We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Views Baia
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great week away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel using it for our base. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was expansive.

Good value for money, and the hotel is located very close to the centre, old town and Estrada monumental. There is plenty of car park space and the hotel location is perfect for connecting to major roads.

A few minor downsides:
-Waiting for the lifts, with crazy doors that shut erratically on people.
-Cannot sleep at night with windows open because of barking dogs- this is not a big deal as there is air con, just a shame as the night temperature is pleasant.
-the common areas/bar/lounge are not that appealing as places to hang out.


Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dak0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.

Thank you for the kind words you have used to qualify our rooms the breakfast and the sympathy of our staff.

Regarding the bad details, we are sorry for the disappointment in the elevators, this is a detail we are working on.

Thank you very for spending your holidays in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    296
    78
    22
    7
See reviews for
117
359
21
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

just returned from a weeks stay. room was lovely, views stunning. breakfast was great...more than sufficient for hubbys 3-4 trips to buffet. ate in the hotel on 2 evenings and the food was lovely. the waiting staff are all amazingly polite and happy to chat. people have mentioned the walk into town and to get lift to car park.. however we found if you go out of the main entrance, turn left and cross at the first set of lights you can pretty much avoid the main roads and wander down through the cobbled back streets.
Views from pool and bar are fab and the mountain lit up at night is lovely.

Room Tip: high room with mountain view is cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winelover910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your hollidays in our Hotel.

And that you have shared with the world your experience.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

So four views baia sold me and my boyfriend when booking at Thompson's looked modern, amazing views and great comments so we where very excited to get there. Pre going i had been warned its not really suited for young people as me and my boyfriend are both mid twenties and when booking she said there would be some night life. We wanted to relax also. Arriving at the hotel looks wise amazing! Staff on reception are kind of welcoming.... Not the most helpful! Rooms where great, views where great around the hotel (don't look down) form the balcony as you may see busy roads and some shabby looking houses...... Night time entertainment was boring same songs being sang most nights again me and my boyfriend are young so when eating or being in the hotel in general there was no one younger then us. We got told of our reps about the night life so had ventured out the hotel most night and all i have to say (ghost town) pubs towards the casino where dead no atmosphere at all where was everyone!!!!?. Unless you go into Funchal town centre the bars where busy but again not a lot going on. We also found service slow any where u ordered food so got a little impatient. We had been to Portugal and found the food amazing so thought it would be the same but again i cant say there was one night i enjoyed the food :/ and the food at the hotel well if your all inclusive or half bored good luck! was not good you help your self not a massive cook but I'm sure i could cook better food with more taste.
They do over charge for little extras so bring your own beach towels to but on the sun beds and go to the shops for food and drinks to pop in your own fridge. Overall i would say it was a so so holiday and hotel was
ok...... Great for your walkers but if your not much of one be warned bring some good shoes. There is plenty of busses
though so thats a bonus! I don't think we will be going back for a good couple of years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjhall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

Regarding your stay we regret to read that we did not fulfill your expectations.

Most of our guests enjoys our restaurant and we had great comments regarding our food, we respect your opinion but some words you have used are hard to understand.

Most of the tourist that visit Madeira, come for the safe of it, the beautiful weather all year around, our beautiful gardens and for relaxing, we have never been famous for our night life.

Even so there are a few possibilities like the Casino, Vespas, Jam, Marginal (all night clubs).
Thank you so much for spending your holidays in our Hotel.

We hope we get the chance to see you again.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Being our first visit to Funchal picking where to stay was a challenge but we couldn't have done better. We stayed in a mini apartment with a wonderful view over the fort and mountains. It was extremely comfortable and very quiet. The furniture and facilities were all of a high standard. The only minor negative would be the walk into the city centre, downhill was easy but the walk back was sometimes more challenging especially after a long day, and having to book the free shuttle bus was difficult unless you knew what time you would be returning. Generally the staff were friendly and helpful. As we were self catering we didn't use the restaurant much but we did eat there on the first night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal.
One tip: if you are staying in an apartment, take a small amount of dishwashing liquid and a cloth with you as none is supplied. Other than that the Four Views Baia is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at the back in a self catering room. The view was great with a good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that everything during your stay was good.

It is so nice to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our Rooms and that you have enjoyed your holidays.

Regarding the walk to the center of Funchal, the hotel provides a courtesy bus to the center and back.

Thank you so much for your commentary.

We hope we can get the chance to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel very well situated, very rich breakfast (full English, continental, fruit and selection of drinks, even sparkling wine). Nice staff and new furniture, very clean. We choose a mini apartment with mountain view so we could self cater our dinner. The price was reasonable (I would almost say a bargain) and the view was nice. From the hall there is a fantastic sea view that can be enjoyed during breakfast. Bed was comfortably huge!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karmanomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very for having the time to write about our hotel

We feel happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us, and that you have loved our restaurant experience. Thank you for the kind words about our food and about our Rooms.

Looking forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, excellent food in amounts making it really impossible to try everything. As it is only 5 minutes on foot away from the city centre - it makes the hotel a perfect location to explore Madeira'c capital as well as a great point to start all possible journeys around the island - there are connections everywhere. Plenty of places to shop around as well as great number of tourist offices ready to help you organize any trip / levada walk you might be interested in. If you've head enough of visiting you might simply stay in the hotel and enjoy a swim in the pool or join any evening entertainment event. Just great. You can not get bored when choosing this location :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magda142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely commentary regarding our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are so honored to read such a lovely commentary, it is simple words like the on you wrote that makes us believe that our daily effort to please our Guests are well worth it.

Thank you for choosing Madeira Island and Four Views for your holidays.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant weeks break over Easter. Reception were very helpful and always had a pleasant smile on their faces. Hotel Courtesy bus was a good idea. Stayed B&B, breakfast v.good, some decaying properties around hotel which is why we didn't score excellent. A lot of renovation/improvement work being carried out on Funchal's sea front, should be much better when completed. Having new born chicks in hotel foyer was good idea, enjoyed watching them grow during our week there. Would certainly go back to hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisljwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your commentary regarding our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel.

The words you have used to describe the reception sympathy are lovely and we will share them with our colleagues.

It is also important that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our restaurant.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We look forward to meet you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
4.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 14 in Canico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.9 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#34 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#23 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Property: Four Views Baia
Address: Rua Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing