We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, good value, it was ok.”
Review of Raga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raga Hotel
Ranked #52 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my 12 year old. The positives were; very very clean, nice view from room, near shops and restaurants, free parking, nice pool, breakfast ok and very friendly bar man at the pool. Negatives; reception staff not friendly, the "gym" was just a dodgy weights machine, a yoga ball and a rickety exercise bike, noisy rd next to pool area and bed uncomfortable. It was good value for money but I wouldnt go back.  Too many other hotels to try!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJPerrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 820 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

After changing hotels we stayed at the raga for the last four days of our holiday, we were greeted by friendly staff, the room was clean and the decor was great, the hotel was in the lido area , there was shops and resturants, there was two open top buses you could go on , there are buses that take you in to the town .breakfast was buffet style you just helped your self.the swimming pool was clean and there was a bar at the pool.

Room Tip: Would say this hotel is worth staying at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penguinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a relatively new hotel, why the architect couldn't design it so all rooms had at least a decent outlook defeats me. I had a room, level 4 at the back with a view of the road. To the south is the sea and the north the mountains, would have been nice to be able to at least one of them. The room was a fair size, clean and maintained so daily by the staff. I breakfasted in the hotel, so, unless you are chasing out for the day it is best to wait until the rush has died down because the canteen style layout can be hectic. I dined out in the evenings and can't comment on the dinner menu and service. There is a nice well maintained clean pool and the staff at the pool bar were pleasant and provided reasonably priced snacks. Being sited on the main road the bus service to Funchal Centre is reliable and regular.
Would I stay at this hotel again? No. Would I revisit Madeira? Certainly, it is a beautiful Island.

Room Tip: Specify a room with a southerly view and as high as you can get, there are too many rooms to the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We asked for a room high up with a sea view, got the top floor but a room at the rear. This we didnt mind as we looked over hills and local houses untill all the local dogs started barking. Rehearsals started about 8pm with the main event going on untill midnight with one old culprit managing to continue to 2am. We saw our tour rep the next morning but met with the standard hard done by look and response of the hotel is full so you cannot move rooms. Went to reception and again was told hotel was full which seemed true as there was alot of people around. However they did say that we could move on Monday as it was a change over day. Next two nights were slightly better with concert finishing slightly earlier with the old culprit managing to last to 1am, but on Monday after a shall we say a heated discussion were given a room at front of Hotel which was fine. Hotel is very clean and rooms are of a good size although hot water can be somewhat erratic well situated for buses restraurants and around 30 min walk to Funchal. We had half board which was a mistake as hotel dinning room is more like a noisy factory canteen than a 4 star hotel, with a buffet which was very limited in choice but food quality overall was good, breakfasts are fine. Didnt use pool but it looked nice and clean as did the area surrounding it. In my opinion The Raga is more like a 3 star hotel rather than a 4 star but in its defence it is nice and clean and rooms are fine and if you intend to stay there make sure you have a front sea view room (unless you like dogs barking) and just have bed and breakfast unless you do not mind canteen dining.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Newinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Considering this hotel is situated in the heart of the hotel district, close to a busy road, there is very little traffic or music noise at night - but I suspect this is because Funchal is thankfully NOT like Torremolinos! The hotel is only 7 years old and is furnished in Euro-modern style. The rooms are large, air conditioned, quiet, very clean and comfortable, with hairdryers, a washing line, swimming pool towels and a fridge provided. Staff are discreet, friendly, efficient and multi-lingual. The breakfast buffet provides everything that Europeans like to eat included full English if you want it. The coffee is excellent. Try and eat either earlier or later to avoid the groups of tourists getting ready for island tours. The heated pool is large and clean - and you can get a generous tuna baguette and a beer for lunch at the pool bar for less than 5 Euros. Very handy for buses and taxis into town. It's a 10 minute walk to the seafront. There is also free Wi-fi for those with I-pads.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea - the best views are from the 5th floor upwards. If you don't lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YeovilSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hi stayed here from 25th March to 1st April exceptionally clean and very modern rooms, with great sea views from the front rooms, pool bar has a good variety of snacks at reasonable prices, very clean pool area with an attendant removing every leaf as it fell into the pool!
breakfast standard and plentiful, did not dine otherwise so can't comment on evening meals.
Bar area small inside but with a lovely terrace area overlooking the sea.
Reception staff helpful and position ok for buses into Funchal, would not walk as the rep said 20mins more like 40mins! would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gillnewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A clean well run and friendly hotel which was perfect for our stay. No barking dogs and the road noise is minimal it certainly did not disturb us. The hotel is modern and clean and the kitchenette in the room was a real bonus. It's location is perfect And there Are plenty of cheap taxis to take you into town. The food was limited but good and there are a number of good restaurants in walking distance. Book direct with the hotel for the best deal. The staff here are all fantastic. Good pool with bar too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#46 of 88 in Funchal
363 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
408 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 88 in Funchal
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $53 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing