We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

a excellent hotel where you cannot fault service or food. ignore previous reviews about food room etc there is nothing wrong at all, the enotel will give you a very enjoyable holiday.we stayed for 10 days in january and the only problem we encountered was the noise from a group of younger people on a conference that decided on two night running to party past 12 midnight in there own rooms keeping us awake, this was not the hotels problem but talking to reception and asking to change rooms so that the noise did not interfere with us they were very accomodating in not only changing rooms for us but giving us a suite for our last two nights with no extra cost, now if that is not five star service then what is... many thanks for a enjoyable stay

Room Tip: choose a suite if the budget can afford it, floor eight is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to know that your expectations have overall been fulfilled.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion, as they are very important to us.
I can assure you that we will continue to do our best in order to guarantee the high quality of service at Enotel Lido Madeira, which you may witness in your next visit here.

I thank you for your co-operation and I would like to take this opportunity to send you our best wishes for both your professional and private life.

Best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    749
    236
    47
    23
See reviews for
432
1,486
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Been home a few days now and wish we were back there, as so cold here with the snow! We had an excellent time at his hotel, very clean and tidy, staff very friendly and helpful. the room was spacious with a very good bathroom, with a bath as well as a proper shower, room overlooking the pool with a view of the ocean too. Can't believe some peoples rude comments as we thought the restaurants were very good and really enjoyed the Japanese where as always the staff very helpful and kind, the same as the staff in all the restaurants, and agree with the comment about buffet food having to be only kept warm, because getting very dry if kept too hot is true. We are looking to returning the end of this year or early next year. We would like to thank all the staff for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: spa side off pool area ,floor eight got lovely sun on balcony pm ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Some reviews of this hotel pick faults, but the big things were all good for us.
People come first. Staff selection and training must be good. Cheerful, helpful and friendly was the norm, staff often went out of their way to be considerate.
If you keep buffet food too hot it dries out, so you keep it warm. If that's a problem for you, there are show cooking and themed restaurant options. The packed lunch is not haute cuisine but as a free extra it's a good base for lunch away from the hotel.
Rooms are spacious and clean, everything worked in ours and we had the bonus of a good view from the balcony (not that we used it much).
Entertainment is varied and often good, though Sunday evening was less impressive.
The location is good, by the coast and close to a stop for the (cheap) bus into town.
If you go to the Enotel with a positive attitude you will have a good time.
If you go to the

Room Tip: Pool view gives the best outlook and there was little noise, we liked a high floor though that did m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talkingtourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just arrived home from a most enjoyable week, back to snow, de freezing car at airport etc. Hotel very clean rooms and communal areas very good, bed a bit hard for us but OK. Staff helpful, friendly. Food, breakfast good especially porridge and omelettes,both hot plus lots of fruit and bread. Packed lunch good and always ready on time. Dinner good variety but a bit on the cold side so, got in at 7pm and ate with hot stuff first then soup or salad both lovely and nice selection of puds Drinks proper brands of spirits and staff really friendly. loved Madeira hope to go back again and will stay again at Enotel. Staff at reception gave us lots of advice on buses, which we found difficult when we tried to get timetables in Funchal. Sax player excellent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hilstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed your holiday at The ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

We sincerely hope to welcome you back at ENOTEL LIDO MADEIRA in the near future.

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

we spent christmas & new year at this hotel and enjoyed a wonderful two weeks, the staff are wonderful will go out of their way to help you. Our room overlooking the pool was large ,spotless, as was the bathroom (worth paying a little more for) The food was very good new years gala dinner was excellent,we met up with a great bunch of holidaymakers staying at the hotel and i am sure this helped with our stay . Close by are loads of places to eat or just go for a drink if you feel the need to get out ,bus stop facing the hotel (up asteep set of steps) easy to get into town worth buying the ten trip bus ticket,their is no limit to times or distance you travel very good value.The only down-side to our stay is that the area is VERY steep and would not suit anyone with walking problems.

Room Tip: rooms over the pool are worth the extra money ,the other rooms are over a car-park and it can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived in Funchal on 31/12/12 in order to celebrate the new year, which I would recommend to anyone. The firework display was amazing.
First impressions on the Enotel Lido Hotel were very good. It has a nice reception, with a great view over the sea and pool area. There is also a nice bar opposite the reception. Unfortunately though there were certain factors which did taint my overall view of this hotel.
It is a nice hotel, which is reasonably priced to stay at, therefore I would say it was good value. The negative points were as follows: 1.Although the rooms were nice, with a modern feel, many of them (and believe me we looked at quite a few) had a drainage problem in the bathroom, which gave off a very unpleasant smell. We did move rooms, and were offered an upgraded room, but it smelt even worse. Therefore, we opted for a standard room without the smell. 2. There is no free wi-fi, which is to be expected I suppose, however at 22 Euros per day or 88 for the week, I thought it was quite pricey. 3. Due to having cause for complaint we did, in the early stages, have quite a bit of contact with the reception staff. We found them to be unhelpful and really quite rude, however, once we got a manager involved (a female whose name I didn't catch) then the service really improved. She was excellent and did everything to see that we were happy with our rooms. 4. A small point, but there is not one iron and ironing board in the entire hotel. This is due to health and safety reasons!! 5. Food - you have various options, as you can either stick to the main restaurant or one of the three themed restaurants - Madeira , Italian or Japanese. The main restaurant food was okay, nothing special, but I have definitely had worse. The Madeiran restaurant , we found was very good (despite complaints from some customers). We didn't enjoy the Japanese (and we have had it before), it was l a bit tasteless. We never got to the Italian, although we heard it was good. We did have to complain regarding these restaurants as, at first we couldn't get a table at any of them, due to them opening on selected nights only. A complaint soon sorted this out. 6. The beds were the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in as they were rock hard. We did complain and each bed was covered with a topper, which helped a bit.
Now to the positive points and there are several: 1. The setting is excellent with the hotel positioned right on the seafront. 2. The outside pool area is very nice with plenty of beds 3. Everywhere is immaculately clean 4. The inside pool is very my nice and a good size, however all swimmers must wear swimming caps, which they sell for 4 Euros 5. The bar staff are excellent 6. There is a snack bar by the pool, which does pizza, salad, chips etc and is very good 7. The First Choice rep, called Thomas was very good. As stated earlier we did have cause to complain and fully expected to meet some resistance, however, Thomas was very efficient and quickly sorted out each issue. 8. The evening entertainment was okay, but I wouldn't expect too much. The guy playing the sax is great.
To conclude, all in all, the Enotel Lido is a nice hotel, which at home would be a 3/4 star, but it wasn't expensive. If you're booked to go there then make sure you have a sea/pool view and a room that doesn't smell, although they appear to be quite a rarity. It's a nice hotel, but I don't think we would back there.

Room Tip: Pool/sea view room and go straight to the bathroom to check whether or not it has a drainage problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike11186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time during your stay to give us your opinion about our services,so that we could react immediatelly in order to correct matters by improving and therefore pleasing you.
we can assure you that we will nevertheless continue to do our best to provide a quality service to our guests,making the ENOTEL LIDO a great hotel to stay…

Best Regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year. Hotel met all expectations our room was spacious and comfortable with a nice view of the sea and pool. All the staff were most helpful and friendly with a special mention for the Guest Relations team who added the extra value. News Years eve was the highlight of the holiday what a show they put on in Funchal. I would not hesitate to recommend the Enotel Lido their AI package makes life so easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalina Maria S, Gerente geral at Enotel Lido Madeira, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your nice comments and for having enjoyed a “Holiday to Remember” at the ENOTEL LIDO Madeira.

We thank you for sharing your hapiness with us,so that we can only improve to provide our guests more satisfaction and elevate the quality service.

We are pleased for your co-operation and we would like to thank this opportunity to send you our best regards,

Luís Guimarães
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 85 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing