We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Ranked #44 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting Madeira for the last 15 years. The Hotel Raga suits us because it is situated slightly out of town, in a developed area which caters for the needs of tourists. It is convenient to go into town, or to the Adjuda area, where there are shops and a cinema in a mall. We prefer bed and breakfast. There are 2 supermarkets near the Raga, one of which provides hot meals at reduced cost in the later part of the evening. It is possible to have full or half board at the Raga at reasonable cost. The breakfast can be a bit "samey" as it focuses on Continental or English variations. Staff members have stayed there for many years. It's family-run. It is clean. There is a swimming pool which is spotless and popular with families. Reception is bright. Rooms are spacious and tasteful. They give fruit and wine to previous clients. Towelling robes and slippers are provided free for your stay but can also be bought.

Room Tip: Higher floors give spectacular views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    316
    190
    63
    15
See reviews for
102
407
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Hotel in madeira was excellent I stayed their prior to it being modernised it was good then but now they have excelled, the staff cant do enough for you the food is perfect espeacially the breakfast you can eat all you want the bus service into funchal right outside the door the views are great over looking the sea and the people of madiera are so warm and friendly despite the recession the bars off the the main routes are cheap and friendly i could name some in all i was so impressed i went back three more times this year a great place and great people

Room Tip: always ask when booking for sea view any level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marvin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayd at this hotel for 2 weeks which was too long for such type of hotel. But everything was ok, nice rooms with seaview, food ok but everyday very similar dishes. Bus station 1 minute walking, into downtown 10 minutes by bus.
Good but nothing special, sometimes noise from the restaurant with live music that is just on the other side of street until late night.

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kanawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We are just back from a week at the Raga Hotel. Large room 2 balconies very clean. Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble from more coat hangers and asking to borrow a corkscrew. Breakfasts were fine plenty of choice. Pool area nice and clean. Not many people staying there but that was a bonus for us. In a good location within walking distance of Funchal or there is a good bus service. Plenty of places to eat round about as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dial1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at the Porto Mare complex - the second time at the Eden Mare. We had a junior suite - the rooms have been revamped . Perfect for a relaxing break as there are restaurants etc in the complex and the gardens, pool areas are constantly looked after. All the staff are very helpful from reception, bars , restaurants and cleaning staff. All the restaurants in the hotel are good but the Med is really worth a visit - There is also a supermarket below the eden mare and if you want a walk - . Try the Solar da Ajuda which is across the roundabout at the top of the road and then about 300m on the left - their speciality is the steak on the stone. We booked this last minute and it was a really great break. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors, sea facing are good for afternoon sunl
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladytraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Have been to the Raga for the last 7 years and find it very welcoming. Nice to see the same staff giving excellent friendly service. The hotel is spotless, has been completely refurbished and offers very good accomodation. I go in early December and Madeira is at its best with the bonus of the resort being bathed in christmas decorations and the street blazing with lights. Lovely quiet and civilised.

Room Tip: Front is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Returned from this hotel 14th November 2011.Stayed on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Very clean and excellently maintained. We upgraded to a Sea view room which made the holiday. Good choice at breakfast. All public areas kept spotless. A credit to the staff.

Hazel
Cheshire

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at front have excellent views and sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#43 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Views Monumental Lido
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel

Property: Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 302, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raga Aparthotel Funchal
Raga Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing