We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for relaxing in the sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Spent a week here just before the Easter weekend. The Receptionist was very efficient and we had our wristbands ( to show we were all inclusive) put around our wrists and were then in our rooms very quickly. The hotel is very modern and clean and we had no complaints about our room or the service provided. We found the meals very good and you can book in to all three of the specialist restaurants at the same time so suggest you book in as early as you can at the desk in the Reception area. Otherwise the self service restaurant provides lots of hot dishes and salads to choose from. The pools are clean and there are plenty of sunbeds but not many sunshades (but you can always move the loungers in to the shade if the sun is too hot). Funchal is only 10 minutes away and Blandys is great fun if you want to find out about Madeira wine and taste a few samples.To go in to Funchal, the bus stop is directly opposite the hotel entrance but you need to turn left when you come out of the front door and walk up the steps at the end of the road, and then double back as the road is on a higher level than the hotel entrance. We hired a car for a couple of days to go out and about and see the island. The roads are well maintained but the bends are very sharp with steep, breathtaking drops along most of them, so not for the nervous driver or passenger. The north of the island is spectacular and if you go to Santa, nea rPorto Moniz, do look out for the handmade sign for the Churrarascaria where Gabriel will give you steak and chips with his secret sauce for 2 with wine for approx £20. I had a massage in the spa and this was a really luxurious treat. Included in the price is the use of the jacuzzi, steam room and pools.

All in all we had a wonderful trip and would recommend the hotel and resort.

Room Tip: We had a poolside, sea view room. Which meant we could sunbathe on our balcony in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherillT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are glad to know that your expectations have generally been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, for it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 2,667 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for seven nights at were mostly very happy with our experience.

Upsides:
Good location in a nice area not far from Funchal and it's definitely possible to walk to the city, which is about 3km away. On the way you pass plenty of nice restaurants and the walk is quite scenic without too many steep hills. This is said keeping Madeira in mind where most streets appear to be sitting on hills like the rest of the island. I can also add that we stayed all-inclusive and the cocktails served were very good for being all-inclusive. A gin & tonic is for example served with proper gin and not some sort of strange variety of gin that no one has ever heard of before (which may be the case at many resorts offering all-inclusive packages). Staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Downsides:
The hotel area is quite limited in relation to the area outside the building itself. There is a pool and that's pretty much it. However, land appears to be quite precious on Madeira so I guess that is the reason so it's not a huge deal. Lunch and dinner buffets were quite limited, especially in relation to main course alternatives. However, when staying for a week like we did, we were allowed to dine once at each of the three á la carte restaurants and they were all very good. Another thing to add in relation to the lunch and dinner buffets is that coffee and tea are not served with the desserts. Why that is we didn't understand. We most certainly prefer coffee or tea with the cake instead of beer. For coffee / tea we were directed to one of the bars after the meal. One more thing, when having a shower make sure to be prepared to quickly jump away from the water as it suddenly can get boiling hot! This is also something we can live with but certainly unpleasant and I guess especially important to look out for if travelling with babies.

We would recommend this hotel and can see ourselves staying here again. They advertise themselves as a 5 star hotel but it felt more like a good 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: As often, higher floors have better views. None of the rooms should be very noisy since traffic is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marcusmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion regarding our Hotel and services as they can always help us to improve.
We can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best in order to provide our Clients with a quality service, which you may witness in your next visit to the Enotel Lido Hotel.

We are pleased for your co-operation and would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just got back from a week at this hotel. On first impressions, it seemed great. The staff on reception were lovely and check in was swift. We had booked a suite so we had a lounge as well as a bedroom. Our balcony was huge and went around the corner so ideal for catching the sun at all times. Water and cans of pop were free in the fridge and topped up daily. A TV in both rooms and English channels galore. (I'm used to going to Egypt with only BBC world news and CNN news to watch, so this was a pleasant surprise). We had sun loungers on our balcony so no need to go to the pool area. Food was great. Quite a good choice and available throughout the day in either the main restaurant or down by the pool. The lobby bar was lovely but often packed so nowhere to sit. There was another beautiful lounge downstairs which was very chilled out and relaxing. The only problem was that the bar downstairs was not always open so you had to keep going up and down stairs if you wanted another drink. Not good in high heels carrying glasses! Entertainment was ok. Nothing special but no major problem. The ambiance made up for it! The location of the hotel is wonderful, overlooking the sea with beautiful views. Madeira is very hilly but despite this, there did seem to be a lot of elderly people with walking difficulties in our hotel and in Madeira in general. Someone told us that Madeira is good for either Newlyweds or Nearly deads! I would hasten to add that I am neither newly wed and hopefully not nearly dead!!!!!!!!! Anyway, getting back to details of the hotel and my reason for saying I think it's more of a good 4* than a 5*. This is because 1) Our twin beds which were pushed together to make a double but were still made up separately, and they did not have a valance on, therefore looking a bit 'scruffy', 2) on a couple of occasions there wasn't enough loo roll so my husband had to go in search of a cleaner's trolley for additional supplies, 3) in the main restaurant, it always seemed hard work catching the waiter's eye to get a drink to go with your meal, and lastly 4) having to go up and down stairs to get another drink. Bit dangerous when carrying drinks and even more so in high heels. Now despite my comments regarding these rather minor things, the hotel is really quite lovely so don't let it put you off going. The all inclusive is great and well worth paying for. Will I be going again? Probably not, but I think that is more to do with the weather, than the hotel Unfortunately the weather in March was quite unpredictable and could be really quite cold and windy at times. On saying that, it was better than the snow at home!

Room Tip: The suite was lovely. Worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank elainematty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

Once again ‘Obrigado’ and we hope to see you in the near future. Feel free to contact us anytime in case you have any special requests.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from Enotel Lido (Late March) Very good hotel.
Check in: fast and efficient
Cleanliness: Very clean, bedding changed almost daily
Food: Excellent, Buffet main restaurant spoilt for choice for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. Do try the Japanese, Italian and Madeiran restaurants during your stay, very good.
Hotel situated on the seafront with nice promenade walk along the front. Funchal town centre is about 40 min easy walk along mainly good pavements and not too hilly. Good bus service in the the area, buy a giro card from local shops and just top up when required 1.30 euros per trip irrispective of distance.
Bar staff: very good and worked very hard at peak times and didn`t have to wait long for drinks.
A couple of minus`s for the hotel. Two nights during our stay the Moonlight bar area (entertainment room) was shut and entertainment was in the lobby bar, this was fine except for the fact that there was too many people in that area and the lounge on the fifth floor and trying to find a seat. Some people resorted to going to bars across the road just to get a seat, our party went to the sports bar on the ground floor but had to get our drinks from the sixth floor as no one served the sports bar in the early evening. Perhaps the hotel should consider opening the seating area and bar in the moonlight bar even though the entertainment is in the lobby bar.
One other point for the hotel to take on board is the tablecloths in the main restaurant. They are oversized and drape onto the floor and do present a trip hazard when getting up and sitting at the table, only a minor point but relative I feel.
All in all an excellent hotel and would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Madeira.
WELL DONE ENOTEL>>>>WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be comparable, only the view changes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WrinklyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was very nice and all inclusive is certainly the way to go. There were afew downsides though. The bar where most of the entertainment went on was closed on Sunday and Monday which meant insufficient seating for the guests in the other public areas. If this bar had been kept open at least there would have been somewhere to sit even if you had to go to the other bar for your drinks.
All in the hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful.
Maybe the use of the jacuzzi at wet areas of the spar could have been included in the all inclusive package and not charged as an extra. I think a courtesy bus to anf from Funchal would be a very good bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We have received and carefully read your comments about our Hotel services. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your opinion and suggestions for they are very important to us and can always help us to improve our services.
We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at the Enotel Lido, which you may witness in the near future.

We thank you for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we have returned home after a week in the enotel lido in madeira ...spent several lovely holidays in madeira but this is the first time at this hotel we travelled with relatives my brother in law has mobility problems and the staff were excellent from our arrival and all through the week sarah the guest relation lady was most supportive on arrival we were loaned a wheelchair at no charge for his use during our stay the hotel was lovely spotlessly clean lovely soft fluffy towells comfitable beds we were rather cold on arrival and we were given heaters for the room immediately the safe is also free of charge .
we were on an a/i board basis and the food was excellent always plenty of choice the themed resturants were marvellous we went to the italian and maderian the seating in the japanese was'nt suitable for my brother in law but I'm sure this was also of a really good standard as were the other two there was always plenty of places to eat from the atlantico for breakfast lunch and dinner the pool snack bar was open till 5,00pm if you did.nt feel like going to breakfast then brunch in the snack bar was an alternative snacks also available in sports bar you can also get bottled water here to take back to your room ..in the room little fridge stocked with 3 canned drinks and a large bottle of water replenished when used drinks were of good quality in the bars staff always very pleasant and attentive never had to wait long entertainment ok all public areas were nicely decorated and plenty of seating we booked our holiday with first choice and the rep was lovely very friendly and helpfull ....only negative s are no tea/coffee making facilities in room, expensive wifi and we were on the dark side of hotel if Iwent back I would want to be sure I had a west facing room overlooking pool for afternoon sun we booked superior rooms and they were bigger than the standard so would definately book this size room again ...all in all a lovely weeks holiday at a very good hotel top marks to enotel lido and the excellent staff who work there

Room Tip: left hand side of pool facing the sea then afternoon sun highest floor possible to get better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank busybusybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as it is very important to us. We can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

Once again ‘Obrigado’ and we hope to see you in the near future. Feel free to contact us anytime in case you have any special requests.

Kind Regards,

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Enotel 11-18th March. Had never been to Madeira nor had ever gone all inclusive. If every all-inclusive hotel is like the Enotel we will be doing this a lot more. We really could not find much fault at all. All the public areas of the hotel were very clean and attractive. The staff could not have been better. They were very polite and helpful, and most had a smile on their faces. The bars were very well stocked with known brands and of course local drinks. Measures were not in use as far as I could see. Choice of restaurants was fine. We didn't use the three special restaurants as we were very happy with the choice in the main restaurants. Was able to try a few things I had never eaten and was never disappointed. If I had any little complaint, it would be that sometimes some of the food is not as hot as it could be. But it is just a little point to make. I think that is quite common with buffets. Although we were very happy with our room it could do with a bit of an upgrade but nothing drastic. There was some sort of entertainment each night. We enjoyed most of it. The weather was not very good when we were there but it didn't really spoil our holiday because there were things to see or do. Overall, even taking into account some little faults/complaints, I would say it was an excellent holiday at an excellent hotel(perhaps not quite 5 star), well worth the money. We shall return. Just another point. The island is not overrun by young lager louts or people jumping out everywhere trying to sell Timeshare. I think there is only one sandy beach, so it's probably not quite as attractive to younger folks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tttopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and we are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your happiness with us and we can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee a quality service to our guests.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to take this opportunity to send you our best regards.

Luis Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $219 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing