We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First visit to Madeira”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was our first visit to Madeira. We stayed at the Raga for seven days, we had a lovely room with two balconies a sea view and the hills to the rear, not too happy with the bed the mattress was very hard, the room was very clean and was cleaned every day. We did not use the pool but it always clean. We were booked in for bed and breakfast only, which was buffet style and there was a choice of fruit,meats etc and cooked breakfast, you have to careful of the pigeons if you eat out on the balcony they were rather partial to your food on the plates,not very hygienic.
cannot comment on the evening meal we ate out but it did seem expensive. There were lots of local restaurants to eat at night at reasonable prices. The hotel was about 30 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal but remember the hill you walk down has been climbed coming back, however there Is a very good bus service if you don't want to walk. Funchal also has some nice cafe's for lunch, coffee and people watching all in all we would go again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    316
    190
    63
    15
See reviews for
102
407
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
menorca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I worked in this hotel as a rep in 1980 and wished to revisit as I had such good memories of my time working with the staff of the Rage. Imagine my surprise to see the same staff on Reception and in the bar. It was great. The hotel has had some renovation work and we had a lovely sea view room. One thing I hadn't remember was how hilly the área is - I had a car in 1980 and this time we were walking everywhere.
As we were only on BB I can't comment about anything except breakfast which was sufficient.
Perhaps during the hot weather the air cond. should be left on during the night.
Otherwise a good hotel and well situated.

Room Tip: Must ask for sea view and be well able to walk up to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithMenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

On arrival met by friendly staff and within a minute were checked in and on our way to our room on the sixth floor with a panoramic view of the ocean and Lido area. Room had basic amenities but we brought a travel kettle with and our favourite brews. The breakfasts were standard fare and palatable, the evening meals were not always appetising and quite repetitive and limited .The location of the hotel is ideal with all the local amenities and a 20 minute walk to the town . Madeira a truly wonderful relaxing place went on a several trips including to Porto Santo on the ferry which we highly recommend. Funchal a lovely city to wander and chill in the many pavement bars and cafes.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full view of the ocean preferably from the fifth floor upward main road which runs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel very good, staff very helpful room cleaned everyday and the view from the 7th floor balcony took our breath away. Stay B and B which was fine breakfast could be a little busy but I always had a choice of what to have each morning. Plenty of places to eat lunch or dinner within walking distance. A bit of a long walk to the old town but very good transport with bus or taxi for a few euros. The pool not too busy, a wee bit small but it was kept very clean and tidy.
All in all a nice place to stay, and a good base to explore from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TGGaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were told that our room wasn't ready for us, but having looked at the booking the availability of the room was from 2 p.m., we arrived at 1:45. When I asked what time the room would be ready I was told they couldn't say. Our cases were given a sticker with our room number on and we were asked for our passports and told to place the cases by reception. I asked at reception at 2:30 and was told that the room was now ready for us. I asked where our cases were and was told that they had been taken to the room. We went to the room and the cases were there outside the room. After a disappointing start the room for three adults was small but clean. We were a bit wary after reading reviews of the menu in the dining room but were pleasantly surprised with the buffet breakfast and evening meal, certainly a good choice of salads, and hot meals. Barbeque on Tuesday nights was great around the pool. We would definitely come back to the Raga again but they could do with having at least a kettle in the rooms as apart from the fridge there were no other basic facilities warranted for a four star hotel

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

One of the smaller hotels, but has some of the greater views, for you girls, manager looks like tom cruise's elder brother! IThink I have stayed here some 8 times also entertained here at the hotel restaurant, and pool bar, if you are cortious to them you will join a family, staff spot on, (even with my cheek!). You will see over the roof tops of other hotels, land rooms haven't good views, for a few dollars more have a side (good) or front view, very well maid serviced, and honest, food good, And the bar staff will always chat to you,all at a reasonable rate, best book hotel then flight.

Room Tip: The higher you go the quieter it is, side/front or front the best veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank loser r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#41 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#55 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel

Property: Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing