We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveler rating
407
489
115
26
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
407
489
115
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel small balcony pool area sea view nice bathroom cleaned every day reception staff half board choice of food sea front hill spa madeira taxis jacuzzi seafront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2019 via mobile

Booked a package holiday to this hotel. The reviews were quite good and as there so much to do and see in Madeira we avoided all inclusive. Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to our expectations. We have spent holidays in numerous hotels around the world but the breakfast was one of the worst. Very disappointing as this is a four star hotel but more like a lukewarm 3 star. The poolside food was also quite poor. The hotel is in a good central location with stunning views and the reception staff were most helpful despite a few problems with our room. Overall I would personally choose another hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gordonrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP_FVB, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. ''gordonrankin''

OBRIGADA! That's thank you in Portuguese and we say "obrigada" for taking your time to comment on your recent Holiday at Four Views.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the hotel, the reception service and our wonderful views. We have read your commentary very carefully about our breakfast and generally highly praised by our guests for its quality and wide range of products, we regret to read that it was not your opinion to. We hope that you can change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly at [email] if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our hotel!

With much appreciation,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2019

The views from both the hotel and our room were spectacular. Simply one of the best views in Funchal.

The staff were very welcoming and did everything to help, even getting us to the room before check-in time and accepting our food delivery, so we didn't have to leave the room for it.

We also had a massage and a facial treatment in the SPA and they were both very good. The sauna, jacuzzi and indoor swimming pool were great but the outside swimming pool was extremely cold but i guess that´s normal for February.

The breakfast was good, not amazing, just a normal hotel breakfast but again the view when eating the breakfast was worth it. Just a perfect way to start the day.

The only main downside of the hotel is the noise. We stayed on the 10º floor and still the car noise was very annoying.

Overall a very good choice in Funchal in regards to value for money.

Room tip: Go for a higher floor seaview room, the view is much better
Date of stay: February 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeleNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP_FVB, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2019

Dear Ms. JoeleNicole

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your romantic experience from your recent stay at the Four Views Baia.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our property, which you considered us to have the most spectacular views in Funchal, we can only but agree with you, from our hotel we have a 360º panoramic views to enjoy the city in all directions from your bed. We were very happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room, our swimming pool areas and SPA. Our friendly and welcoming service they are undoubtedly the most awarded points by our guests. It's an honor to know that we met your expectations and you had a good holiday at our hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holliday destination, we are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Four Views Baia Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

Perfectly nice hotel. Only small improvement from my half would be adding lactose-free options in the breakfast buffet.

Pool and rooms are good. The traffic sounds come in a little but looking at Funchal that is expected.

Would visit again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nicoh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP_FVB, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2019

Dear Mr. ‘’Nicoh21’’,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for praising the quality of our hotel on the review you shared following your visit to our Four Views Baia hotel, we are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

At Four Views Hotels we realize that a good breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day, we were naturally sad to read that you missed some lactose-free options in our breakfast, you may have missed our Health Corner. In this part of the buffet you will find lactose-free cheese, lactose-free yoghurt and milk suitable for your lactose-free diet among other products. In our Health Corner you will also be able find other products suitable for other restricted diets.

We are glad to know that you had a good holidays in our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday, we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future when you decide to return to our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,

Lídia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

We stayed in Four Views Baia for two weeks this August, the hotel was good in regards to value for money but it's not really up to the standard of four stars. Worth noting is also that it's up on a steep hill, so not maybe the best option for those who aren't comfortable sweating their asses off daily (or able to do so) or relying on car transportation. If you're willing to sweat, the location was pretty great because you're close enough to both Funchal and the hotel area Lido, which means you have plenty of options in regards to restaurants and other entertainment. The hotel staff was mostly very nice and helpful, even though the cleaning lady tended to barge in unannounced when we were inside the room which was a little awkward.

The views from both the hotel and our room were spectacular. The room, however, was a little dusty and worn out even after daily cleaning services. You also have to pay 5e extra daily if you want to use the room's safe which is a little ridiculous. Beds were comfy and big enough and towels were soft and changed daily. The bathroom was spacious enough and clean.

Breakfast buffet was nice and good quality, although it could use a little more variety. There was plenty of fresh fruit which was a great plus. We also ordered room service once but I wouldn't recommend that, it was terribly overpriced and unfortunately pretty bad quality.

One small thing that irked me and I can't help but mention was that even though I reserved, paid and organized the whole booking, they still put the room, welcoming message and everything else on my boyfriend's name and kept only addressing him whenever they needed to ask something or we needed something, even though he wasn't in any way involved in the booking except for as my company. I don't know if it was an error of some sort, but it's 2019 and I'd like to not just be seen and addressed as a plus one.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ssarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP_FVB, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear Ms. Sarianna A.,

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Four Views Baía, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments about our spectacular views to the city and sea, our breakfast plenty of fresh fruit and our friendly staff, they are some of the the Hotel’s assets which our guests appreciate.

The orography of our island and our location, generally highly praised by our guests, we can not but agree with you that depending on the day or as tired as we can be, walking 5m. it might be a challenge, maybe you did not realize it, but we have a totally free shutlee bus service for our guests, which our guests can use as many times as they wish.

Regarding the safe in the standard rooms it will be apllied a charge of 15€ for 7nights. However the superior rooms are located on the upper floors of the hotel with the best views to the sea and the bay of Funchal, and always include a different service from the standard rooms: special ameneties, bathrobe and slippers in the room, fruit and water on arrival, drinks pack in mini Bar, free safe, newspaper in your language daily, daily access to all our SPA facilities free of charge, for all these detail and access to these facilities this room comes with a small extra cost. We would be happy to assist you in your future reservation so we can help you with all your preferences.

Our commitment to good service is primarily about making our guests feel special at all levels and all times. We are surprised by your statements, as this has to be directly how your booking was sent from your tour operator to us. First your partner's name and then your name, but both are mentioned in your booking, however we would be happy to have changed if you had informed us of your wish.

Thank you for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a near future.

With much appreciation,

Lídia de Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Stayed here with my husband and two children aged 3 and 6 in July .We arrived before check in time due to the early arrival of the flight. However reception staff informed me that they had contacted the cleaners and asked that our room was cleaned as a priority due to having young children. This was greatly appreciated. The room was clean and fresh and had everything we needed. We went half board and the food was great. Different theme every
night. However if you are looking for traditional English dishes in the evening this hotel is not for you. We particularly enjoyed the barbecue night.

Swimming pool was lovely and often very quiet. We also payed to use the indoor pool. This we thought was worth the £10 euros. Children don’t pay.

There is a hill going into central Funchal. Even with the children we managed to walk down and back up on a few occasions as the free shuttle bus did not match our schedule.

We bought snacks, drinks etc from the supermarkets inside the Via shopping
centre (bottom level), 5-10
min walk from hotel. Things like water were a lot
cheaper then shops near the sea front.

We found the staff in the hotel warm
and helpful. There was always a
smile for the children.

Thanks Four Views Baia for a lovely stay

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank reidy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP_FVB, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Dear Family & Mrs ''reidy31'',

Thank you very much for such a positive score of your lovely stay, we were very pleased to know that we met your expectations and you had a good holiday at our hotel.

We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. As you mentioned, even if the normal check in time is at 14:00, but we always try to give the room to our guests as soon as possible, traveling with children it's always a challenge and we can understand it, we very are happy to know that you appreciated the gesture of our colleagues in the check in. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts and dinner specialy our BBQ by the pool, we strive to provide guests with new experiences by introducing local, natural and seasonal products.

Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and for choosing Four Views Baía for your holliday, we look forward to serving you and your family again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews