker toboggans (which I would recommend) we also did an organised full day trip round the west of the island which included lots of stops to take in the lovely views, a 20 minute lavada walk and a 3 course lunch.
And of course the weather was glorious.
I would definitely go again and do some of the lovely walks

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfing-buddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Enotel Lido hotel is a large 5 star hotel on the sea front at the Lido end of Funchal. The entrance is on floor 6 at the road side of the hotel as it is built into a cliff.
The public areas are very well furnished, these being the lobby lounge and bar, the lounge on 5th. floor and the entertainment room.
The pool area is nicely appointed with ample sunbeds but even so the German guests have to put their towels on the beds even though the hotel doe not allow this. The pool area contains a furnished terrace with tables and chairs and a restaurant which serves meals, snacks and drinks all day. Waiters circulate around the pool area with a selection of cold drinks.
The bedrooms though nicely furnished are nothing special and I feel they are more like a four star bedroom. They have laminate flooring and this I think is a mistake as carpet would be more in line with a good quality hotel. The bathrooms are functional with a bath and separate shower cubicle, but again nothing special. The balconies are quite small but large enough for a table and two chairs. Bed linen is changed every day and there is a fridge in the bedrooms with complimentary soft drinks which are replaced daily.
The buffet restaurant is large and again nicely furnished but I felt it was overcrowded and somewhat understaffed. The quality and variety of food was very good. There are three other restaurants and guests are allowed to use each once a week. These are a Madeiran restaurant, an Italian restaurant and a Japanese restaurant.
The nightly entertainment is not great but it is varied and the entertainment lounge gets very crowded.
Many people have made comments regarding the high cost of wifi and this is true, however behind the reception desk there is an internet room with thee computers which are free.
The hotel has a very good spa with various tariffs and a very well equipped and modern gym which is free of charge.
Overall I found this to be a very clean and well run hotel and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. If I could award it four and a half stars, I would. But I cannot award it 5 stars as there are one or two things as mentioned which could be improved upon. However I would not hesitate to return to this hotel as it was very enjoyable. If you find this review helpful I would be obliged if you would tick the "helpful box".

Room Tip: All rooms have a side sea view, but pool facing rooms have a better outlook. West facing rooms get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Enotel lido is one of the few hotels in Madeira that offers "All Inclusive". The staff friendly and efficient and food was plentiful and of good quality. Much to my surprise the hotel were offering
premium brand drinks as part of the all inclusive. Most of the guests were repeat guests of retirement age and spend up to one month at the hotel which indicates the good value of the hotel. Like all hotels in Funchal there is limited recreational area around the building and what there is surrounds the pool. Good location for bus service into Funchal. They run every few minutes and cost Euro1.35 each way. Much cheaper than taxi. Overall a good holiday but not
sure I would spend another 3weeks in Madeira now we have seen the island.

Room Tip: We had a suite 827 which overlooked the pool area and sea with large terrace.. Some standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks all inclusive. Well definately not what I call 5*, more like 3*. Whilst hotel is spotlessly clean, food is acceptable but again not fantastic. The excuse of being tied into the previous owners wi-fi contract until next year bit of a cop-out. 22 euros a day really steep. To use the jacuzzi and spa area 8 euro a time and the water aerobics 10 euros doesn't mean that this is "All Inclusive" However staff very polite but they seem to be under great pressure to get their work done. You are serviced and fed, but hotel really lacks any atmosphere, nothing happens during the day and the evening entertainment is repeated each week so no great variety. It's a hotel that would do well for conferences but really lacks any buzz

Room Tip: hotel is "U" shaped, rooms facing towards the sea or the pool are better. rooms on outer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RIA29Eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our first trip to Madeira. Pleased with the hotel - very friendly helpful welcome by reception and Sara on guest services.. Lovely view from reception of sea and pool. Room spacious and bathroom good size- all very clean and well appointed. Bed and pillows comfy; water and soft drinks in the fridge. Hair dryer feeble though- because of this I booked to have hair washed and blow dried by the hotel hairdresser. She did a great job - would recommend -she doesn't speak much English but understood hairdressing requests!
Food in the buffet good and varied in the week we were there. Puddings exceptional!!!! All like dinner party desserts- much better than most hotels we have experienced and worth a taste of each. Food replenished regularly so even if you ate late there were the same choices. Service in the restaurants we found to be good- agreed that often there was no one to greet you but we quite like finding our own table.
Speciality restaurants were ok... Menues were limited to 2 choices per course in the Italian and Maderian so 2 x in each was enough ; Japenese was fun as they cook in front of you- set menu though so check before if you have dislikes or allergies. A change from the buffet.
Pool area and beds well set out - didn't try the pool as unheated!
The main bar in the reception area was good to sit in for pre dinner drinks - good service and atmosphere
Location of hotel good- out of the back gate onto the prom - turn right and walk for about 30 mins to a nice bar / restaurant overlooking a Stoney beach; turn left and walk into Funchal in about 25 mins. Buses from next hotel right down into Funchal every 20 mins - cost 1.60 euros each way
Whole day West coast min bus tour was great! Also enjoyed the cable car rides upto the top and then down to the Botanical gardens and back. Great views. Nice to wander along the old streets in Funchal - go around the Fort for the views and also look out for all the painted doors We liked it all and will definitely return
to Madeira. The Portuguese people were friendly, polite and helpful and seemed to have a pride in their work.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 88 in Funchal
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $200 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing