We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we were still there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel with friendly and helpful staff, nothing seemed to be any trouble at all. We had a room with a noisy extractor fan that was constantly on and when we mentioned it to the reception desk with a view to notifying them of a problem that might need fixing, rather than making a complaint, she immediately offered to move us.
Food was excellent, but not if you are looking for traditional English food. The themed restaurants were very good, Italian, Japanese and Madeiran, although the food on the Madeiran night was just as delicious if not more so in the buffet restaurant.
Would highly recommend any of the Windsor tours, we did one on Friday to the north of the island and the minibus (8 seater) was very comfortable with a wonderful driver/guide.
Bus stop near the hotel which was very convenient for going to the cable car, Funchal market etc as it went to the bus station by the sea front and each journey is 1 euro 30 cents using a card which you can top up in advance.
I have marked the sleep quality only average as my husband found the beds very hard.
There is a very pleasant walk along the promenade, lots of differant paths, cafes, flowers etc.can walk to the next village 4 km away, but not into Funchal along the seafront. Entertainment was varied, catering mostly for an older visitor, no Bingo (hurray) but very good shows put on by dancers attached to the hotel itself.
All in all, an excellent hotel with wonderful staff, appreciated the bath robes in the room to use by the pool, and the walk in shower as well as a huge bath, and the all inclusive deal is certainly very good value. We went with Mercury Direct and wouldn't hesitate to go to this hotel with them again. It was good having a local rep.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WiltshireToria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday in Funchal, Madeira. Excellent hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Accommodation was great, room large and spacious, one small problem was no kettle in the rooms hence you had to wait for a tea/coffee until you went to the bar/restaurant. A way around this would be to take a small travel kettle so not a major problem. All facilities were excellent and everything was cleaned to an excellent standard. Both food and drink was of a very high standard, entertainment perfect and we were lucky enough to be able to eat in all three speciality restaurants. Again these were of a very high standard with the Italian being our favourite. Definitely worthy of a 5* and we wouldn't hestitate to come back to this hotel and resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trace004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as they are very important to us.
I can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

I thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

a excellent hotel where you cannot fault service or food. ignore previous reviews about food room etc there is nothing wrong at all, the enotel will give you a very enjoyable holiday.we stayed for 10 days in january and the only problem we encountered was the noise from a group of younger people on a conference that decided on two night running to party past 12 midnight in there own rooms keeping us awake, this was not the hotels problem but talking to reception and asking to change rooms so that the noise did not interfere with us they were very accomodating in not only changing rooms for us but giving us a suite for our last two nights with no extra cost, now if that is not five star service then what is... many thanks for a enjoyable stay

Room Tip: choose a suite if the budget can afford it, floor eight is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as they are very important to us.
I can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

I thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Been home a few days now and wish we were back there, as so cold here with the snow! We had an excellent time at his hotel, very clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. the room was spacious with a very good bathroom, with a bath as well as a proper shower, room overlooking the pool with a view of the ocean too. Can't believe some peoples rude comments as we thought the restaurants were very good and really enjoyed the Japanese where as always the staff very helpful and kind, the same as the staff in all the restaurants, and agree with the comment about buffet food having to be only kept warm, because getting very dry if kept too hot is true. We are looking to returning the end of this year or early next year. We would like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: spa side off pool area ,floor eight got lovely sun on balcony pm ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Some reviews of this hotel pick faults, but the big things were all good for us.
People come first. Staff selection and training must be good. Cheerful, helpful and friendly was the norm, staff often went out of their way to be considerate.
If you keep buffet food too hot it dries out, so you keep it warm. If that's a problem for you, there are show cooking and themed restaurant options. The packed lunch is not haute cuisine but as a free extra it's a good base for lunch away from the hotel.
Rooms are spacious and clean, everything worked in ours and we had the bonus of a good view from the balcony (not that we used it much).
Entertainment is varied and often good, though Sunday evening was less impressive.
The location is good, by the coast and close to a stop for the (cheap) bus into town.
If you go to the Enotel with a positive attitude you will have a good time.
If you go to the

Room Tip: Pool view gives the best outlook and there was little noise, we liked a high floor though that did m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talkingtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just arrived home from a most enjoyable week, back to snow, de freezing car at airport etc. Hotel very clean rooms and communal areas very good, bed a bit hard for us but OK. Staff helpful, friendly. Food, breakfast good especially porridge and omelettes,both hot plus lots of fruit and bread. Packed lunch good and always ready on time. Dinner good variety but a bit on the cold side so, got in at 7pm and ate with hot stuff first then soup or salad both lovely and nice selection of puds Drinks proper brands of spirits and staff really friendly. loved Madeira hope to go back again and will stay again at Enotel. Staff at reception gave us lots of advice on buses, which we found difficult when we tried to get timetables in Funchal. Sax player excellent

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hilstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we spent christmas & new year at this hotel and enjoyed a wonderful two weeks, the staff are wonderful will go out of their way to help you. Our room overlooking the pool was large ,spotless, as was the bathroom (worth paying a little more for) The food was very good new years gala dinner was excellent,we met up with a great bunch of holidaymakers staying at the hotel and i am sure this helped with our stay . Close by are loads of places to eat or just go for a drink if you feel the need to get out ,bus stop facing the hotel (up asteep set of steps) easy to get into town worth buying the ten trip bus ticket,their is no limit to times or distance you travel very good value.The only down-side to our stay is that the area is VERY steep and would not suit anyone with walking problems.

Room Tip: rooms over the pool are worth the extra money ,the other rooms are over a car-park and it can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colin53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay
Pestana Ocean Bay
#36 of 88 in Funchal
2,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $216 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing