We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Enotel Lido Madeira
Ranked #22 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Booked a week's all-inclusive stay basically because it was a very good deal. Had no high expectations really and was prepared to eat away from the hotel if the food was only average. However , this was not an issue as all meals were of a high standard: the buffets were extensive and had none of that "tired" look that hotel buffets can so often have. Food was fresh, attractively presented and varied. In addition, we dined at the three speciality restaurants (Madeiran, Italian & Japanese) and again found the standard to be good.
Our room, deluxe with a side sea view, was super with one of the biggest beds I've ever slept in! It was well serviced daily with frequent linen changes. The public areas were attractive and spotlessly clean.
Particular mention must go to the staff who, without exception, were friendly, efficient, helpful and professional.
Transport links to town were good - and it's also a pleasant walk!
I have no reservations in recommending this hotel wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest to the sea have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,357
    782
    246
    47
    23
See reviews for
455
1,563
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I remember a few years ago, when the hotel was fairly new and not a place to stay at an average budget. This has changed, and I was happy to see that the hotel now is more "available".

The hotel is obviously a bit worn, but still a nice place to spend your holidays. A pity that they decided to close down the Lido Bath, but the hotel pool does the trick, sort of. Perhaps a bit cool in Feb. but the hotel shape makes a quite nice heat mid-day despite "only" 20 deg.C.

The hotel provides a very good breakfast,and a nice SPA department. The internal bus connection to/from Funchal city center could be better, but the local yellow buses work nicely.

Nice and polite staff, although a bit "cold" environment fro evening entertainment. Could also have been the season, anyway theer's an abundance of good restaurants all over the area and also inside city centre.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool, and also the sunset which worked quite nice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kansas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Friendly and efficient staff, good facilities and food -- coped well (and with good humour ) with vegetarian even on gala dinner. Had all-inclusive option- well worth it for endless supply of food and drink , including lovely sparkling wine and spirits. Will definitely return to island and to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hairyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Having been told for health reasons I couldn't fly long haul we chose this package through holidays booked.com as it was a good deal. When I realised I hadn't received the e tickets just the day before we left I googled them and panicked due to the huge amounts of bad reviews. Thankfully everything went well and I would actually recommend this hotel as it was very good. It is a modern hotel and has all the facilities coupled with a great sea view and friendly helpful staff. The first room we went to (we upgraded to superior) view was not great and I went back and asked if we could move along the building so we could see better. It was my 40th and my hubby's 50th birthdays whilst there. They upgraded us to a suite which was superb. The view was amazing, space jacuzzi bath and brilliant selection of English tv. Sad I know but we wanted to be able to chill out and we like our tv. The only gripe I would have is that because it was quiet (brilliant for us) they fed the all inclusive people in the Italian restaurant every night and really struggled to keep the food hot. We didn't have a hot meal whilst we were there. Soups made every day were excellent and tasty. Desserts are a bit hit and miss but the Japanese place Kai which you need to book for was brilliant and a good experience. But also and the best bit the all inclusive alcohol was all branded names we have at home and sparkling wine very good!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the suite if you don't get an upgrade it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kidfreehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Perfect location of hotel.Lots of restaurants around.You can use different everyday.Comfortable swimming pools outdoor and indoor.Very good facilities.Close to City Center.
Very ,very nice stuff service, specially young lady from entertainment.Very nice reception,waiters,room service.Hotel is very clean.Beautifull double level lobby with garden inside.Recommend to everybody.

Room Tip: You can see sea from each room.Recommend anyhow rooms from floor no 6 and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SCH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We can honestly say that our recent stay at the Enotel Lido was our best ever. The decor, facilities, bars, restaurants and especially the staff were the best we have ever encountered. We thoroughly recommend it and are planning to return next year. This may sound over the top, but it was that good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MichaelG980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

When I heard that the Enotel Group had bought the 5* star Tivoli Hotel in Funchal and were carrying out improvements and were opening it shortly as an All Inclusive hotel , having spent holidays there in previous years I couldn't wait for them to re-open as the Enotel Lido Hotel. I have stayed at 4* Enotel Hotels on A/I in Funchal and have always been delighted. What a change in the food at the Lido! It was awful. There were 3 Chefs standing behind the self service carvery every eveing, all I can say is they must have had extremely sharp knives because we couldn't cut the slices never mind chew it and it came back the next day as mince for bolognese or maybe some kind of casserole, still as tough. There was loads of pasta on display, all dried up, and a lovely salad bowl counter if you didn't want anything to go with the salad. Oh and the plates for the salad bar were nice and hot unlike the hot buffet which had the lovely cold plates! There was just one choice of soup and that was quite nice if you like luke warm soup. There were some lovely looking desserts but when you tasted them they were all the same, just different colours. Anyway, enough about the food! The rooms were lovely with a bath and walk in shower and most had sea views. The facilities were still 5* and the staff were lovely. The entertainment was quite good but not very well supported, the lovely young lady running the entertainment did her very best to keep us happy and it did or maybe it was the alcohol which was plentiful and quite happily provided by the excellent bar staff to us at our table on a "snap of the fingers" by Carolyn's husband Ron, one of the lovely
group of new friends made at the Lido. All in all, we had a great holiday there but I suggest that you don't go there for gourmet dining, oh and by the way ladies, one of the Restaurant Managers looks just like Hugh Grant so forget about the food and enjoy the holiday, we all did.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dot190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Lido Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Lido Madeira

Property: Enotel Lido Madeira
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 29, Funchal, Madeira 9004-576, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#22 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Enotel Lido Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Lido Madeira is a comfortable 5 star hotel located in the main touristic area, situated above the ocean with direct access to the oceanfront promenade and just 5 minutes from the centre of Funchal. There are 270 comfortable rooms available including balcony with a ocean side view, air conditioning, cable TV, hairdryer, mini bar, separate bath and shower, bathrobes, telephone with direct outside line and voicemail facility there are also 47 Suites with a Jacuzzi, coffee and tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Enotel Lido Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Funchal
Tivoli Madeira Hotel Funchal
Enotel Lido Madeira Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing