We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely staying in Funchal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raga Hotel
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Ardennen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely staying in Funchal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Enjoy the stay at Hotel Raga, nice rooms, friendly staff, helpfull, was situated in calm area, with a nice view especially the rooms on the corner, view on the sea and also on the mountains, , near the busses and even could walk to the center of Funchal.
A lot to walk around for people who like walking, went in november and the weather was so good, still flowers every where. The restaurant, with terace, and buffet, with a lot of fish.

Room Tip: rooms on the corners half way of the building, very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bihiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    290
    176
    57
    14
See reviews for
93
372
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel, the rooms are very nice and modern with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Although on a hill if you go out at the bottom gate by the pool you are on the main road with all the shops,restaurants and bus stops.its about 30 min walk to the left into Funchal but well worth it. Walk about 30min to your right to the forum with a food court and lots of shops. The staff are very friendly, especially at the pool bar. We toured a lot of the island, via car and coach, it's beautiful. We would definitely go back to see things we missed and would be happy to stay at the Raga.

Room Tip: Looking out to sea, right Corner sea view gets the sun nearly all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 632Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a Business trip.
The reception staff are very friendly and obliging. A late check out was given without hassle and no extra charge.
The room was an average size with an average bathroom. Not 4 star standard.
The room has an empty fridge and the room safe costs 1.50 euro per day.
The room only had 1 plug socket to use, hidden behind a chair.
The beds are very hard. The room service has very limited times 7pm - 9.30pm. The room service menu is limited. Breakfast also has a very limited choice buffet.
The TV has 2 English channels Sky News and CNN!
The Balcony is a good size with table and 2 chairs. My room also had a sea view, although the hotel is not located on the sea front.
The swimming pool and pool area was clean with sun beds, but not in use due to over cast weather.
It is a good 25 minute walk into Funchal centre at a good pace, the steep hill you walk down goes up on the way back!!
There is a good shopping centre if you turn right out of the hotel about a 10 minute walk called "Forum". For cat lovers there is a shop in this centre called Gatto and sells everything with cats on!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotell was nice and clean, the swimmping pool area was also nice with sunbeds and a nice staff. The rooms was big with 2 balcony`s. and a very nice wiew.
Breakfast was also very good, the last day we ate there the manager came to us and asked us if we stayed there? He have seen us all week, so we had to show him our room key??
The service was good, but quite a strange location to have a hotell. in the middle of a very, and I mean very steap hill... Everything was good exept the location, it was a 25 min. walk to the city centre..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jericho J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days in a room with a view to the sea . The rooms are good with a good area with fridge, and sink to wash the dishes. They have a pool with sun beds. It takes you about 10 min of walk to the center of Funchal. Close by there is a supermarket , (Pindo Doce) where you can buy everything...wine, good chease, etc.

Room Tip: With a View to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armind0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a holiday in Madeira where we stayed at the Raga Hotel. From the moment we walked into the hotel the staff were welcoming. When we entered our room it was excellent, nothing spectacular but clean and tidy, but we didn't go on holiday to spend all day and night in our room! We were perhaps fortunate to have a room with 2 balconies with great views over the coastline and hillsides behind the hotel. The restuarant was very good with staff eager to assist. The food, although on occasion not to my taste (but that was my taste) was good. The pool bar, which we used regularly and became quite well known to the staff (Helena and Rafael we'll miss you), where you could have a quick snack by the pool was great. The pool was cleaned every morning and the pool attendant and bar staff only to willing to help guests with new pool towels on request or an umbrella to shelter under when the sun became too hot.
The hotel was well positioned only a quick bus ride from the Centre of Funchal with a regular bus service running past the hotel.
Would have no qualms about going back there whenever we return to this beautiful island of Madeira. Well done Raga Hotel and all staff and thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Depends what you want - there are rooms which may not offer a great view of the sea but all had balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madeirafirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for one week in July and have nothing to complain about. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. Air con does it's job and there is a fridge in the room to keep your drinks and food cold. Staff was very friendly and helpful and there was always sun beds available by the pool.
The best thing was having breakfast on the teracce with stunning sea views!

There is a supermarket (Pingo Doce) nearby and a big shopping mall (Forum Madeira) within walking distance. If you dont fancy walking its easy to catch a local bus. The city centre is only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: If your room is on the hill side of the hotel i recommend ear plugs as there is a residential area j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#39 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#40 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#38 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
0.3 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Hotel

Property: Raga Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Raga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing