We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas at the Enotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Xmas at the Enotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Checked in on the 23rd December for a 7 night Xmas break. We booked a superior room which was on the second floor, the room was spacious and well appointed with a sea view from the balcony. Walking around the hotel and getting our bearings, we found all the public areas to be well maintained and furnished to a very high standard in a modern style. The indoor pool is first class. As mentioned in other reviews this is Funchal's first all inclusive hotels and actually serve top brand spirits in all the bars (Gordon's Gin, Famous Grouse Whisky etc) and all serve fresh ground coffee!
The biggest disappointment for us was the main dining room, it is quite featureless and is reminiscent of a big canteen, the room has the potential to be a real focal point. For 3 days there were no salt or pepper on the tables and teaspoons were nowhere to be seen. The Gala dinner was on Christmas eve and guest had to book a seat on an allocated table at 7pm. the Gala dinner was self service and with several hundred people descending on the food area all at once it was chaotic to say the least. As we had to book our places, it would have been far more appropriate to have 2 sittings. This main dining room was our only real criticism and the 3 themed restaurants on the ground floor were excellent. All staff members throughout the hotel were warm and friendly and very helpful. Entertainment in the evenings was varied and of a good standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We would like to say “Obrigado” for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    759
    241
    47
    23
See reviews for
436
1,512
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A disappointing start no offer of anybody to take cases to the room I expect more of this class of hotel. Room was acceptable but it took 3days to replace a burnt out light bulb. Room was cleaned well and new toiletries were supplied each day. WiFi -was informed it was 20 euros a day--not acceptable in this day and age. Went into the indoor pool - no changing facilities -I was sent to a toilet. Food was plentiful but often only lukewarm . Tablecloths in the restaurant were dragging on the floor ,had to keep kicking them out of the way,and we're not changed/refreshed between users. Overall nothing like the standard I expected . Had a good last night meal in the Italian restaurant

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week a couple of weeks before Xmas. We liked the all inclusive. The food was very good in the buffet, lots of choice. Impressed by the check lists in the restaurant areas and in the public toilets. Everywhere was very clean. Not too impressed by the food in the Italian buffet during the day, my pizza was awful and we didn't eat there again preferring the buffet. Our room was on the 7th floor and was kept very clean by the staff, clean towels every day. Only down side on the balcony was the smokers a couple of rooms along meaning that we couldn't sit there very much. Staff were always very friendly and smiling. All in all a lovely break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

When we arrived at around midday, we checked in at reception; one of our two rooms was already ready, but we had to wait until 1pm for the other one. We were slightly puzzled as to why the rooms were on opposite sides of the hotel, but it turned out to be because one of them had to be superior in order to sleep 3. We were given towel cards and wrist bands which entitled to us to everything that is free on all inclusive.

The first thing I did was to study the bar menu; I was very disappointed to discover that this hotel does not offer Diet Coke or Coke Zero, as this is a must-have drink for any resort; they did have Pepsi and Pepsi Light, but I really do not like Pepsi as it tastes funny [strangely though their Ginger Ale was Schweppes, which is made by the Coca-Cola Company]. At first sight the cocktail list looked tempting, albeit slightly limited. However, they turned out to leave much to be desired. All of their cocktails are pre-mixed and it is clear that they do not make them well. For example, a mojito, my favourite cocktail, should be made by pounding limes, mint and sugar together, and then adding rum and a little bit of soda water; this is how hotels such as Crystal Cove and Mango Bay in Barbados make them, but instead they gave us some mixture which tasted like mouthwash mixed with orange squash. There is also a free minibar in the room, although to be honest it is not very good, offering just one bottle of water, one can of Pepsi, one can of a funny fizzy passion fruit drink and one can of 7UP; they really should put a diet drink in there, especially given the average age of the guests there!

When we went to our first meal in the Atlantico restaurant, we realised why so many people had compared it to an old folks’ home; the majority of people were over 70! All of the meals in this restaurant were buffet, and we found that you had to really look hard to find something to nice; we did have a lot of nice food, but you do have to learn how to find it! In particular, they often had nice soups and pastas, and sometimes they had interesting food at the show cooking station. We did find that most of the puddings tasted of nothing, although they did occasionally have something amazing, e.g. a carrot frangipane tart. However, normally the garnishes were a lot nicer than the puddings themselves! (e.g. physalis and chestnuts).

The hotel has a snack bar which is open throughout the day, and offers little delicacies such as aubergine, hot snacks such as pizza, hamburgers and pasta, and puddings. I was rather upset when they refused to make me a pizza without cheese, given that they appear to make their pizzas freshly! The puddings were generally cakes or creamy things that tasted of nothing, although they also had a selection of ice creams and a sorbet!

The hotel did have 3 special restaurants with waiter service, and we were allowed to have one dinner in each of these; we did manage to book all of them, but only just! The first one we went to was the Italian restaurant; this turned out to be the daytime snack bar. This consisted of some bread with smoked salmon, followed by a selection of starters from the buffet. We were then allowed either a pizza or a pasta dish, followed by a main course and finally some desert from the buffet. It was quite nice, although it definitely did not feel like an authentic Italian restaurant! The second one we went to was the Madeiran restaurant; this consisted of some garlic bread, followed by a 3-course meal; this was really good; first a really nice soup, then a really interesting main course (apart from the fact that some of it contained cheese, which was not mentioned on the menu), and finally…well to be honest I was appalled by the desert; the menu stated that it would be a trilogy of deserts: a cheesecake, some passion fruit cream and a berry compote. I cannot eat cheese but though that I would be able to eat two thirds of the pudding. However, it turned out that the passion fruit cream and berry compote were just small garnishes for the cheesecake, and worse still, were placed on top of the cheesecake so that they were contaminated! In both the Italian and Madeiran restaurants one of the waitresses was the same, and she sang a funny Portuguese song which went on and on and on; in the Madeiran restaurant, fair enough, but why in the Italian restaurant?! The Japanese restaurant’s layout was a bit like a Yo! Sushi, in that everyone sits around a bar with a chef cooking in the middle. We were first given a miso soup, which was actually more like a salty beef broth. We were then given a small amount of sushi, which was my favourite part of the dinner. Then we were given a selection of fish with some interesting vegetables, followed some green tea and subsequently by a mixture of meats with egg fried rice. For pudding, they fried up some pineapple, which would have been nice, albeit a bit bizarre for a Japanese restaurant, but to my horror they put jam on it! I was quite impressed that this restaurant actually offered a relevant drink that you cannot get from the bar; Sake (Japanese rice wine).

On Christmas Eve, they did their Christmas dinner. It was a bit peculiar that you had to share a table with other guests, and this rather spoilt the magic. It was rather disappointing also that it was a buffet. However, the food was very nice on the whole, including fennel soup, classics such as turkey, and also some different things such as steak. They also had some nice biscuits for pudding. Then a lovely choir came to sing to us in the restaurant, but I was outraged by the fact that most of the guests were talking noisily through it, so that you could hardly hear it! Pretty much everyone had finished eating at this stage, so the hotel should have got people to either be quiet or leave!

The outdoor pool was quite cold to begin with and after about 20 minutes, but proved to be a very refreshing experience. The indoor pool was quite nice because it was heated. However, frustratingly you had to wear a swimming hat in order to be allowed to swim in it. The hotel did have a spa, which was quite impressive, with a huge stone steam room, 2 saunas, a turbo shower, and two Jacuzzis and a salt pool in a place that was like going down into a huge cave! It does cost €8 per person per visit, although we did get a free pass as a member of our party managed to win a ping pong tournament!

Overall, this was quite a magical Christmas break, although it could have been a lot better if they made their cocktails properly and offered more interesting food and had fewer buffets, amongst various other touches which you just don’t get!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gourmet_and_gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.

All the highlighted points mentioned by you were carefully analyzed and measures were taken in order to avoid situations like these in the future. Nevertheless we will continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service and making all our efforts to make Enotel lido a great hotel to stay.

Thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided we needed some sunshine in May so went for an all-inclusive, high star rated hotel. Unfortunately, the sun arrived every other day for a short time and the food was not brilliant being a self service buffet. At times the food was only luke warm and huge queues formed. Your wine glass only was filled if you were near the waiters stations.
There are three alternative restaurants with only the sushi restaurant worth a visit. The Italian and Maderian restaurant were very average.
The bar in reception got very busy at times with only one barman working most of the time.
The room was beautiful with a side view of the sea. The public area were very clean and modern.
From the hotel to Funchal town centre was a hilly walk of about 45 minutes. The cable car ride was excellent, as was the ride down the hill in the wicker chair. The fish market was also worth a visit.
All in all, a lovely hotel but, in the even of us returning, we would opt for half board.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

As our usual hotel (the Monumental Lido) was being refurbished this year, 8 of us booked the Enotel Lido instead and were not dissappointed. This must be one of the first all-inclusive hotels on the island, but bet it won't be the last. Qualtiy of the drinks (and quantity!) and food was excellent, only complaint being a vegetarian that despite there being a large choice of hot meals, there was never a separate vegetarian one, and those that looked as if they should be i.e. 'rice and beans' had small ham pieces scattered over the top, and the pasta which should have had vegetables in it had seafood as well. Still, that is a minor detail, as there was always a good choice of salads, and the desserts were delicious!
Unlike your other reviewers we felt the 'Italian' evening was a great dissappointment. It is in the usual poolside cafe, and the food was really poor - there certainly wasn't an Italian chef that night and the pizza was inedible, unlike the ones during the day at the same place which were great!
We had a large room with side sea view on the third floor, and could have upgraded but for an extra £200 or so we felt it really wasn't worth it, as you don't spend much time in the room. Beds were firm, but great bathroom with separate shower and bath. Everywhere spotlessly clean!
The weather was fantastic - one of the best weeks we have had on Madeira - and it was a pity the outdoor pool wasn't heated at all as it was really rather too cold for swimming. The indoor pool was OK, but smelt strongly of chlorine and you had to buy a swim-cap for 4 euros - the only extra we had to pay for!
All the staff were really friendly, and made our stay a great one - though the look on the face of the barman on the first night when we asked for 8 drinks had to be seen to be believed!
We love Madeira, and would be quite happy to go back to the Enotel Lido.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janetarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

“Obrigado” for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Well that's a bit of a lie. I'm actually in the reception area of the hotel 3 blocks down (The Porta Mare) where they have FREE WiFi. It's 20 euros a day at the Enotel Lido. It's December 22nd. Everything says it'll soon be Christmas....except the weather. It's hot and sunny....wonderful! The Enotel Lido is excellent value for money. Into the third and final week of our holiday in beautiful Madeira. Our first ever 'all inclusive'. Excellent food. Plenty to choose from. Good selection of FREE branded drinks and quality local wine and Coral beer. If Funchal was full of lager louts instead of Saga louts, the streets would be awash with drunken Brits abroad. As it is, the 'grey army' (of which I am one), treat the unlimited free booze on offer with a certain respect. The staff here are exceptional. You must try the three 'themed' on site restaurants if you stay here. Japanese, Italian and Madieran. You have to book. You get waited on. Even sung to by the lovely Fatima. She will brings tears to your eyes with a traditional Fado. All FREE, and makes a nice change from self service. Entertainment is a bit 'Madeira's Got Talent Rejects', but there is an excellent saxophone player called Bazzillio who along with his trio, put on a very good show. Check out the Enotel Plus office while you are here. There is a 'Time Share Opportunity' if you must (we didn't), but you will get a choice of a half price excursion as a 'thank you' for listening to the marketing pitch, which takes about 45 minutes. The full day trip around the West of the island was breath taking. I would say that the Enotel Lido is more 4 star than 5 star, but I'm not complaining. It has to be high end all inclusive. Got to go now. Christmas Carol Concert in Funchal tonight. Got to change out of these shorts, enjoy a lovely meal in the Atlantico Restaurant, sample a few ice cold beers before setting out into the warm evening sunset. Happy Christmas everyone!


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TOONIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnotelHandR, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards and whishes of a Happy 2014.

Luis Guimarães
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,812 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,629 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing