We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”
Review of Four Views Baia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Views Baia
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great holiday”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed on FourViews Baia with my grandma for one week in febuary.
We had a wonderfull week and really enjoyed the hotel. Fast check-in, beautiful and clean rooms and a nice view over the mountains. We also really enjoyed the breakfast! The omelets were amazing and you get to chose which indgrediens you want them with.
The only negative thing i has to say about the hotel, is that it is difficult to find the way out. You need to take the elevator down to the last floor and walk out in the basement and down to the road. If you use the regular exit situated near the receptions, you end on a kind of highway road, which i will not recommend, because it is a detour to the town.
But all in all the vacation was amazing, we lovede the hotel and it fully lives up to the four stars.
Would recommend.

Room Tip: The higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liv J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for the time you took writing a review in a tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us,

The detail about the omelette is a must, we have thought it very carefully and decided that the possibility for the guests to choose the ingredients would be a good addiction to our service, we are delighted that you have appreciate it.

The main entrance in our hotel is a bit busy due to the fact that the highway is very close by. Because of this matter we provide free shuttle bus service to Funchal center and from the center.

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    347
    88
    22
    7
See reviews for
136
422
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We thought the hotel was excellent in all respects. There was a slight mix up with the studio room (which has cooking facilities) we had booked but the hotel immediately (and without us having made any fuss) offered to compensate us for the error by giving us free evening meals for 3 days until our studio room was available and free access to the spa for our whole holiday. The food at both breakfast and in the evening was buffet style but of a very high quality with a huge choice. The reception staff were invariably helpful and friendly and happy to book all tours etc for us and make helpful suggestions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We came ready to use a cable for the internet in our room but Wifi has recently been provided throughout the hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações públicas at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you very much for having the time to write about our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read such an entuasiastic review. It is words like the ones you have used that makes us believe that our daily effort is very important and well recognized by our Guests.

We will share your kind words with our staff, so they can also feel appreciated.

Thank you very much for your time, for your kind words and for sharing your thoughts with the world.

We look forward to meet you again in our Hotel.

Until then I'll leave you with my best regards,

Thank you.

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is modern, clean and well run. It has great views in several directions and is located high above the city. Breakfast is great and the restaurant serves good food at descent prices. The rooms are nice even though balconies are on the small side.

It is a steep 10-minute walk to central Funchal and the fact that it is a 11-storey, 100 room hotel make it a litte short on charm and genuine feelings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. it is very important for us that you have also enjoyed out breakfast, the restaurant area is one of the areas that we always working on in order to improve our service.

Thank you for your nice words.

Looking forward to meet you again in ou Hotel.

Best Regards,

Duarte Ferreira
Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a week in January, and at first sight the hotel is a dream. We had a lovely room (723) with views over the city, and partially the sea. The breakfast buffet is absolutely delicious. But there were little things that annoyed me through our visit. For once, there are only three elevators which in unfortunate hours ment waiting almost ten minutes to get down to the lobby. One time the cleaning lady forgot her dusting cloth ON my newly bought items, another time she left the balcony door wide open. Little things like that doesn't give it a five. Also, it is a bit dreadfull to get to the hotel from the town. There are three different paths, only one I would recommend at night and only because you have to get home somehow. However, the hotel seems aware of that and offers free bus rides to and fro the city at certain hours. TIP: If you do stay here, the fastest and safest way to walk down to the city is by taking the elevator to the parking lot (floor 0) and way through it and follow the busy road outside. It is a fairly short walk down to the city.

Room Tip: 723 has partial sea view but you don't have to pay the extra 20 Euro a night to get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duarte F, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review about our Hotel in Trip advisor.

We are sorry to read that the hotel did not match your total expectations

It is pleasant to read that you have enjoyed your room, the lovely Funchal views and breakfast.

Regarding the elevators they are a difficult issue to solve. The problem consist in the main structure that the elevator is build on, it is something that we want to improve.

Our truly apologies for the little issues caused by my college that clean the room. We have your words in consideration and we will make sure that the same situation will never happen again.

The road to the hotel is not so easy due to the geography of Madeira itself, anywhere you might go around the island you will find the same problem, in order to help the Guests our bus service is free of charge and we can take our Guests to the main centre and back.

Thank you very much for your time and for choosing our hotel for your holidays destination.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I visit the hotel with my wife to have a Spa massage and use the facilities. Before going to the Spa we visited the hotel and it is an absolute hotel,with amazing views and quality. Lovely areas,staff very generous and kind. At the Spa, we were treated as kings by Carina and Deci. A experience to repeat in a loveley hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a modern hotel with minimal look and decoration where one can spend a few days sleeping well, without paying too much money.
Rooms are adequate but very comfortable and the toilet has the essentials without much fuss.
There is a good outdoor swimming pool and a Spa which I haven´t tried yet.
Has far as breakfast is concerned there is a good choice of food but some products are of average quality, like hams and cheeses. The same can be said about fruit juices which are too industrial. For this price it seems perfectly normal.
Unless you buy it in a package avoid the dinner buffet. It costs 22,5€ without drinks and the food is only passable. better go out and have a proper dinner in a good restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with a view towards the mountains because they're a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Madeira is currently not tourist season, but the hotel was full. The average age for hotel guests is 60 years.
The staff had a very busy, but always nice and helpful.
We were room 812 on the eighth floor with a view of the mountains. The room was lovely decorated, bright with large windows and a balcony. The design was cheap, but very tasteful.
We were very surprised that even our toilets had a panoramic window of the mountains. (A very interesting experience :))
Breakfast was very good and hearty, and they were served sparkling wine.

Overall, this is a very good four star hotel.

Room Tip: 812 room had a wonderful view of the mountains and the city. Even the toilet had a mountains view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gunta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.0 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
5.5 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Baia

Property: Four Views Baia
Address: Rua Maravilhas 74, Funchal, Madeira 9000-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Funchal
#24 Family Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Baia 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Views Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Baia
Four Views Baia Hotel Funchal
Sao Joao Hotel
Four Views Baia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing