We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enotel Lido Madeira
Nearby Hotels
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$477
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
$286
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$134
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$142
$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa(Funchal)
$151
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$198
$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveler rating
1,534
875
269
50
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,534
875
269
50
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantbranded drinksmoonlight barall inclusive hotelpool areashow cookingthemed restaurantwater and soft drinksall inclusive packagelovely hotelall inclusive foodlobby barevening entertainmentplenty of choiceguest relationsaqua aerobicsbeautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
1,859 - 1,864 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks in the Enotel Lido Funchal. Great hotel which really lives up to its rating. If I were to be picky I would get the maintenance boys to look at the extraction system in the bathrooms, But this didn't detract from a really good holiday. Well done Enotel Lido!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoewTenburywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was our first 'all inclusive' experience, and it was excellent. The hotel is not a 5* in my opinion, but the service from the staff definitely is 5*. The staff are amazing, bringing drinks while you sit by the pool, nothing is too much trouble.
The three themed restaurants are all good and make a nice change to be served rather than the buffet, which is very good with a huge variety of food and delicious deserts.
The Enotel is a large hotel and the sunbeds are overcrowded around the pool, however we did stay during their busiest time.
The rooms are fine, Spa is lovely and definitely worth a visit. A great holiday experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melissawenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of celebrating my partner's 30th birthday at Enotel, and I'm delighted to say that it was an excellent experience.

Some all-inclusive hotels offer mass produced food, repetitive menus and a general lack of high standards. Enotel had a great choice of food, including three themed (Japanese, Madeiran and Italian) restaurants you could book at--included with your stay of course! Food in general was high quality, and prepared well. I would particularly recommend booking at the Madeiran restaurant where you can sample some of the local cuisine.

Various bars at various places throughout the hotel meant you never really had to wait, and you could grab a drink whether you were in swimwear or your suit. There were also snacks laid out throughout the hotel especially around the pool deck until 2:30 AM in case you might feel peckish at any time.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with nicely sized balcony--great for smokers. Note that noise can be heard on the lower floors at night, although it doesn't go on for too late.

The staff were all ultra friendly, and very hard working. Special mention should go to the Guest Relations officer--although we didn't get her name, she worked very hard (behind the scenes and without our knowledge!) to make sure my partner had a birthday surprise and that we in general had a lovely time at Enotel--if you ever read this--thanks! I wish we got your name.

Location: it is around 45 minutes to an hour walking from the city centre, through rising and falling terrains, be aware and prepared, and it's a lovely walk. It's in the hotel district, which meant the area felt very safe, very clean, and all the locals were very friendly and helpful. Enotel is right off the shore, so access to the lido and walks along the shore are just a stone's throw away. Access to the core of Funchal can be made by bus or cabfare is just a few euros (8 I think).

Other guests: the other guests were all very friendly. Many families. No rowdies, everyone was very nice and from all nationalities and age groups.

Negatives:

- Interwebs: the WiFi costs 22 euros/day. That's broadband piracy! All inclusive should mean basic web access WiFi is included, and Enotel could offer a business class for VPN and high bandwidth users. Tourists need to check maps, tours, etc--especially since not all the reception staff were knowledgeable to the local bus routes, times, local amenities.

- Ageism: we did note that it seemed seniors always got served first for things like morning coffees, rounds at the pool, and so on--nothing serious, but we should all be treated the same. It appeared at times like some other guests were waited on hand and foot while we had to repeatedly call waiters over.

The positives far outweigh the negatives, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, if we ever get to visit Madeira another time.

Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not very far from Funchal, this hotel is located in a very picturesque location with natural pools in front of it (therefore the name lido). Considering that it was all inclusive, all the staff (especially the guest relations) were extremely friendly and there were many different places to get your drinks or food from, so you don't get bored of having always the same thing. The swimming pool is good although it closes quite early (19:00) and it was very crowded during the day. The rooms were good sized and well acclimatized and everything was quite clean. All in all we were very happy with our stay although considering it is a five star hotel Wi-Fi should be included and some reception staff should have been more knowledgeable about local amenities (such as the nearest tobacconist) or public transport or since there is no internet, having offered to check it for us.

Room Tip: The lower you get and if you're facing the swimming pool, the noisier at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suguisugui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having just spent two weeks here we had a great time. We got a room on 8th floor overlooking the pool. Great views the staff were great.the waiters worked hard in dining room only to glad to help.the bar staff were always coming round with drinks keeping the Pool.tidy.only fault was the sunbeds could do with some new ones.walked to Funchal there and back about an hour each way.came back through park takes part of the hill out. Would go back sometime.

Room Tip: Try 8/9 floors overlooking pool.I emailed hotel and got one on 8th floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveWallsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews